Dean Brogan

Stan.

Sep 6, 2004
Vietnam.
According to ch 10 news is a bit frustrated at port, might want out.

Out of contract at the end of the year.

26 yrs of age i think.

Would we be interested.

The ruck isn't the priority it was when it was the difference in us winning a premiership. He'd be a good get but not at the expense of midfield targets.

MarkT said:
The ruck isn't the priority it was when it was the difference in us winning a premiership. He'd be a good get but not at the expense of midfield targets.
It would be typical of your relationship with Collingwood if they did get a ruckman this year though, Mark :D

Odds on to be Primus' last year, so I don't reckon Broges is going anywhere.

MarkT said:

You say the ruck isnt the priority but we get smashed in the ruck week in week out.

Richards is always injured and never plays.
Fraser cant get his hands to the ball when in the ruck.
Fanning isnt gunna make it.

Brogan if gettable would be a better option than those three in the centre square.

It may cost us a second round pick, and we can use the first two picks on mids.

Wiz reckons the best two kids at this stage is a mid and a ruck. Both areas we need to adress. His quote was:

"Beau Dowler is very promising but certainly would not be in my top 5 at this stage. Pace is just soso and, at this stage, tends to have great quarters rather than great games.

It's way too early to lock in yet but, if the draft was today, I would rank Shannon Hurn as my No.1, Mitchell Clark at 2, and Travis Varcoe (currently injured) also in my top 5."

IF we get two early picks, they'd be the kids I'd hope for on a needs basis and if they're the best two then bonus!

Have to think three years ahead. Bogan 29. Or you can give that spot to an up and coming 21 year old gun.

Better off trying for young mids. Dunno if we'll land any though!

Stan. said:
You say the ruck isnt the priority but we get smashed in the ruck week in week out.

Brogan if gettable would be a better option than those three in the centre square.

26 is a little old dont u think?

Stan. said:

We don't need to win the ruck contests to get the ball out of the centre.

How do you know Fanning isn't going to make it? He has only played 2 games at AFL level.

Guy Richards is going to be great in the ruck over the next couple of seasons. Josh Fraser plays his best footy up forward, so this means Richards and Fanning both rotate through the ruck and on the interchange at times.

ROFL...

Guys, Ports ruck stock situation is this.

Primus, maybe his last year, next year tops (unlesss he move to FF but I doubt it).

Lade age 29.

Brogan age 26.

DeLuca age 18.

Thats it. He probably IS frustrated atm. But hes a certainty when Primus is gone or if Lade drops form (which he can do in the middle of winter, loves warm days old ladey :).

Hes going nowhere.

No need to target Brogan at the end of the year unless we are going to use Josh Fraser as trade bait, which is highly unlikely.

We have got Josh Fraser who has got the experience and all he needs to do is get over the injury cloud which has pretty much taken over his career at the moment. He beat Everitt last year, only 1 of 2 ruckman to do that in 2004. He has got the goods, he just needs to put them to use. A valuable player, but we all want to see more from him.

Guy Richards is one of the most unluckiest players in the AFL, injury wise. He has certainly been riddled with them, but we saw his debut year in 2004, and I don't know anybody who wasn't impressed. Certainly our number 1 ruckman, not only for the time being in the ruck, but the quality as a tap ruckman. Same with Fraser, has to get over the injuries and soon will be a dangerous man in the middle.

Dean Brogan will be looked at, but oat the moment we aren't struggling for ruckman, we are struggling for a decent midfielder, especiall to help fill the void of Buckley and Burns in the next decade or so. Dal Santo is the prize we are looking at, and we have got the money and the bait. He would certainly be the number one player to target. Brogan is a shot, but maybe an Essendon will be the team who will target the big man.

Dean Brogan