russ

Liverpool
word on the street is that dean solomon is a target for the eagles in a trade that would involve david haynes

i think this is a pretty good move, with solomon nailing one of the hbf positions and green on the other

i think we can also expect hunter & munro to still be in eagles colours next year

Is this the street where all the junkies on hallucinogenic substances hang out is it?

haha mate my head is pretty sore this morning but the street was the one leading to the mcintosh/matera tribute last night

Originally posted by russ
haha mate my head is pretty sore this morning but the street was the one leading to the mcintosh/matera tribute last night

Would love to see Solomon at the Eagles but I doubt that this will happen.

The Age

http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/articles/2003/09/25/1064083127337.html

Tigers eye both Solomon, Brown

"Brown is expected to announce his departure from Whitten Oval today - he reportedly told a Crux Club function on Wednesday night that he would do so on Friday - and has been courted heavily by the Tigers. So too has Solomon, the Essendon premiership flanker, who is understood to have been offered at least $350,000."

No thanks!

lets get a few things straight.

There is no way Solomon would ever get $350k at the eagles. Cousins, Gardiner, Judd, maybe Kerr when he re-negotiates, Jako.

He is not worth pick.11. he maybe talented, but he has limitations. Basically he is a defensive player, he does not win matches, he saves them, and I'd like to think, that we could get a pretty good prospect with pick.11.

But. I would LOVE his toughness in our team. And if he could play a solid game on the ball, as a run with player, I'd say he would be worth pick.11. Correct me if I'm wrong, he does not / will not play too much as a defensive midfielder, more as a back flank.

In which case, a Haynes-type (who I think would be a good fit at Essendon) and a tiny sweetner.

but, forget Solomon, we should have at least the cap-room for one very good player.

Lets say Judd replaces Matera's wages. With the retirement of Seira (who was reported to be making a nice earner), Milli and Jako to the vets, this should be some excess??? Did anyone else re-sign for a great deal more asides Judd?? answers please!!

thegur

thegur

Switch on people.

Why would we want to trade for a HBF?? I know he's tough and even think he's a decent player but you wouldn't get him for cheap ($400000 is suicidal :rolleyes: ) and what would you need to give up?

And at the end of the day he's a freaking flanker!! Like that's going to push us over the edge to premiership land. :rolleyes:

Cmon let's get real and leave this sort of idiocy for the likes of the Tigers and blues.

Originally posted by llosis
Switch on people.

Why would we want to trade for a HBF?? I know he's tough and even think he's a decent player but you wouldn't get him for cheap ($400000 is suicidal :rolleyes: ) and what would you need to give up?

And at the end of the day he's a freaking flanker!! Like that's going to push us over the edge to premiership land. :rolleyes:

Cmon let's get real and leave this sort of idiocy for the likes of the Tigers and blues.

Cost is the only factor IMO - he would help solidify our backline by a huge amount, flanker or not. No one player is going to push us over the edge to a premiership, but someone of Solomons quality in our backline is a push in the right direction.

Originally posted by Jabber
Cost is the only factor IMO - he would help solidify our backline by a huge amount, flanker or not. No one player is going to push us over the edge to a premiership, but someone of Solomons quality in our backline is a push in the right direction.

Cost is not only in regards to salary but also who do we trade for him? No way would I trade a first rounder and even a second rounder is pushing it.

All around, as good as Solomon would be on the back flank, it's just an unattractive proposition for mine.

No one player is going to push us over the edge to a premiership.

You don't reckon? I don't think anyone player will win you a premiership but I reckon in the closeness of our competition one player can be the difference between winning the grannie and losing it.

It's a true hypothetical but you don't think Michael Voss playing for Collingwood in last years Gf would've pushed them over the line? I do.

Anyway, we're not that close as it is. Back to the list ;)

Given that Solomon can be obtained for a resonable cost I would trade for him in a second, even giving out my #11 pick for him. At the end of the day you are getting a proven tough defensive flanker that is better then any other we have on our list, except Wirra, by a fair margin too and is something we are in desperate need for too.

Also if we look at last two drafts only 6 out of 12 players on average are household names and picking that high still has risks. In addition to this we can still get quality later in the draft like Hawthorn did with Sam Mitchell and we did with Stalker.

Originally posted by no1bankteller
Given that Solomon can be obtained for a resonable cost I would trade for him in a second, even giving out my #11 pick for him. At the end of the day you are getting a proven tough defensive flanker that is better then any other we have on our list, except Wirra, by a fair margin too and is something we are in desperate need for too.

$350 000 - $400 000 a year isn't what I would call a reasonable cost.

Also if we look at last two drafts only 6 out of 12 players on average are household names and picking that high still has risks. In addition to this we can still get quality later in the draft like Hawthorn did with Sam Mitchell and we did with Stalker.

The chances of getting a quality player from pick number 25 (our second pick) onwards is significantly less the quality of players from 10-20 as well.

You also have to look at the reasons he would be leaving Essendon for. Is it lack of opportunity? No! Is it because the team he is in won't be playing finals? No! Is it because he is a greedy prick? Yes!

I wouldn't give up my first draft pick and enough money to pay two decent defenders on him.

Bottom line is that we dont need him. We all know what we need.....a qulaity CHB or CHF, a KPP! Let's stop all this rubbish talk about bringing in non KPP's like Brown and now Solomon. They are not needed and for their asking price and for what we have to give up, it is pointless.

I dont think we should trade, we have never being big traders anyway and Im hoping that we can continue to move forward with the development of the youngsters already on our list.

Originally posted by jod23
Bottom line is that we dont need him. We all know what we need.....

I disagree...we do need a quality medium size defenders...ones that have a bit of pace and hardness also ones that can provide leadership to our younger group.

