Dating: Age difference

Originally posted by Stucey
Although 20 goes into 14 more times than 20 goes into say 18 or 19, that's not really the age of person you would want your 14 year old daughter dating.....(she is almost too young to be dating anyway)

One of my GF's friends is 22 and she is dating a 39 year old. You really wonder about those type of guys....

So what is the limit for a 22 year old female ? I think they are at the peak of confidence around that age. Probably the time they all experiment with someone much older.

Originally posted by the REAL dingo
Yeah, you do, like how do they do it... When you're a single 40 year old, you'll wish you scoring prime birds in their 20s. I can only offer praise...

I don't plan to be single at that age, but seriously....

I mean hey, if they are happy then fine. And more power to them for being able to 'score' younger birds. I do have a problem however with older guys going for 14-15 year olds.

Originally posted by Pessimistic
So what is the limit for a 22 year old female ? I think they are at the peak of confidence around that age. Probably the time they all experiment with someone much older.

No...I wouldn't say there is an upper age limit for anyone over 18.

Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer
From memory, may be wrong :

If the bird is under 16 or the bloke is under 16 then its just illegal.

If the bird is 16 or 17 then the bloke isn't allowed to be over 18.

If the bird is 18 or over then its free reign, as long as the bloke is 18 or over.

Can't remember how it works if the bloke is 16/17 and the bird is 18+

What I learnt:

In a sexual relationship, if one person is younger than 16, and older than 10, the other person must have no bigger age difference than two years. If one is 16 or older, they are free to be in a sexual relationship with whoever they want, anyone older, or anyone who is younger than them, see the two-year rule above. Also, as long as that person is not in a position of power over them, eg teacher, coach etc. I think that's supposed to go for anyone. I didn't think there were any restrictions above 16. (hey, there wouldn't wanna be, I didn't make it to 16 for nothing :D) These are the Victorian laws, at least. Anyhow, if the 14 and 20 year olds are in a sexual relationship, that is illegal.

Re the age difference, 14 and 20...6 years isn't that much later on, but when the girl is 14 I don't see how that could work out. 17 and 22 isn't bad, I mean that's only 5 years, and I don't think I'd have too many worries if I was going out with someone 5 years older than me, considering I'm almost 17. Although I'd be wondering what the guy saw in me ;) Still, my parents met when mum was 15 and dad was almost 21, and they managed to work it out! I think, if the relationship works between the two people, then others can't, or shouldn't, judge it. If the two people involved can manage it, then it's OK. As long as it's legal. (When did that stop anyone ;)) Obviously the younger person has to be mature enough, but I don't think the older person is necessarily immature.

My friends and I devised a rule of what we think is acceptable, for girls - the guy can be up to 10 years older, one year younger. However, despite what they said, when it comes to putting it into practise, some of them aren't so accepting.

I was discussing age difference with my mother once last year, and I was seeing how far I could push it (ie what age she'd tell me was unacceptable), 22 was ok, and I wasn't going to keep suggesting numbers until she said stop, she just said "25 is definitely out." But I guess that was for a 16 year old girl, when I'm a little older, maybe she wouldn't find an age difference like that so bad. Still, what she doesn't know won't hurt her! ;)

I'd ring the Cops, because a 14 yo going out with a 20 yo is illegal. And if sex comes into, then the guy is up for statatory rape whether she consents to it or not. If you don't want to ring the Cops, i suggest you get a gun and shoot the bastard.

As for the 22 yo going out with the 17 yo, I believe the law states that if the girl is over 16, them she can go out with anyone, with in 5 years of her age. In fact there was a case in Perth a few years ago where a 17 yo girl got pregnant and wanted to marry her 22yo boyfriend. The Perth courts didn't allow it, until the general public and every newspaper in the country kicked up a stink.

Well for me, I've always gone for guys who are a bit older.
My oldest partner was 9 years my senior, and the youngest bloke was 1 year older than me (and very immature). Anotherie was 5 years older than I was. I tend not to date my own age group cause I find them moronic and immature...

MUCH prefer a nice 30+ bloke who is financially secure (in most cases) than an immature 21+ year old who's first and foremost thought is to get laid. I've found with the older blokes they'll act like a gent and test your mind before they test anything else...like the bed!

:D

Originally posted by Blues Angel
Well for me, I've always gone for guys who are a bit older.
My oldest partner was 9 years my senior, and the youngest bloke was 1 year older than me (and very immature). Anotherie was 5 years older than I was. I tend not to date my own age group cause I find them moronic and immature...

MUCH prefer a nice 30+ bloke who is financially secure (in most cases) than an immature 21+ year old who's first and foremost thought is to get laid. I've found with the older blokes they'll act like a gent and test your mind before they test anything else...like the bed!

How about a 30+ who spends most of his money getting drunk? Ohh baby yeah. :p

*shrugs shoulders*

Why not!!

As long as this person spent most of their money at the pub on ME!

;)
Well yeah, that's the plan. I don't just sit there hogging all the alcohol. :D

Couldn't resist! I don't actually think they change all that much when they get older, they just get more cunning about it. :D

Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes
Whats the acceptable age difference when dating? I've got a friend who's turning 20 in a months time, and he's dating a 14 yr old *shudders*. To me, thats just plain sick. No different than paedophilia. He however reckons its ok.

There is no 'acceptable' age difference, but dating a 14 year old is sick. Fourteen year olds are still basically children. The fact is your mate is 20 and she is underage, he is breaking the law.

Sorry, daddy 4, but your mate is a sicko.

