Delistings

pjfairbairn

AFL Premiership Supporter, 2021
Hi all, stoked to be on here and reading opinions that are obviously based on a lot of knowledge of our great footy club. Just wondering on who people think will be delisted by the club?

I think Campbell, Newton, Johnston all look gone from the rookie list.

Warnock, McDonald, Bate, Dunn, Spencer, Maric, Wonna all strong chances to be delisted or traded too I would have thought?

While a lot of those players struggled in 2011, I would hope we keep the delistings to a minimum. It's no good freeing up 6 or 7 spots on the list if we need to restock on a compramised draft, especially when 2012 draft is going to be amazing.

A lot of these players will probably get another year.

Warnock and Scully are already gone. We only need 1 more from the seniors. Anyone from you list could take the 3rd spot.

Rookie list is always random. Juice has gotta go but Robbie C can stick around for another year, he's body held up once he started playing. I only saw Johnston play in the intraclub and he playred really well but failed to impress by all reports for the casey ressies.

Hi all, stoked to be on here and reading opinions that are obviously based on a lot of knowledge of our great footy club. Just wondering on who people think will be delisted by the club?

I think Campbell, Newton, Johnston all look gone from the rookie list.

Warnock, McDonald, Bate, Dunn, Spencer, Maric, Wonna all strong chances to be delisted or traded too I would have thought?

futurama%20fry.jpg

Are you sure you've been reading much here? :p

There's another thread on this, but I think a lot depends on trade week. Newton surely gone, Campbell at risk though I'd keep him so he can keep mentoring Gawn, and Johnston probably in strife too.

One of Maric, MacDonald and Dunn will be chopped if we don't trade anyone else away, have nfi which one though.

Spencil is contracted for next year.

Spencil is an endangered species for sure, maybe he will be delisted and re-drafted to the rookie list? What are the regulations around that?

Just trade him to any club that will take him. We can't really delist him as he has a contract with the club so send him somewhere, for anything, if we can. If not then it's VFL city until the end of 2012.

Surely Melbourne wouldn't offload Spencil coming off a knee reco? As much as I don't really rate him that would be cruel and unfair.

Newton HAS to go.

Rubbish. Injury or no injury he is not part of our plans. The ONLY reason he stays is because he is under contract and if we DO offload him then he is at least at another club.

Rookie list him

He is obviously not in our plans - behind Martin, Jamar and Gawn in the pecking order. There is no room for sentiment in footy, and you may well see similar 'cruel' treatment dished out to Wona as well unfortunately... If there is any way to get rid of him, we should

There is no way known they are going to delist Spencer. A 22 year old Ruckman who has got games ahead of schedule so looks like a spud and you want to offload him? By the time he is 25 and hitting his prime Jamar will be on the way out and stefi wont be far off 30 either!!

We are all screaming out for a small forward who tackles and can kick crumbing goals. Pre injury and some crap stuff that has happened in his personal life this is the exact role Wona played. He'll be 23 next year so still a lot of footy infront of him and at his best is AFL quality yet we all want to get rid of him now??

Glad all these posters weren't running the Footy department when Jamar was a spud! or when Sylvia couldn't get a kick? Or maybe when Moloney had OP? Martin was kicking the dew of the grass with the Resi's!!

Just give the kids some time and look at some of the 25-26 yr olds on the list with no upside first!

No point delisting anyone until after Trade Week. You never know who might want one of our players we are looking to get rid of.

He is obviously not in our plans - behind Martin, Jamar and Gawn in the pecking order. There is no room for sentiment in footy, and you may well see similar 'cruel' treatment dished out to Wona as well unfortunately... If there is any way to get rid of him, we should

I agree to an extent but i think if your overly pragmatic it can have negative effects on the playing group. I'm not saying the club should pander to the players but you don't want them disillusioned with the club. Especially if your planning on keeping them around in the future. We would have delisted Max Bailey in a heartbeat, i reckon the Hawks persisting has done wonders for them. Also if you take that approach you cant have any complaints when Scully situations arise. It's a two way street.

What about Jack Fitzpatrick, I cant see him becoming a regular in our best 22 ever.

As a forward he is similar to Watts and Cook and they are rated higher than him, we need a crash and bash type forward and he is not that.

As a ruckman he is behind Jamar, Martin and Gawn who is our main long term prospect and for next year we have Spencer under contract in case we get desprate through injury.

I would give him a go on the rookie list as he could replace Newton as the key forward/ruckman on there.

What about Jack Fitzpatrick, I cant see him becoming a regular in our best 22 ever.

As a forward he is similar to Watts and Cook and they are rated higher than him, we need a crash and bash type forward and he is not that.

As a ruckman he is behind Jamar, Martin and Gawn who is our main long term prospect and for next year we have Spencer under contract in case we get desprate through injury.

I would give him a go on the rookie list as he could replace Newton as the key forward/ruckman on there.

Mate, he's only 20 give him a chance before you demote him.

I know he's only 20 but we have other young players that play very similar to him and better imo, not everyone drafted makes it and I don't think he will, as he is still young i would give him another crack on the rookie list.

Fair enough, i don't agree though. Its way too early to tell if he will make it. He's a 200cm 20 year old who has played one game. How could anyone know? The big guys take forever to come good, even Sandilands took time. People were writing off Blease on here before he'd even played! Plus I would say pretty much nobody wanted Stef Martin on our list this time last year...

I know he's only 20 but we have other young players that play very similar to him and better imo, not everyone drafted makes it and I don't think he will, as he is still young i would give him another crack on the rookie list.
I agree. Just because someone is young and tall doesn't mean that you can't make an assessment as to whether they'll make it at AFL level. The same applies to Spencer.