As far as trading for a young and quality player I am always for it. As long as we do not have to pay through the nose and depending on what we have to give up... IMO draft pick 11 is not too much.

What would I pay? I would say $300-$350k pa. Not sure but considering that average AFL wage is around $200k + and Solomon is above average player well then its probably not that much. I would not pay above that though as that would send a wrong message to the rest of the playing group.

As far as him being a "greedy prick" that is a big judgment call and a wrong one in my opinion. From what I hear its more about him wanting to be part of the leadership group within Essendon and coaching staff value other players more.

If we could get Solomon - he was tradeable and was willing to move interstate and play for us - I would certainly target him as we are crying out for defenders.

I can't see it happening:

a) I doubt he would want to move from Melbourne as I heard he's quite settled there.

b) The projected costs would be out of our budget. It could be a goer if he comes at $200,000 and we give him heaps of Hungry Jacks and SGIO ads to promote :)

I disagree...we do need a quality medium size defenders...ones that have a bit of pace and hardness also ones that can provide leadership to our younger group.

Yeah but wouldnt you rather use that number 11 pick on something we desperately need, like a quality KPP, whether it be forward or back. I think we have some pretty good medium size defenders. Green and Hunter can do the job and Collica can still provide an option. He was great in 02, but for some reason couldnt really get a gig in 03.

I think if we do any trades it should be to fix our immediate problems. Medium sized defenders is not our immediate problem IMO.

Originally posted by jod23
Yeah but wouldnt you rather use that number 11 pick on something we desperately need.

If there was a surefire KPP available, I would 100% agree with this comment. I do not however think there will be one available at #11 . In fact I think need to show faith in our current KPP more ie Lynch, MCDougal and Gasper at CHB and we may find that our KPP problems are solved. If on the otherhand we could trade for a proven KPP such as Brown (example only we do not have a chance in hell) I would say go after it as relentlessly as you can.

Solomon whilst not a key position player is a very good, better then any on our list except Wirra, small to medium size defender who can turn an attack into defence, alla Johnson in the GF. I definatly think that he is worth the trade.

One of the reasons why I am thinking this way, and please comment on this, is that we have a really great list of young players (yes most KPP have not stood up yet but most have talent and it takes time for them to mature, ie Gardiner) and IMO what we need is a few more mid 2's type player that are good in the crunch and can lead with example and this is what I think Solomon would provide for us.

Whilst watching the GF one thing really struck me. It was not just that Brisbane players were more talented or quicker but it was that they had more passion and commitment. They realised that a job had to be done and it did not matter what Collingwood was going to to they were going to do their job, ie Brown getting crunched and still throwing himself into a contest time after time.

Collingwood players lacked on field leaders despite Buckley and Fraser playing well. The players such as Wowooding (cannot spell) Cole and Shaw flinched and were found to be afraid of the contest. Solomon IMO would never do that he would get to the contest each and every time regardless of what was coming the other way and this is the reason why I value him so highly and this is the reason why I hope we get him.

Wow this ended up being an essay...it waws meant to be a one liner only....lol...sorry I got carried away
:confused:

no1bankteller : You are spot on he is jusy what we need.

You cant always address your deficientcies from draft selections, you also need to to look at what ready made players are available.

If they fill the brief trade hard to get them. IMO

So are you saying that our medium sized defenders take backwards steps or squib out of contests? Hunter has never taken a backward step, Collica has courage, Chick could play that C.Johnson type role off half back and you and I both know he never goes half hearted at the ball.

Look, Solomon is a very good player but at the price he would come at, it is not worth it. He is not a matchwinner and to be paying in the neighbourhood of 250, 300K for a solid medium sized defender, not to mention the quality player and draft pick we would have to give up is a little extreme IMO.

I dont think we need to trade. I believe that we have the cattle to do the job and we should only trade in the unlikely event that we can acquire a player in the mould of a Tredrea or Brown.

Jod23

Our current defenders are ok but they are not the toughest or the best.
Hunter: very couragous will develope into a great HBF
Green: trys hard lacks skill
Banfield: ageing
Morrison: ok when fit
Collica : ok when fit
Wirra: sensational
Chich: would be great Johnson type. But not playing there

We dont have a FB or CHB these positions must be developed from within,Lynch, Gasper,McDougall,Stacker etc PLEASE SOMEONE STAND UP.

The point is Solomon would assist in the development of a young CHB.
Solomon Lynch Hunter
Sounds like a good half back line.

So you propose we take draft pick 11. Ok look at our history of draft picks after #10

1997 #12 Jaxon Crabb (gone)
#13Callum Chambers (fringe player)
1998 #10 Brandon Hill ( gone)
1999 #11 Darren Glass. Ok but not there yet
2000 #3 Chriss Judd
# 5 Ashley Sampi Great year both under first 8

After the first six or so its a lottery.

Question what price do you think Chick is on 250 300 K plus .I would suggest around this mark.

Funny Western Australians are prepaired to pay that sort of money to get one of their own home but reluctant to spend that on a Vic.

We have a 2-3 year opportunity to take a flag, with our leadership group: Cousins, Gardiner, Fletcher, Jones, Wirra turn 28-29 in three to four years.

Dont you think if we traded Chambers and Wooden even Hansen (2003 fringe players) we would have 300 k plus for Solomom. I think so !!!

Our team was the highest scoring team in the 2003 H&A season.

The great teams are based on a great defence.

Brisbane 2001-2003, Essendon 2000-201, Kangaroos 96- 00
Dare I say West Coast 91-96.

We must sure up our backline before we can take the next step.

Only my thoughts but your comments welcome. I am sure they will come!!!