kaipwn

Suspended
Am i the only person that thinks his decision making is terrible? He has shown that he can get the ball but i am always concerned when he does. I dont think he picks the right option often enough and turns it over a fair bit.

When he does hit a target is seems that his part in thsi passage of play leads to a turnover because his decision making has led to frenetic pressured decisions from other players which in turn cough the ball up.

Anyone else think he shouldnt be in the 22?

Am i the only person that thinks his decision making is terrible? He has shown that he can get the ball but i am always concerned when he does. I dont think he picks the right option often enough and turns it over a fair bit.

When he does hit a target is seems that his part in thsi passage of play leads to a turnover because his decision making has led to frenetic pressured decisions from other players which in turn cough the ball up.

No..

Yes!!

Believe so buddy...i'd suggest maybe you're getting him mixed up with someone but you can't really confuse that blond hair with much else..

The guy is dynamite. Whether a defensive roll against Lockyer or in a free running bursting the lines roll he is a live wire that puts in 100%. Give him some more games and he will get better composure and thus better delivery. If there was 1 player who has all the signs of a diamond in the rough it is Army. If the others played with his tempo every week would would not have flat games like V Freo and Syd.
He has been in our best 10 almost every game he has played

Armo is going to be a good player.

He has elite footspeed.

He is courageous.

He is super competitive, and wins 1-on-1 contests. He is Mitch-like in this respect.

He has pretty good disposal overall.

He's right on the fringe of the best 22 at the moment, but he's going to get better and better.

Armo is going to be a good player.

He has elite footspeed.

He is courageous.

He is super competitive, and wins 1-on-1 contests. He is Mitch-like in this respect.

He has pretty good disposal overall.

He's right on the fringe of the best 22 at the moment, but he's going to get better and better.

Has improved in spades this year. Keep playing him the one's and watch him improve by the week. Yes he makes some bad decisions, but his good outweighs the bad me thinks. Rarely loses a one-on-one contest. Is pretty good in the air or on the ground. BREAKS THE LINES. Could have done with the ball in his hands more yesterday. Yeah, should be in the 22.

Army worked very hard during the preseason and has been rewarded with a chance to cement his spot in our best 22.

He was very good in the NAB Cup and I was surprised that it took until round 4 for him to get a call up to the senior team.

Since he has come in he has been given specific roles and I have been impressed with him. Sure, his disposal isn't great but his effort (2nd, 3rd and 4th efforts included) are fantastic as is his pressure and toughness.

He'll keep improving game by game and building on his confidence. He's not afraid to take on the opposition and keep the ball moving which is fantastic. Still has plenty of improvement left in him.

He operates at an elite disposal efficiency level so I'd say he is going along just fine. Last year his disposal was not good and his decision making was often ordinary but he has improved a heap since then. He still makes mistakes but they are on the decrease in terms of numbers which is a huge positive.

Army worked very hard during the preseason and has been rewarded with a chance to cement his spot in our best 22.

He was very good in the NAB Cup and I was surprised that it took until round 4 for him to get a call up to the senior team.

Since he has come in he has been given specific roles and I have been impressed with him. Sure, his disposal isn't great but his effort (2nd, 3rd and 4th efforts included) are fantastic as is his pressure and toughness.

He'll keep improving game by game and building on his confidence. He's not afraid to take on the opposition and keep the ball moving which is fantastic. Still has plenty of improvement left in him.

He operates at an elite disposal efficiency level so I'd say he is going along just fine. Last year his disposal was not good and his decision making was often ordinary but he has improved a heap since then. He still makes mistakes but they are on the decrease in terms of numbers which is a huge positive.

Accurate and clever assessment of our flying blonde ex-brickie. :thumbsu:

Reckon you're well off the mark pal. Like most blokes who haven't even played 20 games his decision-making could be better but compared to one or two who've played 60-70 he's bloody Greg Williams. :rolleyes:

Army gives 100%, and make no mistake, his pace and accountability are important to our structure. ;)

Is it just me or all of a sudden has Army suddenly found confidence in his left boot? He seemed to be kicking off it a fair bit vs Collingwood, most of them weren't too bad either.:D Deserves his spot in the 22.

Personally, I want him in the side as much as possible unless there's a match up issue in a specific game.

Is it just me or all of a sudden has Army suddenly found confidence in his left boot? He seemed to be kicking off it a fair bit vs Collingwood, most of them weren't too bad either.:D Deserves his spot in the 22.

Mate I agree was ridiculous. He Had 7 kicks on the weekend and I'm pretty sure 5 of them were with his left foot and all hit the target. The one on the right wing that hit judd (taking a one handed contested mark) was great.

And in regards to this thread, well is stupid. He definitely deserves his spot in the 22 and he will only get better and better as he gets more games under his belt.

im a fan of Army,however wouldnt want to see him lining up to kick a winning goal after the siren!

After watching his kick for goal on the weekend I could see how you could think that but back in his wafl days he did kick a goal after the siren from 50 metres out to win it lol It was reserves but still a good effort and not everyone could do it. However since he has been playing afl he definitely doesn't look that confident in front of goal (not that hes had many chances) but i'm sure he will gain more confidence as time goes on.

I can't wait for his next running goal....got one against the pies last year (not that special - just a handball receive) and in the same game had a shot that turned out about as good as the one against Freo last week but he's going to kick a ripper one day!

Reckon you're well off the mark pal. Like most blokes who haven't even played 20 games his decision-making could be better but compared to one or two who've played 60-70 he's bloody Greg Williams. :rolleyes:

Army gives 100%, and make no mistake, his pace and accountability are important to our structure. ;)

Agreed. Army is fast becoming a very good small defender with pace to burn who can take the game on and who's followup defensive work is excellent. Kicking has improved markedly from last year and at the moment couldn't possibly see him getting dropped on form.

Armfield will develop into a good player, its just inexperience that lets him down. he will improve in all areas

What would you do in this scenario?

Not much time left in the game, your team is down by less than a goal and you've busted your gutt to get the ball in a contested situation in the back half of the ground. The opposition knowing the time factor flood/zone back to make things difficult....

You would:

a) Piss your pants?
b) Stand around waiting for your teams best player to run past and give the ball to him?
c) Take the opposition on, break a tackle or two bring the ball within 60m... see your best forward has a 50/50 chance of taking a mark close to goal and with every ounce of energy left in your depleted body kick in his direction?
d) Shyte yourself?

Did you pick a/d??? Or did you take the easy way out and pick b?

Army against Hawthorn made the best decision at the time... used his best attributes pace/aggression to bring that damn ball forward close enough for a shot or pass to a forward... and in a split second moment saw an on fire Fev was 1/1 with his opponent with no spoiling defenders nearby.....

Fev kicks that goal... Armfields play would of been play of the year and remembered for all time!