Draft Expert Davo-27's 2022 u18 Draft Thread

PocketRocket08

Apr 26, 2022
Those rankings of yours, Davo, are very impressive. I must, however, strongly disagree with your placement of Cowan at number 32. Without taking into account any of his other performances this year, I judged him to be among the top 25 in talent based solely on his performance against Dandenong. He will be a very capable halfback/wing for whoever chooses him. I would switch him for Munkara. I'd also rank Konstanty and Clarke in the 20s.
I agree with you on Cowan konstanty and Clarke all in top 25

mattyc75

Dec 5, 2010
over here
,west perthgolden state warriors
The curve might be flattening for the general population, but I’d bet my bottom dollar that current studies show that sports where height and size give an advantage, their athletes are still getting taller and bigger.

15 years ago Kevin Durant (nba basketball) was a freak at 208cm tall, moving like a guard. Then came Giannisgiannis antetokounmpo at 211cm with a bigger build, moving the same.

They are one generation after Michael Jordan, who was 198cm.

Next year, there’s a kid coming to the nba draft who just measured 223cm with a 244cm wingspan and he moves like a guard. He’s still growing and moves like a baby giraffe, but he’s got that fluidity and agility that you know once he grows in to his body, that he’s going to be different than the really tall players that came before him.
He'll team up with chet and giddey well

On SM-G973F using BigFooty.com mobile app

pushintheback

May 31, 2010
post Grand Final Update

1. Will Ashcroft - 180cm 76kg - Sandringham (Bris F/S)
2. Harry Sheezel - 184cm 77kg - Sandringham
3. George Wardlaw - 182cm 81kg - Oakleigh
-----------------------------------------------------------Elite Tier ^
4. Aaron Cadman - 194cm 88kg - GWV
5. Elijah Tsatas - 186cm 79kg - Oakleigh
6. Cam MacKenzie - 187cm 80kg - Sandringham (StK NGA)
7. Jhye Clark - 181cm 77kg - Geelong
8. Mattaes Phillipou - 191cm 83kg - WWT
9. Jedd Busslinger - 196cm 82kg - East Perth
------------------------------------------------------------ Top Tier ^
10. Reuben Ginbey - 189cm 85kg - East Perth
11. Bailey Humphrey - 184cm 86kg - Gippsland
12. Lewis Hayes - 197cm 81kg - Eastern
13. Elijah Hewett - 186cm 82kg - Swan Districts
14. Matthew Jefferson - 194cm 76kg - Oakleigh
15. Isaac Keeler - 198cm 88kg - North Adelaide (Adel NGA)
16. Oliver Hollands - 184cm 71kg - Murray
17. Adam D'Aloia - 186cm 86kg - WWT
18. Mitch Szybkowski - 186cm 84kg - Dandenong
19. Jaspa Fletcher - 184cm 73kg - Bris A (Bris A)
20. Brayden George - 185cm 87kg - Murray
21. Anthony Munkara - 186cm 77kg - NT/West Adelaide (Ess NGA)
22. Olli Hotton - 181cm 77kg - Sandringham
23. Tom McCallum - 192cm 78kg - Tasmania
--------------------------------------------------------------- High Quality Prospects ^
24. Coby Burgiel - 183cm 76kg - Gippsland
25. Henry Hustwaite - 194cm 84kg - Dandenong
26. Al Davey Jnr - 181cm 74kg - Oakleigh (Ess F/S)
27. Jed Hagan - 175cm 73kg - East Fremantle
28. Darcy Jones - 175cm 67kg - Swan Districts
29. Josh Weddle - 191cm 87kg - Oakleigh
30. Kobe Ryan - 183cm 73kg - West Adelaide
31. Harry Barnett - 202cm 93kg - West Adelaide
32. Lachlan Cowan - 188cm 81kg - Tasmania
33. Luke Teal - 188cm 78kg - Oakleigh
34. Charlie Clarke - 182cm 75kg - Sandringham
35. Brandon Leary - 177cm - Tasmania
36. Hugh Bond - 184cm 81kg - GWV
37. Shadeau Brain - 185cm - Bris A (Bris A)
38. Will Dowling - 187cm 79kg - North Adelaide
39. Jonti Schuback - 183cm 75kg - Gippsland
40. Noah Long - 178cm 74kg - Gippsland
41. Ed Allan - 194cm 82kg - Claremont
42. Archie Lovelock - 178cm 72kg - Glenlg
42. Callum Verrell - 187cm 79kg - Eastern
43. Blake Drury - 177cm 73kg - Oakleigh
44. Jacob Konstanty - 176cm 70kg - Gippsland
45. Cooper Vickery - 180cm 72kg - Gippsland (Haw NGA)
46. Jake Walker - 184cm 85kg - Glenlg
47. Jaiden Magor - 185cm 79kg - South Adelaide
48. Sam Gilbey - 188cm 71kg - Claremont
49. Harry Rowston - 180cm - Calder/GWS A (GWS A)
50. Harry Lemmey - 199cm 93kg - West Adel
---------------------------------------------------------------- Quality Prospects ^

