Retired Daniel Merrett (2002-2016)

Not at all convinced that this is a good idea. In a game where our backline is under more consistent pressure, Merrett's presence down there is surely worth at least three goals at the other end.

Plenty of Merrett on show
Steve Zemek
11th March 2012

CARLTON was left seeing red after losing to the Brisbane Lions at Maroochydore yesterday - not because of some perceived infraction, but because of the constant sight of Daniel Merrett's ginger head popping up in front of goal.

Merrett's previous game in the forward line, in the Lions' round-seven loss to the Gold Coast Suns last season, was a minor disaster.
He looked strong yesterday, however, kicking three goals in front of 5147 fans at Fishermans Road Oval.

"It's definitely an option for us and we're looking at a few options at the moment," Voss said about the possibility of moving Merrett forward on a permanent basis.

"That's the good thing about the pre-season - you get to try people in different spots, try different things about your game plan and see what works, see whether guys can step up."

6824761790_a36f51162c.jpg

Vossy would have been aware of all the bad press he copped last time, so it was a gutsy move considering the pressure he is under.

Daniel Merrett

For a bloke who doesn't fancy himself as a forward, Daniel Merrett sure looked like one during the Brisbane Lions' 64-point thrashing of Carlton in their AFL pre-season clash on Queensland's Sunshine Coast. So convincing was regular fullback Merrett in his three-goal display that Lions coach Michael Voss reckoned he had found the man to fill the shoes of his greatest forward.
Asked if he fancied himself as a forward, Merrett said: "Not really. I am just filling in the gaps before the big fella is back.
"Being my first game back I could ease myself in, run around and do as I please - it was good fun (against Carlton)."
But he added: "I love playing in the backline and the blokes down there.
"I think in a couple of weeks I should be back there."

6688999733_1f6e06d9ff.jpg

It wouldn't be the first backman that we have pushed forward. I'm thinking about Mr Lynch. I don't think this is the case here, though. He is too valuable to our backline. I wonder if he will be back at FB for Rd 1, though?

Gee,I hope so...not a fan of robbing Peter to pay Paul...the wisdom of ages says it's not worth the candle.

Representative Football

Queenslander Daniel Merrett was at that stage a relative newcomer to the seniors but he could feel the buzz at Lions training when Brown, Power, Charman and Daniel Bradshaw were picked for their respective teams. He has watched with interest as the NRL's showpieces - State of Origin and the Indigenous All Stars match - continue to grow in appeal.
"I'd have to get picked first. But I'd be happy enough just watching it," Merrett said when asked if he would be keen to play representative footy.
"It's all about when to fit it in and what the mindset of the players would be. I'd hate to see it played half-hearted, with no one worried about defence.
"The (NRL All Stars) put on a show and you could see they were serious.
"But I'd be happy to be involved"

6971982509_8cc40166a4.jpg

If Merrett played up forward could he be second ruck? Rucked well against Port at AAMI in a match about 5 years ago.

Gee,I hope so...not a fan of robbing Peter to pay Paul...the wisdom of ages says it's not worth the candle.

This sums up my thinking. Particularly against the Demons, who are a bit of a confidence side, if we can control the air down back it'll make life tougher for the Melbourne midfielders.

I must admit though, I can see the appeal. From what I've seen, it just doesn't look like anyone else is capable of consistently making a contest up forward.

But then, at some point we have to put some faith in the young forwards coming through.

This sums up my thinking. Particularly against the Demons, who are a bit of a confidence side, if we can control the air down back it'll make life tougher for the Melbourne midfielders.

I must admit though, I can see the appeal. From what I've seen, it just doesn't look like anyone else is capable of consistently making a contest up forward.

But then, at some point we have to put some faith in the young forwards coming through.

Totally agree with this. Not to mention our hugely improved forward entries would have made any of our young forwards look a lot better. My memory isn't great, but I don't think Merrett's goals came from excellent forward awareness, he was just the last cog in a chain on a few forward forays.

I reckon when he works up forward people will say Voss is a genius and when it doesn’t work they will say Voss is an idiot.

Often it will be the same people saying both.

Thats highly probable:)

Video: Daniel Merrett

"Moving to the forward line on the weekend... turning back the time a little bit. I was drafted as a forward. I really enjoyed my time down there and had a bit of fun. It's almost a little freshen up before the season starts. It's a long year and playing in the backline you're constantly under pressure, it's nice to go forward, release the shackles a little bit, and try to kick a few snags.

The body pulled up really well. I was cramping a little bit, being my first game back and I think that was just from the excessive heat that was there on the day. I wasn't the only one cramping. But I pulled up really well and had a couple of really strong sessions on the park this week, and I'm looking forward to the weekend against Essendon."

6835575646_1ab2c3e314.jpg

NAB Cup week 4 vs Essendon

Vice-captain Daniel Merrett is set to continue his makeshift role as a key forward alongside Matthew Leuenberger or rookie ruckman Billy Longer.

