Bdiddy18

Me and a mate were chatting away over the weekend over whether or not you can be "delisted" while your contracted. I didn't believe you could, however he swore that cameron Thurley got a 2 year deal to go to the Kangaroos from Geelong and only lasted 1 year. can anyone shed some light?

Austin Lucy.

You can get delisted if you are still contracted but the club will still have to pay out a large amount of money.

yeah they gotta pay out a pretty big chunk of what's left on your contract.

and i'm 99% sure that this money is counted towards your total player payments even though the player is no longer on your list.

for that reason not too many players get delisted whilst under contract because the club is then just wasting valuable resources on nothing. you might as well see out the players contract and just maybe he'll turn good....

if the money paid out wasn't part of the total player payments i reckon we would've cut a fair few players before their contract finished over the years....

Matthew Capuano was delisted halfway through the season at St.Kilda. They would have had to pay out his contract, which is standard practice in any industry.

You can be delisted during a contract if both parties agree to terms.
In most cases the player does get paid out.

In Rodans case he was actually on a 3 year performance based contract after he done his knee. After the 2nd year obviously he was delisted.
The club didnt pay david rodan this year as his delisting had been based on his performances over the two years and they weren't satisfied and he was delisted.

Yep - was delisted & paid out with a year to run on his contract - and stayed on with our Tassie AFL affiliate.

Tex Walker at Collingwood had a year to run, but was delisted
Didn't he actually ask to be delisted because we were going to put him back on the rookie list?

Alan Obst was delisted by the Crows last year after only completing the first year of his contract. Never played a game.