other good prospects that have good qualities: J.Ryan, Scully, Hempel, Penny, J.Davey, Harvey, J.Lawrence, Petric, K.Windsor, Ashwin, M.Clohesy, T.Clohesy, Northam, O'Sullivan, Binns, Van Es, Fogarty, Wright, McMullin, C.Mitchell, Foster, Michaelanny, Sadler, Michael, MacNeill, Cleaver, Green, Julian, Cole, Campbell, Madden, Knobel and Campbell-Farrell, special mention: L. Bailey(Dand)
No one is putting Gruzewski in their top 50. He will go before pick 35. 100%

Davo-27

Sep 9, 2006
Box Hill Hawks
What do you see as McKenzie's limitations? Everything I read makes him sound like an excellent prospect, doesn't seem to have a bad game, performs well in big games. For Eagles' pick 2 he might be a safer bet than Wardlaw (hamstrings) and Tsatas (not as inside as McKenzie).

Where do you see Hotton going in the draft? Is he an inside mid, or balanced? Do you see him having the game to be a full time mid at AFL level, or do you think he ends up on a flank somewhere?

How was Szybkowski in the U18s GF?
the only limitations on MacKenzie are big numbers(accumulation) and regular goal kicking, Wardlaw if fit is as good as JHF imo, i know its a big call, but i think he could be on a similar level, but the hamstrings are a concern and his lack of accumulation even though he was sick has him behind the Daicos-like performances of Will Ashcroft, Tsatas' kicking and decision making are a slight concern, but can he accumulate and run for an outside/inside mid.

Hotton i really like, i like him anywhere from around 10-25, i've been putting him early 20's recently but he could go higher, he is a goal kicking winger/flanker
Those rankings of yours, Davo, are very impressive. I must, however, strongly disagree with your placement of Cowan at number 32. Without taking into account any of his other performances this year, I judged him to be among the top 25 in talent based solely on his performance against Dandenong. He will be a very capable halfback/wing for whoever chooses him. I would switch him for Munkara. I'd also rank Konstanty and Clarke in the 20s.
there are things i like about Cowan, accumulation, speed, running ability, but the reason i dont have him higher is because of the turn over rate he had for the Allies and at times Tassie and how that can cost teams on the scoreboard, if he can iron out those issues he could be really good, but if he doesnt then thats an issue

Jacob Konstanty - Gippsland - 14 gms 17.13 15d 3m 6t (kicked 3 goals in 2 games at the champs so far) thats why i have him where i do, barely averages a goal a game for a small forward in his draft year at u18 level, not really a pressure forward, can lead well and kick a goal, but needs to do more than what he has done imo.

Munkara if he dedicates himself to AFL footy could be a sensation(very much like a Rioli, has the speed, power and agility of the Rioli's), but its a bit of a mystery as to his situation this year

Clarke i agree could be higher, whether he goes 20's or 30's he is a talented small forward/midfielder, a little inconsistent, but quality
I agree with you on Cowan konstanty and Clarke all in top 25
^
No one is putting Gruzewski in their top 50. He will go before pick 35. 100%
Gruzewski is a good player but at 192cm as a KPD is a little short for AFL and where its heading, i have him behind Hayes, Busslinger and Van Es, has not played at the champs, has not played for the AFL Academy, was in a team that lost 1st week of finals, it seems he is only being added because Cal Twomey has added him to his list and made the national combine, if people want to copy that then go ahead, Cal does have good reads at times.