IMO Spencer will become another Mark Blake at best, whilst Fitzpatrick will never become an adequate key forward. If either was thrown up for trade, I'd doubt that there'd be too much interest.

I agree. Just because someone is young and tall doesn't mean that you can't make an assessment as to whether they'll make it at AFL level. The same applies to Spencer.

IMO Spencer will become another Mark Blake at best, whilst Fitzpatrick will never become an adequate key forward. If either was thrown up for trade, I'd doubt that there'd be too much interest.

Well if you guys were making the calls we probably wouldn't have Jamar right now. People say when he walked into the club he was one of the worst players they had ever seen at an elite level.

There is no way known they are going to delist Spencer. A 22 year old Ruckman who has got games ahead of schedule so looks like a spud and you want to offload him? By the time he is 25 and hitting his prime Jamar will be on the way out and stefi wont be far off 30 either!!

We are all screaming out for a small forward who tackles and can kick crumbing goals. Pre injury and some crap stuff that has happened in his personal life this is the exact role Wona played. He'll be 23 next year so still a lot of footy infront of him and at his best is AFL quality yet we all want to get rid of him now??

Glad all these posters weren't running the Footy department when Jamar was a spud! or when Sylvia couldn't get a kick? Or maybe when Moloney had OP? Martin was kicking the dew of the grass with the Resi's!!

Just give the kids some time and look at some of the 25-26 yr olds on the list with no upside first!

Mate the difference wit Spencer is he is a full blown hack.. at least jamar could always make nd run nd kick nd jump, Spencer is only tall, can not kick to save himself nd as far as I'm concerned has shown nothing.. Gawk is guna be a gun and were better off moving Spencer on nd looking at another option.. we have 6 ruckmen on our list in jamar, Martin gawn Fitzpatrick campbell nd Spencer..

Fair enough, i don't agree though. Its way too early to tell if he will make it. He's a 200cm 20 year old who has played one game. How could anyone know? The big guys take forever to come good, even Sandilands took time. People were writing off Blease on here before he'd even played! Plus I would say pretty much nobody wanted Stef Martin on our list this time last year...

I would love for Jack to prove me wrong and yes i know big guys tend to take a bit longer to develop but also its hard to find a decent big guy, there aren't many, clubs tend to draft more big guys than they need in the hope of landing one that will make it but most do not and i just dont think jack will, but if he stays i would love for him to prove me wrong.

surely Spencer goes.. he is a complete sanga nd I hate having him on our list.. He cannot play football.. plus warnock nd scully nd I rekon Aussie is in a fair bit of trouble.. thats 4 spots plus newton nd Johnston on the rookie list..

Yeah we should have de-listed Jamar at 21....

Mate the difference wit Spencer is he is a full blown hack.. at least jamar could always make nd run nd kick nd jump, Spencer is only tall, can not kick to save himself nd as far as I'm concerned has shown nothing.. Gawk is guna be a gun and were better off moving Spencer on nd looking at another option.. we have 6 ruckmen on our list in jamar, Martin gawn Fitzpatrick campbell nd Spencer..

You do realise at the same age Jamar played 3 games for 4 kicks and Seven Marks! We couldn't even tell if he could kick! And if you are old enough to remember we use to scream from the stands not for him to kick cause there was a 99.9% chance of a turnover!!!!

He still isn't the worlds greatest kick!!

Sandi debuted at 20 and ave'd a touch over 7 possessions a game
Cox Debuted at 19 at a touch over 7 possessions a game
Spencer at 18 with over 7 possessions a game.

Last two years have been wreaked with injury! Apart from Kruzer who is a freak no ruckmen come in straight away with elite skills! Geez it is rumoured that they wanted to delist Cox the first day of preseason training cause he ran like he was missing a foot and could only barely finish the 3km trial!!!

Patience with the big guys!

You do realise at the same age Jamar played 3 games for 4 kicks and Seven Marks! We couldn't even tell if he could kick! And if you are old enough to remember we use to scream from the stands not for him to kick cause there was a 99.9% chance of a turnover!!!!

He still isn't the worlds greatest kick!!

Sandi debuted at 20 and ave'd a touch over 7 possessions a game
Cox Debuted at 19 at a touch over 7 possessions a game
Spencer at 18 with over 7 possessions a game.

Last two years have been wreaked with injury! Apart from Kruzer who is a freak no ruckmen come in straight away with elite skills! Geez it is rumoured that they wanted to delist Cox the first day of preseason training cause he ran like he was missing a foot and could only barely finish the 3km trial!!!

Patience with the big guys!

Yeh mate I'm old enough I remember watching Gary nd the ox destroy the dogs in '94.. awesome times..

I no u have too wait wit the big guys, mate I've had a million arguments bout watts wit my mates nd luckily he's starting to show.. however, wit Gawn showing way more than Spencer has already, I'm not sure if it's worth keeping him.. to be perfectly honest I'd rather we move Spencer on, he's so much like Blake it's rediculous.. nd with the need for a ruckman to be able to be mobile nd take a big mark, well Spencer can't do either of these things.. the game has changed, nd u can't compare him to sandilands cos he's not that big nd can't dominate his opponent simply due to size..

we can't keep everyone guys, I'd much rather keep Dunn because he generally offers us something, nd I think he'll majorly benefit from a more structured game plan.. spencer warnock newton Johnston all gone I do believe.. plus others,

What if Cook and/or Watts don't make it yet Fitzy turns into a star in 3 years ...at Richmond?

It's not like we are carrying a whole lot of dead weight around, no need to swing the axe.

I think we would be crazy to get rid of Spencer this year. Let's give him a another season at least. Before he did his knee he was bulkier then Frawley, he would still have a lot of developing to go.

Patiance fella's.