Traded David Rodan to Melbourne for Pick 88

• Thread starter Thread starter Lotch

Best of luck to him. Has some massive flaws in his game but also has massive strengths.

Anyways, nice to have a couple of crumbing forwards now after not having one for the last 5 or 6 years (unless you count Woneamirri).

Rodan hasn't played as a crumbing forward since he left Richmond. Do you just see a short black guy and assume he's a crumbing forward or something?

If Demons have know clue, Richmond have no clue!

I'll trust Blair Hartley and Francis Jackson before I trust your list managers.

Yours have to be the worst in the league.

I'm rapt Rodan got another chance.

Another couple of years as part of the Footy Show's player review will be great viewing.

On a serious note, he will be a decent pick up for the Dees.

Good luck to him.

delisting park footballers and replacing with AFL standard, even players barely AFL standard makes a big difference!
disagree. rodan has to be better than the vast majority of kids taken so late and in the rookie draft.
its a real interesting exercise to do it never ceases to amaze me just how few 18 yr old rookies and late nd picks make it.
clubs are far better off taking their fair share of mature players weather they be retreads from other clubs or state league players than loading up with 18 yr olds.

just my opinion but every side in the comp can significantly improve their list just by value adding.

melbourne have got it right they are going to use more than their fair share of good picks on 18 yr olds chasing quality, they have looked after the long term. they are looking to balance out the draft with experienced players and find a bit of competetiveness in the short term.
i dont know where its said clubs can only do o0ne thing at a time ie can only look after the long term but cant look after the short term either.

disagree. rodan has to be better than the vast majority of kids taken so late and in the rookie draft.
its a real interesting exercise to do it never ceases to amaze me just how few 18 yr old rookies and late nd picks make it.
clubs are far better off taking their fair share of mature players weather they be retreads from other clubs or state league players than loading up with 18 yr olds.

just my opinion but every side in the comp can significantly improve their list just by value adding.

melbourne have got it right they are going to use more than their fair share of good picks on 18 yr olds chasing quality, they have looked after the long term. they are looking to balance out the draft with experienced players and find a bit of competetiveness in the short term.
i dont know where its said clubs can only do o0ne thing at a time ie can only look after the long term but cant look after the short term either.
I was saying its a good move for the demons

Good luck to Rodan, seems like a really likeable bloke from all reports and he will give his all.

Interesting to see the difference in approaches to this trade period from Melbourne and my club.

Melbourne have injected some players in the twilight of their career who will no doubt get games and contribute in rodan and Byrnes and will clearly improve in the short term and will bring other benefits such as culture change, but will it be at the expense of getting game time into kids? I only question their value as it is clear Melbourne won't be challenging for a flag for a number of years, i would have thought they would be better for teams on the brink of success.

The dogs have added some players around the 21/22 year old mark who are unknown, and seem hell bent on mainly developing from the draft, no doubt we are in for some more short term pain than the dees, but long term it may be beneficial getting game time into the kids. On the other hand getting flogged every week may do long term damage to the kids.

Who knows what is right and wrong. Interesting the different approaches. Father time will tell us the answer.

Good luck to Rodan, seems like a really likeable bloke from all reports and he will give his all.

Interesting to see the difference in approaches to this trade period from Melbourne and my club.

Melbourne have injected some players in the twilight of their career who will no doubt get games and contribute in rodan and Byrnes and will clearly improve in the short term and will bring other benefits such as culture change, but will it be at the expense of getting game time into kids? I only question their value as it is clear Melbourne won't be challenging for a flag for a number of years, i would have thought they would be better for teams on the brink of success.

The dogs have added some players around the 21/22 year old mark who are unknown, and seem hell bent on mainly developing from the draft, no doubt we are in for some more short term pain than the dees, but long term it may be beneficial getting game time into the kids. On the other hand getting flogged every week may do long term damage to the kids.

Who knows what is right and wrong. Interesting the different approaches. Father time will tell us the answer.
I think Baileys entire philosophy when he was coaching revolved around getting games into kids, but they had no one to look up to and they havent developed properly. Getting some senior players in to show them the way and compete for spots can only be a good thing.
The difference between the dogs and the dees is the dogs still have some really good senior player setting an example for the kids, while the dees have about 4 players over the age of 27 or something ridiculous. We still have a lot of young guyss and not enough senior players, so this draft and trading period is about balancing the list out for us. We're still injecting some good youth in viney, hogan, barry and p4 and at the same time getting some professionals and clubmen across to set a good example and build the culture. It will be interesting to see how it pans out

Yes, but Melbourne have added three top 5 picks essentially.

Jack Viney
Jesse Hogan
pick 4

Not to mention Dom Barry who looks a good prospect.

Add that to the plethora of kids we already have, and its easy to see why Neeld wanted to bring in some seasoned bodies.

The Doggies did need some players to fill their age 21-23 bracket (Me;lbourne already has heaps of them), while Melbourne needed expereinced players in the 27+ bracket (Doggies already had that covered).

Its an interesting case study , nonetheless. Looking forward to see who the Dogs land at picks 5 and 6.

Yes, but Melbourne have added three top 5 picks essentially.

Jack Viney
Jesse Hogan
pick 4

Not to mention Dom Barry who looks a good prospect.

Add that to the plethora of kids we already have, and its easy to see why Neeld wanted to bring in some seasoned bodies.

The Doggies did need some players to fill their age 21-23 bracket (Me;lbourne already has heaps of them), while Melbourne needed expereinced players in the 27+ bracket (Doggies already had that covered).

Its an interesting case study , nonetheless. Looking forward to see who the Dogs land at picks 5 and 6.

Fair point mate that you have added in the kids this draft (god you did well with Viney - scott clayton to me is an A1 clown getting rid of pick 2 on a skinny kid who could very well get home sick), it is a fine balancing act between playing kids and more experienced players when you are down the bottom like both of us. Definitely need both.

Lets just hope we both don't cop more 10 goal + drubbings like we did nearly every week last week.

What a horrific list management decision. Neeld is driving the club into the ground. This is going to set them back another 5 years. I can't believe this is happening. They really need to move him on before the development of the younger players is really set back further.

no doubt his absurd salary demands will send the club into insolvency

Obvious troll is obvious.

Why are people so quick to shoot down who melbourne get? From alot of reports, some of the players their that have been past/present have thought what was required of them was going in and out of the joint and not trying hard enough to improve themselves/team.

Rodan, Byrnes and Dawes are premiership players who fill a need and add experience until their younger brigade develop. Not hard to see that.

He'll be a much better pick-up than Dawes.

He will make a great sub, and he's a got clearance player, in addition to being a good citizen.

Are Melbounre going to trade in anyone that can actually play? Dawes, Rodan, Byrnes (all old or useless).

For their sake they are very lucky to get Viney at 27 and i hope Hogan becomes the player they hope.

I hope they dont get Pederson either, for their sake.