Sports Derby Day Recommendations

Hey all.

I'm looking to attend Derby Day this year but have no wish to do so amongst the general public. I went to the Cox Plate a few years ago and was in an enclosure that had its own bar and bookie but didn't have a view of the track (you could exit the enclosure and watch the races amongst the public if you wanted) and this was most pleasant. Does anyone know if such a thing is available on Derby Day and if so how much?

Apologies if I've listed this on the wrong board.

L2M4G.

Do you want to see any races?

Yeah, but not totally fussed if I can't see them trackside. A large screen will do.

Had a look and a ticket in the Banks Precinct enclosure looks like what I'm after. Anyone ever been in there?

Not a man of the people, L2M4G?

I never go to a race meeting during Spring Carnival. In the general public your all stuck together like sheep......I usually go during the footy season.

How did you manage to get in a private enclosure for Cox Plate L2M4G?

Not a man of the people, L2M4G?

Just enjoy getting a bet on when I want to and not having to queue for a beer.

So you want to go to the races but not see any horses and not be around people? I would suggest filling your fridge with beer, put on channel 9 and sit on the couch in your undies.

Don't be so literal please.

I don't want to have my elbows in someone else's armpits all day. Happy to endure whilst trackside, but would like a place to retreat to to enjoy a refreshment or 6.

Sounds like you want the luxuries of home at the races during the busiest time of the year.

...yeah nah, not going to happen. Do wat KP said and stay home. Either that or go to a provincial meeting at Mortlake where no one will be (in comparison) and have allllllllllll the room you like.

How did you manage to get in a private enclosure for Cox Plate L2M4G?

Arranged it with some friends mate. Worked very nicely. Best day I've ever had at the races.

Some people are clearly prepared to get there at a sparrow's fart and enjoy waiting 20 mins to get a drink. There's other ways to go about it in my opinion. Give it a crack and you'll be a believer.

Become a VRC member and in a few years you'll never have to put up with the riff-raff in GA (in the meantime just stick to the lower-profile meetings).

EZ Game.

Crowds weren't too bad today, I was working behind the scenes in the Hill stand and it didn't seem too crowded. Apparently there were 92,000 there but it didn't feel like it.
People were pleasantly well behaved too. Plenty of room to get a bet on if you didn't leave it till the last minute.

I quite enjoyed getting up at 5am to watch the horses train as dawn broke over Melbourne. I wasn't so keen when I knocked off at 7.15pm though.

Hey guys - just a quick question...

My parents have brought tickets for a few of us to go to the Melb cup in GA (I warned them it would be like sardines etc etc... but they wouldn't listen).

Just interested if you have been, and any recommendations... I looked up their guidelines, and the seem to allow deckchairs and soft eskies - is this true? I am thinking that the best idea to get them through the day would be to get there bloody early and claim a small spot for them to sit down in and a few softies in the esky. Would this be making the best of a bad situation?

Would be grateful for any advice, as I have never been to Flemington.

Cheers.

Hey guys - just a quick question...

My parents have brought tickets for a few of us to go to the Melb cup in GA (I warned them it would be like sardines etc etc... but they wouldn't listen).

Just interested if you have been, and any recommendations... I looked up their guidelines, and the seem to allow deckchairs and soft eskies - is this true? I am thinking that the best idea to get them through the day would be to get there bloody early and claim a small spot for them to sit down in and a few softies in the esky. Would this be making the best of a bad situation?

Would be grateful for any advice, as I have never been to Flemington.

Cheers.

http://www.melbournecup.com/site_media/uploads/flemington-conditions-of-ticketing-entry-2011.pdf

24. For the comfort and safety of persons at the Course, you are not permitted to bring into the
Course (or have in your possession at the Course) any of the following without the consent of
VRC:
(a) alcoholic beverages, glass containers or open beverage containers;
(b) any structure or item that may be used to erect a structure (including without limitation
‘market’ or ‘beach’ umbrellas or similar large umbrellas, portable shade structures or
gazebos), or which is capable of supporting the weight of a person, such as any chairs,
lounges, benches or stools (other than a folding fabric chair or folding fabric stool);

Get there early, the gates open at 8:30am and try and claim a spot. It is very busy but it's still a great day. I'd recommend putting all your bets on at a TAB the night before or in the morning so you don't have to keep going to the tote.

Spent the day in the Nursery as I do every year, epic fun and lol at GA.

Shit day on the punt though, could even back a placing at was out in the 1st leg of the quaddie but the awesome weather made up for it!

http://www.melbournecup.com/site_media/uploads/flemington-conditions-of-ticketing-entry-2011.pdf

24. For the comfort and safety of persons at the Course, you are not permitted to bring into the
Course (or have in your possession at the Course) any of the following without the consent of
VRC:
(a) alcoholic beverages, glass containers or open beverage containers;
(b) any structure or item that may be used to erect a structure (including without limitation
‘market’ or ‘beach’ umbrellas or similar large umbrellas, portable shade structures or
gazebos), or which is capable of supporting the weight of a person, such as any chairs,
lounges, benches or stools (other than a folding fabric chair or folding fabric stool);

Get there early, the gates open at 8:30am and try and claim a spot. It is very busy but it's still a great day. I'd recommend putting all your bets on at a TAB the night before or in the morning so you don't have to keep going to the tote.

Thanks for that - I had read that, but I was still suspicious. It'll make a difference for my folks.

Hope the weather behaves too ;)