Davo-27

Sep 9, 2006
Box Hill Hawks
Anthony Munkara, the next Charlie Cameron/Jack Ginnivan to go rookie draft and within 2 years becomes one of the best small/med forwards in the competition?

pushintheback

May 31, 2010
the only limitations on MacKenzie are big numbers(accumulation) and regular goal kicking, Wardlaw if fit is as good as JHF imo, i know its a big call, but i think he could be on a similar level, but the hamstrings are a concern and his lack of accumulation even though he was sick has him behind the Daicos-like performances of Will Ashcroft, Tsatas' kicking and decision making are a slight concern, but can he accumulate and run for an outside/inside mid.

Hotton i really like, i like him anywhere from around 10-25, i've been putting him early 20's recently but he could go higher, he is a goal kicking winger/flanker

there are things i like about Cowan, accumulation, speed, running ability, but the reason i dont have him higher is because of the turn over rate he had for the Allies and at times Tassie and how that can cost teams on the scoreboard, if he can iron out those issues he could be really good, but if he doesnt then thats an issue

Jacob Konstanty - Gippsland - 14 gms 17.13 15d 3m 6t (kicked 3 goals in 2 games at the champs so far) thats why i have him where i do, barely averages a goal a game for a small forward in his draft year at u18 level, not really a pressure forward, can lead well and kick a goal, but needs to do more than what he has done imo.

Munkara if he dedicates himself to AFL footy could be a sensation(very much like a Rioli, has the speed, power and agility of the Rioli's), but its a bit of a mystery as to his situation this year

Clarke i agree could be higher, whether he goes 20's or 30's he is a talented small forward/midfielder, a little inconsistent, but quality

^

Gruzewski is a good player but at 192cm as a KPD is a little short for AFL and where its heading, i have him behind Hayes, Busslinger and Van Es, has not played at the champs, has not played for the AFL Academy, was in a team that lost 1st week of finals, it seems he is only being added because Cal Twomey has added him to his list and made the national combine, if people want to copy that then go ahead, Cal does have good reads at times.

He has been injured for most of the season so I understand why no one has him in their rankings, however, early in the year he was outstanding. I’m hearing he will play in the VC v VM granny.

Mar 26, 2017
Inner Sanctum
GBay-WSox-Bulls-Blackhawks-LSU-UNC
May be a stupid question, but is Wardlaw a chance at all for Thursday?
The only thing that could happen is he re injures himself or due to lack of game time he plays poorly hurting him in the eyes of all who are there to watch. Best thing he could do is rest up and help out the team at the game, knowing everyone who has seen him and spoken to him rates him as a top 3 prospect.

Glebehawk

Aug 24, 2006
london

^

Gruzewski didn’t harm that top 50 chance today. Seems a good third tall type.

Davo-27

Sep 9, 2006
Box Hill Hawks
Gruzewski didn’t harm that top 50 chance today. Seems a good third tall type.
yea had a ripper mark in the first quarter where he came in from the side and jumped over Vickery i think it was, he kicked 2 nice goals(30m out in front and 40 out with a slight angle), didnt notice him in a heap of play after that though, i remember 1 or 2 plays where he handed the ball off to a runner, in that 5-10 minutes where he kicked 2 goals i was thinking "maybe i made a mistake", thinking on early season and this game he is a talent, but top 30 seems too high for me, but thats my thoughts, im sure club recruiters have their own PoV.

Davo-27

Sep 9, 2006
Box Hill Hawks
Which mids have strong defensive games? The Dogs need reinforcements with Dunks leaving.
this is hard because most midfielders sell themselves on being an attacking weapon, accumulator types or goal kickers, its rare that they run both ways and tackle as their main weapon and if they do they are usually less hyped up(they usually develop this moreso at a club after being recruited, Finn Maginness/Marcus Windhager are an example because they lack accumulation they had to learn to use their athletic qualities to run with an opponent early in their careers ect), but i'll give it a go