6693862893_2127d1c0b1.jpg

Link

Will the Daniel Merrett experiment continue? Michael Voss swung his regular full-back into attack with pleasing results against Carlton last week. Merrett booted three goals in the big win over the Blues and with skipper Jonathan Brown absent from the Lions' forward 50 until at least round three, he might be given the chance to audition for the role one more time.

Daniel Merrett

"It definitely can help (coming from defence)" the 27-year-old said."As you get older and more experienced, you play from the front and anticipate where the ball's going.
"You're reading the cues of the kickers upfield, the same as a forward."
Even the smallest details, such as knowing whether the ball carrier is a left or right-footer, is equally applicable to forwards and defenders.
"You can react to that," Merrett said. "It helps being able to read those cues.
"That's helped me maybe get a jump on my defender."
Then there are the dark arts that he understands from a defender's perspective.
Body positioning and gamesmanship can provide an edge, so all the tactics that annoy him as a stopper will be assist him as a scorer.
"There's a lot of little tricks that you hate being used on you," he said.
"I hate when my forward keeps moving and doesn't let me get settled."

6984729565_b939d483b0.jpg

Michael Voss

"It (Merrett as a forward) is temporary at the moment. We will see how the big fella (Brown) is going when he comes back and look at the balance of the side," Voss said. "But it (Merrett) is a genuine option.
"For most of the pre-season we have been throwing players in different positions because during the season we are going to need them to do it during games - we need that flexibility."

6693873175_d985de689c.jpg

If Rog can be 80 - 90% of JB, I'll be very happy.

If he gets just 1 goal a game but his goal assists are up there I'll be just as happy.

AFL great Jason Dunstall believes moving Daniel Merrett forward is not a good move by the Brisbane Lions
  • Greg Davis
  • March 28, 2012 12:00AM
"They've certainly given Merrett plenty of time up in the forward line during the practice games so you would have to think they weren't doing that for fun," he said.
"Merrett is an excellent player, a tremendous defender. But you are robbing Peter to pay Paul by switching him from defence to the forward line.
"I would have thought with three ruckman in Matthew Leuenberger, Ben Hudson and Billy Longer, who looks to be pretty impressive, that you would have played one of them as your deep forward."

7021440461_90980c06e2.jpg

Michael Voss on 4BC

Are you looking at playing Daniel Merrett forward this weekend to accommodate the loss of Browny?

Most likely. We've been playing him there as a temporary solution. No doubt our structure looks better with him back, but it happens to be of our areas... we've got some younger players, and having some leadership capability down there is going to help us.

7025129653_fa6ea7a70e.jpg

Merrett's forward planning
By Michael Whiting
4:24 PM Thu 29 Mar, 2012

Merrett said there was no way he would be trying to play like Brown.

"I definitely couldn't do what Browny does, so I'll just try to stick to what I'm good at and play my game," he said.

"I still feel like I'm just doing a role for the team so I don't see it as a long-term thing, but you never know. Fraser Gehrig went forward and kicked 100.

"But I'm just doing my role for the team, and where they need me most is up forward so I'll try my hardest to play that position and wait for the skipper to come back."

6881280876_0bc0aeb572.jpg

Round 1 team

Code:
B:      McKeever (40)       [U]Merrett[/U] (21)       McGrath (9) 
HB:     Golby (41)          Maguire (36)       Rich (10) 
C:      Rockliff (38)       Adcock (7)         Hanley (11) 
HF:     Polec (4)           Patfull (24)       Banfield (18) 
F:      Polkinghorne (31)   Leuenberger (23)   Lester (35) 
Foll:   Hudson (22)         Black (20)         Redden (30) 
Int:    Beams (17)          Bewick (43)   
        Stiller (32)        Sheldon (3)

Emer:   Harwood (2)         Longer (5)         O’Brien (34)

Loved Merrett's work on the forward line against Melbourne. Lead up hard at the ball carrier and worked exceptional hard after the contest to keep the ball in the forward area. His mobility and strenght as a key position player could add an extra dimension to our forward structure.

I found myself wondering if he and Brown could work together in the same forward line.

Loved Merrett's work on the forward line against Melbourne. Lead up hard at the ball carrier and worked exceptional hard after the contest to keep the ball in the forward area. His mobility and strenght as a key position player could add an extra dimension to our forward structure.

I found myself wondering if he and Brown could work together in the same forward line.
I have to disagree - he looked all at sea and did NOT lead up in the first half. The amount of ball raining down gave him opportunties after half time and he was able to create contests. He must return to the backline. I would prefer to see Longer up forward as he is a better kick ( saw him v Bombers and he knocked off Fletcher for a quarter ) and run with JB so he won't get the best backman. Hudson was a revelation at clearances and allows Luey to also go forward .. where he will cause match up issues. Now for s few small forwards - if only Banfield could keep his feet ( or we draft a Rioli ).