Desired SuperCoach Improvements

Re: Supercoach Scoring Gripes: Solution?

The only thing i have a problem with is what they class as effective and ineffective kicks/handballs. watching the pies geelong friday night and watching the stats updated live. I thought it was effective if you retain possession. Sidebottom kicked forward and it bounced 3 or 4 times, cloke won the footy but it was classed as ineffective. Another 1, Swan won the footy and was on the boundary, kick it forward, gained 45m and went out in the forward pocket. No 1 was near to kick it to and he clearly meant it, but was ineffective. 1 last 1, sidebottom kicked to a lead, went over the head and Geelong won the footy but were tackled and there was a ball up. Classed as effective. Ive got no idea how they rate the disposals but thats the only part I can think of that needs fixing.

If a player kicks the ball and a teammate picks it up, it can still be classed as ineffective even if possession is retained. If Sidebottom kicked the ball and Cloke had to pick it up under unnessecary pressure (ie, win a contested possession or hard ball get) then that would be ineffective. It would be counted as an effective disposal if Cloke was able to pick it up under no pressure.

On the Swan kick, kicks to space aren't classed as effective, even if the player means it. Unless the kick travels a certain distance to be classed as a "long kick" (50m would be my guess) which are almost always classed as effective regardless of the outcome (unless it's a direct turnover, ie. the opposition take an uncontested mark).

What about the post-match scaling.... whats that all about?

Last week Murphy moved about 7 points, and the week before Hanley about 8. I think I remember Lewis droppiunig asbout 10 too sometime recently.

Just watched Golby get 2 hard ball gets and effective handballs for total of 5 points. Swallow got a loose ball get and one effective handball for 6 points. Champion data score differently for a players reputation. It's rubbish.

Also Franklin earns a free kick in the goal square, ball drops into the hands of Breust who dribbles it through with the advantage. Franklin gets 4, Bruest 9. Who caused the goal?

Just watched Golby get 2 hard ball gets and effective handballs for total of 5 points. Swallow got a loose ball get and one effective handball for 6 points. Champion data score differently for a players reputation. It's rubbish.

Also Franklin earns a free kick in the goal square, ball drops into the hands of Breust who dribbles it through with the advantage. Franklin gets 4, Bruest 9. Who caused the goal?

Franklin.
Or probably the guy who kicked it to the square.
Wait.....whoever kicked it to him?
Maybe the coach for developing the set play
Or the selection committee for picking Buddy
Perhaps the points should go to the recruitment manager for picking Franklin
Actually let's give points to Richmond for overlooking him in the draft

Seriously.....those who want a fully transparent game, DT awaits

The solution to not liking the scoring is sticking to Dream Team

Everybody is acting like there are only two possible ways to score in fantasy footy. I like the transparency and ability to keep track of dream team, but i prefer the types of statistics used in supercoach, and between the two i think a superior system could be created.

Logical Suggestion

Ok, this is has happened to me twice this season and i'm playing in a supercoach league with big stakes.
This week i scored 2345 and i'm happy with that but i "versed" a guy who scored 2383. I came second overall in the league this week and get a loss... this has happened to me twice this year and it is frustrating as ****. Supercoach is all luck :thumbsdown:
Why isn't it just a points tally and the people with the top 8 most points go into the final. Makes sense .

Re: Logical Suggestion

because mate, its all about how you perform on day against your opponent.

it doesnt matter if you score well compared to others, end of the day it all depends on how your team compares against your opponents team.

Yeah, while they're at it the AFL should scrap points and rank teams by total for/against.

Logic fail.

Same thing is happening to a mate in my league, averages the highest score about 20 above me but is sitting at 3-5 after this week. But what you are suggesting is just downright stupid.

because mate, its all about how you perform on day against your opponent.

it doesnt matter if you score well compared to others, end of the day it all depends on how your team compares against your opponents team.

Your opponent doesn't affect your scoring like they do in an AFL game. It's just the luck of the draw.

Worst ****ing post ever on bigfooty ffs

Settle down, he didn't think that to select a player in your team, you have to own a football card with that player on it.

Haha, yeah not quite in the same league as Jeffery :p

I miss his threads, they were always good for a laugh.

Ok, this is has happened to me twice this season and i'm playing in a supercoach league with big stakes.
This week i scored 2345 and i'm happy with that but i "versed" a guy who scored 2383. I came second overall in the league this week and get a loss... this has happened to me twice this year and it is frustrating as ****. Supercoach is all luck :thumbsdown:
Why isn't it just a points tally and the people with the top 8 most points go into the final. Makes sense .
I reckon the current league format is great! I personally like the fact that you have a new opponent every week and upsets can take place because it makes it interesting. Certainly I'd much rather that than having no league games until league finals time, or worse, no league matches at all.

If you know everyone in the league and are playing for cash can't you just arrange your own finals series where the top 8 on overall points go through? It really wouldn't be hard to set up if you come to an agreement with everyone else in your league.

May have been a bit rash with this thread. Just pissed off that i'm dropping wins in a big $$$ league. Oh well, plenty of the season left. At the end of the day, current format works well.

Love the match ups, the big build up when versing a close mate makes exciting as he'll, following the match ups all weekend too make the game what it is

Not to mention the trash talk. I lie awake at night dreaming about all the trash I'm gonna talk come sunday night.

When it comes to the crunch, it's who you think are better players week-in-week out than your opponent does. It isn't rocket science. Stats aside. What matters is what YOU think? It's YOUR team. In a game like Australian Rules Football hard-ball gets count, giving away frees count, kicking goals count, clangers used to be more of a negative than they are today according to Champion Data etc... But it is still your team in Supercoach. Own it, embrace it, get frustrated by it, be overjoyed with it, be humbled by it, feel overjoyed about it etc...

Ultimately, it's YOUR team and YOU choose it! Emotions are irrelevant!

In the end it's all about NUMBERS and will NEVER involve emotions at all for the winners.

Watch Moneyball. Sometimes you win and sometimes you lose. But if you do the maths, you usually win. :D

[youtube]AiAHlZVgXjk[/youtube]