Delistable, tradeable, untouchable (Long)

Unfortunately, now that the end of the season has arrived, it's time to start assessing our list for next season. I will copy our full list to allow people to post their thoughts or post their own delistables, tradeables and untouchables:

Peter Bell: Untouchable; his leadership to our side is invaluable and he has been our best player this year, as well as putting his body on the line to get the boys up against the Crows and Lions.

Andrew Browne: Tradeable; impressed me against Melbourne last year and despite missing a few simple goals early in the year, he has a good football brain, is quick and will hopefully step up next year. He has also been one of Claremont's best players this season, which will be playing finals in the WAFL. Would rather not see him leave, but if the right deal came along, it should be considered.

Matthew Carr: Untouchable; he adds a new dimension to our midfield, being capable of negating a quality player or being damaging in his own right. He is extremely fit, is a superb kick on both sides and is capable overhead. The only problem I have is that he sometimes seems to be 'cruising', where it seems as if he isn't giving his 100%. His failed/half-hearted attempt to touch the ball from Haynes' kicked when it bounced over the line is a prime example of this.

Troy Cook: Untouchable; last season, I would have labelled him as tradeable simply due to his poor foot skills. However, his field and goal kicking has improved immensely this year and he adds vital toughness and grunt to our midfield, being our leading tackler over the past few seasons. If he maintains his kicking up to the standard it is at the moment, I would be reluctant to trade him.

Trent Croad: Tradeable; he has really underperformed this season at CHF after kicking 42 goals as a leading FF last year, and whilst his chasing and second efforts in the forward line are good, he needs to be able to read the play better. Despite the athlete he is, I doubt whether we would get much for him, in which case I would be inclined to persist with him.

Ryan Crowley: Tradeable; haven't seen much of him this season, but he is quick midfielder who is strong overhead, in a similar mould to Andrew Embley. Needs to continue to play well for Subiaco and make the most of his opportunities to crack our 22 for next season.

Ben Cunningham: Delistable; I've never been a fan of Ritchie. He has no poise and his disposal skills are poor, particularly on his right foot.

Brett Doswell: Tradeable.

Greg Edgecumbe: Tradeable; he has been in the best players for Peel Thunder this year before injuring his knee, and whilst I would be disappointed to see him leave, if the right deal came along we should consider it. He is extremely quick, athletic and uses the ball well. Should aim to crack our 22 for next season.

Jeff Farmer: Tradeable; as much as it pains me to say it, I believe we should seriously considering trading the Wiz if the right offer came along. He has been very good for us in several games this season, particularly against Adelaide, Collingwood, Melbourne, Sydney and WC; and can provide a spark in the forward line by being very dangerous in the one-on-one contests. However, he was considered to be our 'x-factor' in the finals series but failed to delivered. Needs to improve his output for next season.

Antoni Grover: Untouchable; he provides us with great run from defence and is also capable of negating a small-medium sized forward. Needs to improve his kicking at full pace for next season, but I don't believe he should be traded.

Robert Haddrill: Untouchable; one of our shining lights for this season, he has been rock solid in defence and has shut down many key forwards from the opposition. He is not the athletic defender, but he is old-fashioned in the way he reads the play and the flight of the ball very well. He is extremely strong overhead and won't give his opponent an inch.

Daniel Haines: Tradeable, I really expected Haines to step up this season, but despite the game against Sydney, he has failed to deliver. He has great poise, courage and superb vision but must crack the 22 next season, otherwise I believe his time may be up.

Paul Hasleby: Untouchable; I would go as far as saying that next to Pavlich, Hase would be the last player on our list I would trade. He is a natural footballer with a superb football brain and sublime skills by hand and foot. He is also good overhead and has worked hard to improve his pace and fitness over the last couple of pre-seasons. His form at home has been great, but his aim should be to improve his away form next season and continue to play well in big games.

Roger Hayden: Untouchable; he has been one of our best players this season and has been our best small defender. His pace and confidence overhead has been a delight to watch.

Des Headland: Untouchable; many may consider Dessy's season to be disappointing, but he has burnt the opposition in several games this year, particularly in the early game against Essendon against and St Kilda. Needs to learn to deal with opposition taggers and must aim to be far more consistent next season.

