emuboy

South Fremantle, Sturt
As the world changes, so do the needs of the labour market. Which jobs, trades and occupations are dying out or are dead? So I thought of are:

1. COOPER - The fact that the surname COOPER is very common indicates that the trade of a cooper, or barrel-maker, was once a very widespread one. Now it is a very rare trade.

2 CANDLE-STICK MAKER - A childrens rhyme from many years ago makes mention of "the butcher, the baker and the candle-stick maker". But while the butcher and baker would have few problems finding gainful employment, one feels that the candle-stick maker might find himself searching the newspaper employment section, the Centrelink jobs boards and Seek.Com for a suitable position in vain.

3 MILKMAN - The sight of the milkman doing his early morning rounds is an image that now only exists in old photographs, and in the memories of those born before about 1980. Possibly some country towns still have milkmen (I personally don't know of any), but I doubt you would see one in any of the major cities.

4 TV REPAIRMEN - While electrical repairers are always required, I say it would be difficult to find a TV repairman who would visit one's house to make repairs, when this was the norm 30 plus years ago. On the subject of people visiting houses because of televisions, does anyone know if they still have TV Detector Men in England?

5 PAGING SERVICE OPERATOR - Back in the early-mid 1990s, I knew quite a few girls who worked for Paging Services, frequently as temps or for summer jobs. But ask anyone under 25 about the topic now, and I doubt that many would know what a paging service was.

Which other jobs can you think of that are going or have gone the way of the dodo and the dinosaurs?

My best mate from High School's Dad is a qualified BOOK BINDER.

Needless to say he drives trucks these days.
Lol, I work for a Print Finisher/Book Binder. Times are a bit tough I must admit.

2 CANDLE-STICK MAKER - A childrens rhyme from many years ago makes mention of "the butcher, the baker and the candle-stick maker". But while the butcher and baker would have few problems finding gainful employment, one feels that the candle-stick maker might find himself searching the newspaper employment section, the Centrelink jobs boards and Seek.Com for a suitable position in vain.

The smart ones went into either making light-globes or lighting stores.

As the world changes, so do the needs of the labour market. Which jobs, trades and occupations are dying out or are dead? So I thought of are:

5 PAGING SERVICE OPERATOR - Back in the early-mid 1990s, I knew quite a few girls who worked for Paging Services, frequently as temps or for summer jobs. But ask anyone under 25 about the topic now, and I doubt that many would know what a paging service was.

Which other jobs can you think of that are going or have gone the way of the dodo and the dinosaurs?

Paging services are still abundant in the medical industry.

1. COOPER - The fact that the surname COOPER is very common indicates that the trade of a cooper, or barrel-maker, was once a very widespread one. Now it is a very rare trade.

I have to disagree with you on this one. There will be always be a need for coopers as long people are producing wine and there are still plenty of cooper's around.

Just look at the price of new french oak barrells these days, around $1800 or American oak barrells are aroun $500.

A good cooper can work wonder's with used barrels and are worth their weight in gold

Yeah I found myself requiring the services of Cooper's on the weekend.

I prefer the Sparkling Ale over the Pale, but happy with either really. :thumbsu:

It's a tough predicament to be in when having to choose either the sparkling or the pale.
I'm in your corner, the Sparkling's are magnificent especially when accompanied by test cricket

4 TV REPAIRMEN - While electrical repairers are always required, I say it would be difficult to find a TV repairman who would visit one's house to make repairs, when this was the norm 30 plus years ago. On the subject of people visiting houses because of televisions, does anyone know if they still have TV Detector Men in England?

Yes, they still do definately check for unlicensed TV's in the UK. And there must be heaps, becuase the fee is up too 145 quid ($245 AUD!!!) As a typical Australian living like a tight arse in the UK trying to make ends meat, the result of this was - friends NEVER answer the door to just a knock. OR, when you hear a knock, everybody shuts up and pretends there is no one there. EVERYONE fears the TV license man coming to get them. You gotta ring your mates mobile to get let in, else they are all hiding and not making a sound.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-468466/The-new-TV-detector-reach-home.html

The barber who does the shave with the razor. So many 'Barbers' these days will cut the hair, but wont pull our the razor for the beard / neck shave!
The kid who sells newspapers on the street corner.
Outside of China and SE Asia, the tailor and the Seamstress (my Swiss Grandparents)

And Coopers Sparkling for me, but geez you've got to be careful..... They're lethal! Definately stick to Pales if Im having a session.

I hope and pray the local friendly butcher never makes it too this list.
68-television-detector.jpg

Milkos and newspaper deliverymen are still relatively common as far as I can tell - the latter abundant. I use both.

Milliners have been taking a beating for decades - god knows how they make enough money out of racing season to live on. It's also impossible to find a good cobbler these days; with the way shoe designs are now there's not enough demand to sustain many.

Lol, I work for a Print Finisher/Book Binder. Times are a bit tough I must admit.

His claim to fame was that he bound some books fin leather for the Queen's Jubilee or something.

I saw some of his leather work, it was beautiful but you don't see books liek that for sale these days.

I guess in this form it's a dying art(?)

I remember milkman still being around 10 or so years ago in Tassie. Despite Mum telling them 2 or 3 times we weren't receiving a bill for it they kept develering it for free for 12 months. That's probably why they are out of business. That and global warming. I don't think leaving it on your doorstep would work out so well these days.

The mens hairdresser I go to pulls the razor out and gives you a quick shave, back and sides, on top of a haircut. I never had this done before moving to Melbourne. You get a bit uneasy when the old guy does it but.....

I remember milkman still being around 10 or so years ago in Tassie. Despite Mum telling them 2 or 3 times we weren't receiving a bill for it they kept develering it for free for 12 months. That's probably why they are out of business. That and global warming. I don't think leaving it on your doorstep would work out so well these days.

The old dog kept delivering for free hey?

You know those stories about milkmans.

Was your old lady getting milk from the same bloke 9 months before you were born?

Wine makers still need coopers

Yes, they still do definately check for unlicensed TV's in the UK. And there must be heaps, becuase the fee is up too 145 quid ($245 AUD!!!) As a typical Australian living like a tight arse in the UK trying to make ends meat, the result of this was - friends NEVER answer the door to just a knock. OR, when you hear a knock, everybody shuts up and pretends there is no one there. EVERYONE fears the TV license man coming to get them. You gotta ring your mates mobile to get let in, else they are all hiding and not making a sound.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-468466/The-new-TV-detector-reach-home.html

68-television-detector.jpg

Did you ever see that episode of The Young Ones, where the dastardly TV Detector Man arrived at the door? That was one of the funniest things I have ever seen, especially when Rick broke down in tears and wrote a poem to protest his innocence. I don't know who played the TV Detector Man, but he is one of the best comedians I have seen.