Danny Stanley

ralu

Mar 7, 2007
melbourne
Everyone seems to hate this bloke but i reckon we should hang on to him for a couple more seasons. I don't think he play any games this year but in the next couple he could be handy. He is a big and strong(came 3rd in club bench press behind bucks and clement) and is perfect for a tough midfeilder when bucks, burns and licca move on. What are your thoughts!

totally agree if we pick him at 21 then delist him after 2 seasons like heaps of people are calling for then i will give up , because we will be on the road to nowwhere. some blokes need more time, and he needs to be given every chance in my book because of the above said comments

you don't hang on to a bloke because he was an early pick. When judging if a player should get delisted the pick you used should never come into it otherwise you will be letting the wrong things influence list management. Each player needs to be judged on merit not in which order they were recruited. If after this year the club does not think he is good enough to make it then he has to go. Its far better for the long term of the club to do this than to hang onto a bloke like they did with walker. The worse possible scenario for a recruited is to have a guy on the list for 4 or 5 year and then get axed without have any impact at all. Its a waste of list space and a massive waste of club resources.

I am not saying he won't make it because I am by no means an expert but from what I have seen he has a long long way to go. He struggles to win the footy and when he does he looks lost.

you don't hang on to a bloke because he was an early pick. When judging if a player should get delisted the pick you used should never come into it otherwise you will be letting the wrong things influence list management. Each player needs to be judged on merit not in which order they were recruited. If after this year the club does not think he is good enough to make it then he has to go. Its far better for the long term of the club to do this than to hang onto a bloke like they did with walker. The worse possible scenario for a recruited is to have a guy on the list for 4 or 5 year and then get axed without have any impact at all. Its a waste of list space and a massive waste of club resources.

I am not saying he won't make it because I am by no means an expert but from what I have seen he has a long long way to go. He struggles to win the footy and when he does he looks lost.
so you are willing to delist a top 5 draft pick after 2 seasons if he doesn't have an impact

Personally, I would love to see both him and John Anthony get a game this year!

Considering they were both picks 21 and 23, we have to give them a go!!

Yeah, Cooky went higher than Jack

Stanley just hasn't done enough to make me think he can cut it at AFL level yet...yeah, he is a kid, but, if we had to get rid of some people, he would be one of the first to go, in all seriousness. There is no real demand.

I think its way too early to be making this kind of call. The season hasn't started and there is a lot to take place before you look at list changes. The guy needs to show signs he can make the jump to AFL level this year, there is no question about that. I'd say that this year at the very least he'll need to stand up and be a major player for Willy this year. But I'm not gunna hold the axe over him yet, theres still 22 rounds to go for 2007.

Obviously there is that, but we all now that in 22 rounds time these opinions might change. The fact is, we are currently pre-season, and giving our thoughts. There is nothing more to say but that.

thats why i cannot understand people, before the season has started are talking about players that are to be axed at the end of the year. i can understand the talk about richards , lockyer or licca producing the same seasons as the last ,that they are in trouble, but a kid who has been in the system 1 year before the season doesn't make sense to me

so you are willing to delist a top 5 draft pick after 2 seasons if he doesn't have an impact

No not at all. There are plenty of players that dont have an impact in 2 years that are worth holding onto. Players are drafted for various reasons and some types(kpps) generally take longer than some other kids. What I am saying is you cannot hold on to a plyer longer than warranted simply because they are a higher draft pick. This would be a crazy policy.

Based on your theory Billy Morrison and Bo Nixon would have had 4 years on the list. If the club did this then the list would be weaker than it is now.

Lets remember we are talking about a player who the club itself said was a very good chance of playing in the 1s in his first season because he had a mature body. So he obvisouly has not lived up to the clubs expectations when you consider he struggled to crack it for a game in the willi 1s

Danny Stanley