Anthony Jones: Delistable; time is up for Jonesy. I'd expect him to announce his retirement soon.

Steven Koops: Tradeable; his season was a bitter disappointment and a shadow of 2002 where he was one of our better players.

Justin Longmuir: Tradeable; I've been really disappointed with his season this year. He took a fair amount of time to get into some form at the start of the year, which was understandable considering his knee injury, but his routine when kicking for goal needs a lot of improvement. I also thought his marking in one-on-one contests was his strength, but he was outmuscled too often on Friday night, meaning he still needs to spend extra time in the gym.

Troy Longmuir: Tradeable; played some good games for us towards the end of the season, but he turns 25 next year and needs to be more consistent throughout the whole season.

Shaun McManus: Untouchable; if everyone played with the heart and intensity of Macca, we would win at least 80% of our games. His foot skills have really improved and despite enduring two knee reconstructions, is very quick, and deserves to be a part of what will (hopefully) be successful times ahead.

Luke McPharlin: Untouchable; our most athletic defender, capable of playing on a wide range of key forwards, there is no way I'd trade McPharlin unless we got something special in return. His last two seasons have been without a pre-season, so hopefully he will have a full pre-season this year and be injury free.

Paul Medhurst: Untouchable; our leading goal kicker for 2003, Medhurst is strong overhead and extremely quick at ground level, making him tough to match up on. Needs to be more consistent throughout whole the season.

Shane Parker: Untouchable; he may only have two or three seasons left in him, but he sticks to his opponent like a glove and is still a vital part of the squad. Like McManus, he deserves to be a part of our sucess.

Matthew Pavlich: Untouchable; I think Connolly has the long term view of playing Pav as a half forward/midfielder in the Hird mould when our midfield is strong enough to perform without him. I wouldn't trade Pavlich for any other player in the league.

Graham Polak: Untouchable; When his field kicking and set shot kicking improves, he will be played as a permanent CHF. Our forward struture needs improving and next season he will hopefully provide a target for us at CHF. To be honest, I was really hoping he would kick a goal last night to get the 'monkey' off his back. But as his strength/body weight, kicking and mobility improves to complement his superior marking ability, he will be one of the best CHFs in the league.

Aaron Sandilands: 211 centimetred giants with the mobility similar to that of a midfielder and ability to gather the ball cleanly at ground level don't come around too often. I believe he just needs to work on directing his taps to our players. Last night he had 41 (yes, forty-one) hitouts but we lost most of the clearances. If his overhead marking and kicking improved even more, he will be an invaluable trump card ruckman.

Byron Schammer: Untouchable; expect Schammer to step up to be one of our elite midfielders next year. He is in the Bell/Crawford mould and is equally adept with both feet.

Andrew Siegert: Tradeable; still not convinced that he can
cut it at the highest level.

Troy Simmonds: Untouchable; whilst some may say his 2003 season has not been as good as 2002, he is very valuable in giving us flexibilty as a leaping ruckman pushing forward. He is one of the quickest at the club off the mark (running in a straight line), has an extremely high vertical leap and is strong overhead. I'd be reluctant to trade him.

Scott Thornton: Tradeable; whilst he has shown a lot in the games I have seen him play, he does not quite qualify to be an 'untouchable' as yet. He is very quick and good overhead, the only query is that he sometimes appears to be too 'lazy' with his disposal. He played well on Shaun Burgoyne against Port Adelaide and on Staker and Wirrpunda in the derby, as well as playing on Cupido for part of last nights game.

Luke Toia: Delistable; time is up.

James Walker: Tradeable; whilst he is having a relatively good year, if the right offer came along, we should seriously consider it. He possesses great leg speed and is good at shutting down an opponent, but his disposal could still be better.

Clive Waterhouse: Tradeable; I believe injuries has had the better of him and he only has one or two years remaining. No other club would be interested, but he does not deserve to be delisted as yet.

Dion Woods: Untouchable; one of our best players for the year, possessed with lightning pace and a raking left foot kick, there is no way we should trade him.

*Ben Colveary: Worth persisting.

*Steven Dodd: Worth persisting; has played well for the Sharks this season.