Age difference shouldn't matter in a proper adult relationship. Christ, I just married someone who is 13 years older than me. We don't even notice an age difference. It has never bothered us and it's never likely too. As long as both people are compatible then age means nothing.
Unless of course one of the partners is only 14!

Bee i only find that sick if there is sex involved. Otherwise the word i'd use to describe it is sad not sick. When i was 15/16 i went out with this guy who was about 23ish i think. Wasn't really anything sick involved in it as he was very caring and sweet to me and there was no sex involved but in a way it seemed sad that he liked me enough even though i was this age because i was not really a woman then (britney :rolleyes: ) so i woulda thought he'd be better off with someone at least 18. I just dont think some can relate with their own age somethings wrong with them socially.

Originally posted by Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
i only find that sick if there is sex involved. Otherwise the word i'd use to describe it is sad not sick. When i was 15/16 i went out with this guy who was about 23ish i think.

I know a few people in my grade they're 14/15 and they've had sex with older men probably around 18ish-20ish makes me sick. :rolleyes:

Re: Re: Dating: Age difference

Originally posted by Bee
Sorry, daddy 4, but your mate is a sicko.

No need to apologise, I agree 100%.

Me and some other friends always give him sh*t about it. Ask him if he wants to take her Toys R us and stuff (we rented him a Blues Clues video just for the fun of it, hehehe).

I think he broke up last week though. Apparently his mum found out and told him to either break up, or move out of the house :p Hahaha.

On the matter of sex, I'm hoping there wasn't any. She's not what you call 'attractive', if you get what I mean (though neither is he :D )

True Story:

A friend of mine (17 at the time), was going out with a girl who was only 15. There were 11 days between their birthdates, and he was 'informed' (his dad's a cop), that for those 11 days, she was off limits, as he was 18 (an adult), and she was 15 (under-age of consent).

Worst thing of all was that it meant he went without on his 18th (an absolute tragedy).

Personally, I think that the 2 year rule applies pretty well up to 16, in rounded figures of course. ie...

.....If Man.......Then Woman....

Beyond that, then I think it's probably 5 years (17/22, 18/23, etc, 21/26). Once 21, I don't think it really matters.

Originally posted by Simon_Nesbit

Personally, I think that the 2 year rule applies pretty well up to 16, in rounded figures of course. ie...

.....If Man.......Then Woman....

Beyond that, then I think it's probably 5 years (17/22, 18/23, etc, 21/26). Once 21, I don't think it really matters.

Umm, you are in Tassie aren't you? You do realise that the age of consent in Tasmania is 17, don't you?

If u ask me you shouldn't even be thinking about boys at 14 !(apart from crushes on the boys on Beverly Hills 90210 and maybe Brad who sits behind you in Social Studies but that's about it!)

There is way too much pressure on girls these days to have a "boyfriend" - and I don't think mags like Dolly and Girlfriend really help the cause much. Reading through you'd think that every 15 or 16 year old girl has a boyfriend or is having sex. (Actually, it doesn't really improve once you start reading cosmopolitan! Heaven forbid that there are girls out there that are happily single, livin it up. Thank god Marie Claire has real articles).

I rekon while the kiddies are at school, leave them alone so they can grow, that's time that they never get back and girls are already growing up too quickly.

Between the ages of 18-22 I think I'd even draw the line at a four year age difference. Once again, you have the rest of your life to be a grown up!!! Why waste valuable teenage years??

Originally posted by Bee
Umm, you are in Tassie aren't you? You do realise that the age of consent in Tasmania is 17, don't you?

Ah..no I didn't.

I was a 'little' early then I guess (about 5 years, but ah well).

I don't know that many of my friends who were still virgins at 17, (well except for a small proportion of the male population, and a few 'Ice Princesses').

Maybe I got my years wrong. There were 3 years (or 2 and 11) between them anyway.

Originally posted by Simon_Nesbit
I don't know that many of my friends who were still virgins at 17, (well except for a small proportion of the male population, and a few 'Ice Princesses').

So you're an ice princess if you are still a virgin at 17 um what exactly would that be? I'd just say you had a smart head on your shoulders likewise with those who don't follow along and get drunk at parties every weekend just to be in with the so called in crowd.

Simon

That is a very sad outlook to think that because someone hasn't had sex at 17, then they are an "Ice Princess", I think they should be congratulated for their self control & waiting until they meet someone they love, rather than just doing it a.s.a.p. because it is perceived to be the thing to do.

Originally posted by Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
So you're an ice princess if you are still a virgin at 17 um what exactly would that be? I'd just say you had a smart head on your shoulders likewise with those who don't follow along and get drunk at parties every weekend just to be in with the so called in crowd.

Spidey how much u have changed in a year...
The way you acted on these boards and your nickname of "footy ****", is a far cry from what you are now.
I dont know which spidey I enjoyed the most...

Ultimately many "chicks" loose there virginity far earlier than guys. I would say that the majority of 17 yo guys are still virgins, its not by choice its just imaturity. I know we live in modern times but the guy is still expected to make the first move and take all the risks as far as getting shut down goes.

I honestly believe that 95 percent of woman/girls can get laid wenever they want.No matter how bad they look there is always at least 5 different guys around them that would "go them". Its a different story as far as guys go.
Its a mans world but sexually the females are always going to have it one up on us.

Well Sabre it depends how seriously it is all taken. Footyslutting is a bit of fun nothing overly drastic but because of the way some girls out there act around the players it can be taken the wrong way i understand that.

Nothing is different about me now bar the fact that i have a boyfriend and am not about to go around like a silly 17 year old being a ****tease around the players whilst i am with him. Morals now however have stayed EXACTLY the same as they have always been!