Hugh Bond has played as a defender for VC but for GWV he is a midfielder at times, Coby Burgiel has shown moments of both quality goal kicking as well as a defensive orientation, Szybkowski seems to do alot of the tough stuff when it comes to tackling ect, Adam D'Aloia is also inside doing the tough stuff like tackling ect

Nov 7, 2017
GWS
Manchester City, Collingwood AFLW
yea had a ripper mark in the first quarter where he came in from the side and jumped over Vickery i think it was, he kicked 2 nice goals(30m out in front and 40 out with a slight angle), didnt notice him in a heap of play after that though, i remember 1 or 2 plays where he handed the ball off to a runner, in that 5-10 minutes where he kicked 2 goals i was thinking "maybe i made a mistake", thinking on early season and this game he is a talent, but top 30 seems too high for me, but thats my thoughts, im sure club recruiters have their own PoV.
He seems to lack that natural forward craft, awkward leading patterns and struggling to get involved unless it was straight forward work highlighted this, but I do think he showed off some of the tools that are getting people excited without being dominant. Definitely more of a defender for mine until he gets some more forward craft, but at his height with his speed i could see someone trying to turn him into a tall midfielder

pushintheback

May 31, 2010
He seems to lack that natural forward craft, awkward leading patterns and struggling to get involved unless it was straight forward work highlighted this, but I do think he showed off some of the tools that are getting people excited without being dominant. Definitely more of a defender for mine until he gets some more forward craft, but at his height with his speed i could see someone trying to turn him into a tall midfielder
before he was injured he was playing in defence and just plucking marks all over the place. He's a talent!

Davo-27

Sep 9, 2006
Box Hill Hawks
from my PoV i think the Elite Talent in this years draft are:

1. Will Ashcroft - he and Wardlaw were amazing last year, contested + running machine + goal kicker + class on the outside when he gets into space, he worked really well with Wardlaw winning the hardball and feeding him, but this year showed he could also win the hardball himself, with great work rate and great determination he deserves to go pick 1 imo

2. George Wardlaw - last year i thought no one could steal his thunder, he just hunts the ball and the man with a passion, fantastic player with similarities to JHF in that he plays some inspirational footy at times, unfortunately for him he has been plagued with injuries this year, mainly the hamstrings (maybe he shouldnt skip leg day at the gym :p ) if he gets over his injuries he could be special?

3. Harry Sheezel - not only is he a goal scoring dangerous forward with good goal sense, but when he goes into the middle he can win a heap of poss as well, he loves the bullet pass which can get people excited pointing the toes and slamming it low and hard to a forward in the clear, his ball handling and movement looks at the AFL level already and he should be able to play forward soon after being drafted and possible midfield minutes in the future as a mid rotation

4. Aaron Cadman - probably just outside the elite group(a team like North, GWS or Ess would love a developing KPF like Cadman), but i love how he lifts for big moments, his performances for GWV and VC despite sometimes having poor stats were amazing, he had a game where he went scoreless(maybe goaless) and yet was probably best on for GWV, he is that type of forward, even when the team struggles he can have an affect up the ground, but also he can dine out on successful periods, moves so well and seems very emotional in his interviews, kind of like Jack Riewoldt, being a richmond fan he would love that comparison in personality i guess?

Davo-27

Sep 9, 2006
Box Hill Hawks
update on 2023, 1 change to the top 30 Chad Reschke in and Will Patton out, then i increased it to a top 40.