*Daniel Gilmore: Worth persisting.

*Joshua Head: Worth persisting.

*Ricky Mott: Delistable; far too slow and immobile to be one the elite ruckman in the league IMO, and his skills are dwarfed by the Ogre.

*Luke Webster: Worth persisting; his senior games for Freo this season, his performance in the WAFL v SANFL state game and his game on Friday night prove that he is well worth hanging onto.

*Rookie - classified as 'worth persisting' or 'delistable'.

I pretty much agree with *most* of them except for Farmer and the Longmuirs. Farmer has an obvious passion for Fremantle, which is one of the things that has really helped the club this year.

I really believe Farmer will be determined to be 100% fit next year and help get us back to the finals again.

I think the Longmuirs still have something to offer.

We need Croad for the ladies...don't forget about us!! :)

Originally posted by FreoGirl
I pretty much agree with *most* of them except for Farmer and the Longmuirs. Farmer has an obvious passion for Fremantle, which is one of the things that has really helped the club this year.

I really believe Farmer will be determined to be 100% fit next year and help get us back to the finals again.

I think the Longmuirs still have something to offer.

We need Croad for the ladies...don't forget about us!! :)

Fair enough, but understand that 'tradeable' doesn't necessarily mean I'd like to get rid of the player, just that we should seriously consider trading him if the right offer came along.

And yes, Croad is valuable in 'promoting' the club, but if you want to appear on billboards, in advertisements, on television shows etc, then you have to be playing good footy, and Croad isn't doing that at the moment.

just out of curiosity, what would you expect from melb in return for them to get croad or justin longmuir?

is there any way we could get polak off you somehow?

brad green & pick 5 for polak
would that work?

Originally posted by dees_best
just out of curiosity, what would you expect from melb in return for them to get croad or justin longmuir?

We'd probably trade Croad to Melbourne if it involved bringing one Steven Armstrong back home.

is there any way we could get polak off you somehow?

Not a hope in hell. ;)

Originally posted by Deestroy
It won't.
Exactly.

Interested in Justin Longmuir, Jeff Farmer and Trent Croad to a lesser extent.

I would give up:

Pick 5 and Green for Longmuir and 3rd round.
Matthew Whelan and 4th round for Farmer and 2nd round.
Pick 21 and Williams for Croad.

Originally posted by lamby29
Pick 5 and Green for Longmuir and 3rd round.
Longmuir is fast becoming the next Nathan Thompson. Rated by most for god knows what. Soft as butter forward who can't do **** in the ruck, wouldn't trade even just Green for him.

Matthew Whelan and 4th round for Farmer and 2nd round.
We could do worse than pick Farmer up, but he is an extremely selfish sook on the field. Would rather get Vardy right than trade for Farmer

Pick 21 and Williams for Croad.
Only trade I would consider out of the lot, and Freo wouldn't touch it.

Talk of trade for Farmer is ridiculous.

One person I am increasingly ****ed off with is J Lo
I reckon if we can unload him and say a Cunningham to Richmond for Richardson that would be good .

I know Richardson has his detractors but I rate him as a good player who dont accept mediocrity from his team mates.
How cut up would most defenses be to see a Pav/Richo combo up forward ???

Originally posted by Freo Hitman
One person I am increasingly ****ed off with is J Lo
I reckon if we can unload him and say a Cunningham to Richmond for Richardson that would be good .

I know Richardson has his detractors but I rate him as a good player who dont accept mediocrity from his team mates.
How cut up would most defenses be to see a Pav/Richo combo up forward ???
I'm one of few Richmond supporters who would like Richo to stay but I reckon there is a good chance he'll end up being traded. He gets a lot of stick but he still ended up number 3 in the league in marks despite missing a number of games and also led the comp in contested marks.
If he does go i'd look at the J Lo trade if maybe a draft pick is chucked in instead of Cunnigham.

I reckon we should keep Andrew Browne, hopefully with a good preseason he could get some chances early next year.

As for trades, the only blokes who could fetch something could be Thornton, Siegert and Koops. Clive wouldn't get us anything and noone would take Croad due to the big money he is on. AJ will probably follow in the footsteps of Toia and retire and Cunningham will be delisted.

