Dear Gazza...

Know how you're all feeling, but I can't stop thinking what commission Liam Pickering will earn over the next 5 years.
I reckon he has been most infleuntial player is this whole debarcle.

Footy lost it's soul today and the Jerry McGuire's of this world dictate the market and fate of their clients.

I think it's more of a Bob Sugar type deal.

We all thought Abletts word was as strong as oak but apparently it is not (about him not knowing as recent as yesterday).

Geelong were very swift in deleting him from the team list on their website! :)

Has anyone noticed he's been removed from the team list on the website?

Funnily enough, Harbrow is still listed on our website (along with our retirees) but Aker was removed almost as soon as he was sacked.

Good ol' Aker, he signed my copy of his book

look you will all move on
its seriously not that big of a deal
and you will all enjoy giving it too him next year

with or without Gabby u still have an amazing list of players and will be able to know free up some space to develop better players for the future

stop complaining its a fact of life in the footy world

with or without Gabby u still have an amazing list of players and will be able to know free up some space to develop better players for the future

First of all - don't come to our board and tell us how to feel.

Second - who the hell is Gabby?

WTF!?

Since when has this ever been a fact of life in AFL?

Far be it for a Sydney supporter with all the handouts and concessions they've had to tell a club's supporters who had none of that to not complain. :rolleyes:

Edit: Leave before bashing.

Liam pickering dont you dare step foot in our football club again.

Your name is mud.

You have no integrity ablett, i will be pulling down all my framed memorabilia of you tonight.

Ablett will not be able to step foot in geelong again. Talk about shitting in
your own backyard.

Welcome to the fray Mr Selwood.

sorry i meant Gary

but really you guys will be fine

hes gotta do whats best for his future and yes it stings for you loyal supporters and no one ever wants to see someone leave their club

but it does happen players often ask to be traded to different clubs
Gary hasnt signed a new contract for you guys so its off to the GC it happens

Dear Gary,

Although not a Geelong supporter, from the time I saw the image that deftly contrasted your uniquely shaped torso to that of your fathers in the mid-90's, I have watched you from afar with interest.

I watched as you helped Geelong rise to become the young team to challenge StKilda in the first half of last decade.

I watched as the club did everything right in protecting and sheltering you from an acutely interested media; both for you and your brother.

I watched the debate as to whether your performances elevated you and your Dad to be the best F&S combo in league history. At those times I considered the conglomerate to still be behind the Silvagni due; however, a few years after the debate began, you've put it well beyond any doubt.

I watched as you gave joy to Geelong fans that only comes from being a part of the Geelong family, a son of a club legend and potential legend in your own right. This romance adds to the pleasure your form brought.

I watched as you helped deliver a long overdue premiership to the Cats and I watched as you failed and then delivered again. You gave the club you've supported all your life some of its best ever years and helped demand the footy worlds respect for your club; something it had previously struggled with being "handbaggers" and "GF failures".

I pondered over how much your victory healed the pain of your father's losses.

I watched as so many undervalued and derided your performances, much as most grommets do with great players these days.

And now ... today I will watch as you shatter my belief in traditional football values and walk out on the club your father played for, the club you've won flags with, the club you've supported all your life; to go and get some more cash. From what I can see, it really is your sole motivation, which makes you the biggest merc in the history of the game.

I feel sorry for Geelong supporters and for the GFC. I hope that whatever you get out of all of this eventually helps you achieve success in the future. I know losing Hamill hurt more when everything we got for him turned up spuds.

enjoy your 30 pieces of silver judas.

those who kow me can assure you that ive always been a bartel/chapman man over Gaz, although he is a unique talent, being the son of the best ever opens alot of doors as you grow up - prefer the self made champs myself.

anyways, its really all about the ($$$) isnt it?
im sure on half the pay at geelong he would still be set up comfortably as all the sympathisers argue that Gaz has to look out for his future - i cant agree with them.

absolutely destroys the fabric of a club when all the guys around you have taken cuts and played for 'unders'.

be it ablett/thompson/ whoever are either with us or against us, i for one am happy to see anyone leave who is not 100% commited.

embrace change, it is a new opportunity, if nothing changes nothing changes and its time to write the next chapter in GFC history.

(ps: i would miss the skilled away games if i were you gaz, karma has got a painful hit with your name all over it)

Dear Gary,

Although not a Geelong supporter, from the time I saw the image that deftly contrasted your uniquely shaped torso to that of your fathers in the mid-90's, I have watched you from afar with interest.

I watched as you helped Geelong rise to become the young team to challenge StKilda in the first half of last decade.

I watched as the club did everything right in protecting and sheltering you from an acutely interested media; both for you and your brother.

I watched the debate as to whether your performances elevated you and your Dad to be the best F&S combo in league history. At those times I considered the conglomerate to still be behind the Silvagni due; however, a few years after the debate began, you've put it well beyond any doubt.

I watched as you gave joy to Geelong fans that only comes from being a part of the Geelong family, a son of a club legend and potential legend in your own right. This romance adds to the pleasure your form brought.

I watched as you helped deliver a long overdue premiership to the Cats and I watched as you failed and then delivered again. You gave the club you've supported all your life some of its best ever years and helped demand the footy worlds respect for your club; something it had previously struggled with being "handbaggers" and "GF failures".

I pondered over how much your victory healed the pain of your father's losses.

I watched as so many undervalued and derided your performances, much as most grommets do with great players these days.

And now ... today I will watch as you shatter my belief in traditional football values and walk out on the club your father played for, the club you've won flags with, the club you've supported all your life; to go and get some more cash. From what I can see, it really is your sole motivation, which makes you the biggest merc in the history of the game.

I feel sorry for Geelong supporters and for the GFC. I hope that whatever you get out of all of this eventually helps you achieve success in the future. I know losing Hamill hurt more when everything we got for him turned up spuds.

Post Of The Year!

Can we please sticky this post Mods, it pretty much describes how everyone feels!

In regards to Monkey Kings post. He only went to your club through a father son pick?

Just a few points I'd like to make ...

Not my club mate. I'm a Blues fan through and through.

I never said Ablett owed anyone anything.

It matters little how Ablett got to Geelong. Same with Hamill coming to the Blues at pick 76. Often those that come cheapest, are loved most.

Football is an emotional game.

Some are driven more by money than others.

I'd bet if you and I were standing face to face you wouldn't venture to tell me to "harden up"; for which reason I apply an inverse value to the suggestion.

I remember when Aaron Hammill left for St Kilda for more money, felt pretty dirty so can't imagine how bad it is for Geelong people with Ablett going.

Your club is bigger than one individual, you still have quality players and some great youngsters coming through, this should allow for Varcoe to play more in the midfield and perhaps give a youngster like Christensen a chance to break through into the senior team.

I'm pretty shattered.

I don't support Geelong but hate the fact that a new club with the AFL on their side publicly stated their intentions to use a gigantic load of cash to lure the greatest player in the league, a player whose father was a star for the club he played for, to their new team. It's shit.

The fact that he said he only made up his mind yesterday is utter bull. Treating supporters like idiots is what he and Pickering have done. Good luck up there, hope you don't get a kick.