1. Harley Reid - Bend - 185cm - absolute star, can play in all positions, can negate Nick Watson, outmark Lewis Hayes in the goal square, does everything
2. Jed Walter - GCS A - 194cm - big lump of a lad, goal kicking machine
3. Daniel Curtin - Clare - 195cm - star defender, won the best on in the u17's
4. Nate Caddy - North - 190cm - marking forward, might need work on goal kicking, but is a dangerous forward
5. Nick Watson - East - 169cm - dangerous small forward, fights hard and never gives up
6. Koltyn Tholstrup - Subi - 188cm - skillful forward who can also find it in the midfield, beautiful strong mark too
7. Jack Delean - Sth Adel - 181cm - good mark for his size and can also be a dangerous forward
8. Zane Duursma - Gipps - 188cm - forward/midfielder, Vic Country would have loved his goal kicking skills in the u18 champs decider
9. Nathan Philactides - Oak - 180cm - tough uncompromising defender
10. Ashton Moir - Glenlg - 186cm - skillful forward with a nice ability to take pack marks and a mark on a lead
11. Koen Sanchez - Est Frem - 176cm - skillful midfielder who went forward at the champs and looked good there
12. Jake Rogers - GCS A - 172cm - speedy small midfielder, quality player, was a sensation for GCS A iagainst the NAB League and starred for the Allies in the champs imo
13. Archer Reid - Gipps - 201cm - tall forward, tore it up at the Vic Trials, but didnt have the best champs, can turn it on every now and then
14. Riley Hardeman - Swan Dist - 185cm - classy speedy winger who was a great winger in the 2021 WAFL Colts GF and has been consistent since
15. Ben Ridgeway - Glenlg - 181cm - really dynamic midfielder, tough and can win the hard ball
16. Archie Roberts - Sand - 183cm - another classy winger from the Sandringham factory
17. Will Lorenz - Oak - 186cm - quality smooth midfielder, grandson of Hawks Legend Graham Arthur
18. Logan Morris - West - 192cm - quality FF for the Jets, surprised he didnt get more opportunity at the state level
19. Luamon Lual - GWV - 181cm - was a real difference maker in the Trials, not sure why he didnt get into the champs squad, but he looks the goods
20. Colby McKercher - Tas - 181cm - a really talented winger who i would like to see if he can play more midfield next season
21. Chad Reschke - Sturt - 187cm - leads all day, a bit chunky but has surprising speed on the lead, good strong mark as well, kicked 68 goals in u18 this yr
22. Alex Molan - GWV - 177cm - dynamic flanker/midfielder, always in the play and nearly always does something good with the footy
23. Sam Frangalas - Dand - 187cm - big strong midfielder/flanker, needs to find his position and dominate
24. George Stevens - GWV - 190cm - did an ACL i believe last year, but was fantastic prior to injury
25. Mitch Edwards - Peel - 196cm - quality tall in this draft, because of the lack of high end talls could go earlier, but theres so many quality sml/med forwards in this draft
26. Alex Holt - Sturt - 180cm - good hbf/wing, played well at times this year in the u17's and u18's
27. Oliver Badr - Oak - 177cm - good solid midfielder, has played well but could drop down the order if he doesnt show improvement
28. Will McCabe - Cent Dist - 196cm - quick and courageous tall forward/defender, need to see more but the potential is high and could go 1st/2nd rd?
29. Darcy Weeks - West - 178cm - solid inside midfielder, he and Lorenz + B.Wilson impressed me in a game a month or so ago, tough inside mid red head
30. Clay Hall - Peel - 189cm - hard working midfielder, just goes all game, good natural endurance it seems

31. Will Patton - West Adel - 191cm - solid defender from SA
32. Billy Wilson - Dand - 181cm - another quality outside type from dandenong, he Lorenz and Weeks really put their names up a few weeks ago
33. Michael Rudd - Geel - 191cm - another good marking medium defender this time from Geelong
34. Luca Slade - Sturt - 180cm - another good winger from SA
35. Coby James - Murray - 176cm - speedy hbf, i really liked him from the Vic Trials, no one is talking about him but he is quality
36. Caleb Windsor - Eastern - 184cm - was really good for Eastern earlier i nthe year outplaying his brother Kai in the midfield
37. Caiden Cleary - Syd A - 180cm - good midfielder from Syd A, a bit up and down in form, but a solid player
38. Ryley Sanders - Sand/Tas - 185cm - has potential to be top 20, but hasnt put it all together just yet
39. Riley Weatherill - Eastern - 195cm - tall forward with a good amount of talent another to impress at the Vic Trials in Werribee
40. Ethan Read - GCS A - 200cm - had a good couple games this year and has a lot of potential with his athleticism

other talented players to keep an eye on in 2023

Xavier Walsh, Cam Nyko, James Lugsdin, Kynan Brown, Mahmoud Taha, Darcy Wilson, Kobe Shipp, Cooper Simpson, Jack Callinan, Diesel Moloney, Harvey Thomas, Charlie Hillier (Patrick Weckert + Riak Andrew + Coen Livingstone ?)