I guess we also have to look to the draft as well. From last years draftees, Shammer looks good and from what I've seen of Edgecumbe he should have a future at the club. Crowley and Doswell have struggled for most of this year and unless they show a bit in the WAFL they could be in a bit of trouble. Hopefully they will get a go in the London game.

Of the rookie listed players, Webster will be promoted, while Josh Head, Ricky Mott and Ben Colreavy aren't up to it and will probably be dropped off. While Daniel Gilmore hasn't been as good this year, I think he deserves to stay on the Rookie List.

With the Eagles getting the pick before us in the draft, I think they will either go for Ray (if he's still around) or Matt Moody. That would leave us to either go for a decent player from interstate or draft Jacob Surjan. With our second pick we should probably try and sure up our midfield stocks and go for Jovanovic if we can get him. Then I think for the sake of getting a bigger midfielder we should use our third round pick to draft Brett Peake under the father son rule. Chidlow could also be looked at, but I think he will go to the eagles.

No one will touch Farmer. He won't move interstate and Jeff is still under (a hefty) contract. Eagles won't want him with Sampi and Matera. I think Jeff is of value with a reduced contract. It only cost us Black to get him so we didn't get burnt in acquiring him. In future years he'll do ok.

Croad is definitely trade bait. he would have been worth more last year but given his absence in the last two games (I think he trained both weeks) me thinks it might be best for club and player if Trent went home.

T Lo to the Eagles might work but it would have to be a good trade. Freo getting burnt by the toasters in a trade looks bad. T Lo does have a bit to offer and is the kind of player that would do ok with a change of scenery. Early 2nd rounder for T Lo maybe?

Wouldn't mind hearing more about Moody...? Anybody?

Players like Justin Longmuir might have had a lean season and been very dissapointing, but there's no way we would trade him based on 10 weeks. We all know he's talented and he only turned 22 this year- he's safe... as are the majority of our list. If we traded everyone that has a dissapointing season, we would be left with no-one in 5 years. Plus his value would be down at the minute. The last thing you want is players like him turning into very good players at other clubs. I can't see us making many trades at all, if any.

The only players that might be traded IMO are:

T. Longmuir
Thornton
Koops
Croad
Walker
Siegert

I'd rather keep most of them though.

Deslisted/retired:

Cunningham
Toia (retired)
Jones (retired)

Originally posted by Kenny_01
The only players that might be traded IMO are:

T. Longmuir
Thornton
Koops
Croad
Walker
Siegert

Would hate to see Walker traded. He deserves the success that is coming as he's put in the hard yards during the lean times.
Wouldn't want to see T-Lo or Koops go as they are good "next in line" players to cover injuries. Having said that, for the right deal, if they could get a better go at another club then "bye bye"...:(

But I agree what you said about J-Lo Kenny... my opinion of him has definitely lowered over the second half of the season. Has done very little since the game v Melb (although with that return of 0.7, even if he wasn't kicking straight, at least he was getting his hands on it and having a shot....:o ), but if we traded him, there's no doubt he'd turn it on and probably win a bloody Coleman Medal for someone else....

Originally posted by FreoDocker
With the Eagles getting the pick before us in the draft, I think they will either go for Ray (if he's still around) or Matt Moody. That would leave us to either go for a decent player from interstate or draft Jacob Surjan. With our second pick we should probably try and sure up our midfield stocks and go for Jovanovic if we can get him. Then I think for the sake of getting a bigger midfielder we should use our third round pick to draft Brett Peake under the father son rule. Chidlow could also be looked at, but I think he will go to the eagles.

I think we would be more reluctant to draft players from interstate than the Eagles.

After last seasons draft, Connolly said he'd choose the local boy over the interstate kid most of the time; whereas in 2001, when the talent from WA was relatively strong, the Eagles had no hesitation in selecting interstate players such as Judd and Hansen. Conversely, every player we selected in 2001 (Polak, Browne and Medhurst) were all from Western Australia.

With our first natural pick being pick 12, I wouldn't give us much of a chance to select Ray, but hopefully Moody will still be around by then, who was rated by many as a potential top 3 pick last year.

Originally posted by Kenny_01
Players like Justin Longmuir might have had a lean season and been very dissapointing, but there's no way we would trade him based on 10 weeks. We all know he's talented and he only turned 22 this year- he's safe... as are the majority of our list. If we traded everyone that has a dissapointing season, we would be left with no-one in 5 years. Plus his value would be down at the minute. The last thing you want is players like him turning into very good players at other clubs. I can't see us making many trades at all, if any.

Thank you for some sanity Kenny. Longmuir has had a bad 2nd half of the season, his first half was pretty good, and you don't value a guy at what he did in half a season, which is what most clubs will do and we'll end up getting not much for a player that could be a 60 or 70 goal a year key forward, or even more if we start getting the ball out of the middle instead of always getting it in the backline after the opposition wins it in the centre.

I agree that I can't see us making too many trades, but like most other clubs it depends on what offers we get. We might end up offloading Croad for something like a 2nd round draft pick due to his high salary.

Agree 199% with Kenny. Everbody is forgetting that J Lo did his knee and interrupted his preseason which has obviously effected him the longer the season has gone. We has a good squad that just needs to be "topped up" with a couple of robust midfielders and we have foud one internally in Webster and possibly another with young Bomber Peake (who has averaged better than 5 tackles a game this year). The most important thing is to keep basically the same players playing together so as they instinctivly know each others game.

Bring on 2004.

Originally posted by |D_J^B_J|
I think we would be more reluctant to draft players from interstate than the Eagles.

After last seasons draft, Connolly said he'd choose the local boy over the interstate kid most of the time; whereas in 2001, when the talent from WA was relatively strong, the Eagles had no hesitation in selecting interstate players such as Judd and Hansen. Conversely, every player we selected in 2001 (Polak, Browne and Medhurst) were all from Western Australia.

With our first natural pick being pick 12, I wouldn't give us much of a chance to select Ray, but hopefully Moody will still be around by then, who was rated by many as a potential top 3 pick last year.

Yep exactly, I reckon we should go for the local talent in the draft this year. All the blokes I listed there are WA boys and rated pretty highly over here, so I would give them a go over interstate recruits. I'd also like to find out if any of them are actually Dockers supporters at the moment, it would be great to draft a good young bloke who had passion for the club before even being drafted by them.

Originally posted by FreoDocker
I'd also like to find out if any of them are actually Dockers supporters at the moment, it would be great to draft a good young bloke who had passion for the club before even being drafted by them.

I'm pretty sure I remember RooMatera claiming he knows Chidlow, Surjan, Jovanovic and Ray. Could be wrong though.

Very interested in Koops. How old is he? A straight swap for Digby Morrell maby?? Both seem capable at the level, but get limited opportunities, and are dropped. Diggers is similar to J. Lo, and will provide a marking option, a W.A. boy to.

Seigert is still young and would be surprised if you traded him. He would come quite cheap having not got much of a go this year, although was impressive last year, would provide a genuine marking midfield option as from memory he is much bigger than many think. Not smart enuff to play a BP as he did last year, not good enuff to crack it in ur midfield. Hand him over for a second round pick?

A lot of people are throwing Troy Longmuirs name up for trade. Is that because of personal opinion or because he looks to be out of flavour with the coach & selection commitee.

As an eagles supporters - i'd love to have him in the blue and gold.

Originally posted by Au_Blue#24
A lot of people are throwing Troy Longmuirs name up for trade. Is that because of personal opinion or because he looks to be out of flavour with the coach & selection commitee.

As an eagles supporters - i'd love to have him in the blue and gold.

I think T-Lo is very popular among the supporters, I think it's more the preception that he's getting jacked off with not getting a regular game. He burnt up the WAFL for 3 months before he got a shot, and even then was on the verge of being dropped each week - and in fact only came in as an emergency on 2 of those weeks.
So I think it's more that the supporters believe that he's almost ready to walk because he's out of favour.

Who would you be prepared to give, AuBlue24 (or other eagles supporters), to get T-Lo? Seriously - no bags of chips or Troy Wilsons will be considered...;)

Keep both the Longmuirs. If we get rid of them, the same thing will happen, just like McPhee, Sinclaire, Bell etc. They'll improve, they'll be awesome.