Devil you know or the Devil you dont know?

i dont reckon there's ever been any knock on him goldy, bugger me he just about broke his leg twice getting back early to pull the jumper back on...He's a club fav...To further contend this point I'd ask, how do the maggies rate Bucks or the Blues Juddy or the swannies plugger...it's about performance and attitude rather than birthright...hell where's all the love for Petts and JON, they aint played anywhere else:rolleyes:

lmao Bo :D

moral of the story: get the runs on the board in the y&B and the Tiger faithful will love you forever and a day ;)

we only need look at Sanchez, who had a resepectable season but was no star, to see the contrast

so you do agree thats the case then emp, thought you supported the strange notion that we dont like him so much coz he was born a bulldog:confused:

I do to an extent, I was really more thinking in general but realised that normally its only the 'mercenaries' who don't perform or who aren't totally committed that are derided , not names like Judd, Plugger, Buckley ... I 100% believe browny is committed to Tigerland and his performances both pre and post injury indicate that

i think my post was clouded by a bit of Tiger patriotism in regards to the hoo haa about possibly trading one of our backmen

There did I dig myself out? :D

IMO, right about now we have come to a fork in the road when it comes to talking about the tigers and where they are heading.

There are numerous discussions going on debating where we are at with our grand plan and if we are at, where we were suppose to be.

From where i sit and from what i see, yes we have improved, its easy to improve when you start at 0, but i have grave reservations as to our future, when taking into account, the draft/trade stuff ups, and the one sided approach taken with the list building.

So the question is, do we forsake the long term rebuilding of the list, which IMO has now blown out by a decade, i.e. the devil you dont know, and add to the devil you know with players you know, in order to at least make the push for the big one, within the next 3 years, i.e. give it a shot with what we've got. Then when and if we make it, allbeit not as long term as we had wanted it to be at the beginning, but we can then return to the rebuild, with a better core group as a platform to build on, to which we can add more young talent, hand picked by anyone but GM, to attain the long term success that the tigers are after.

For the realists on this forum they might understand where i am coming from, when i say we are IMO, at least 5 + years away from resembling a tight, skilled, hard unit that can mix it with the big boys. And thats only if we snag a couple of good young guns in the upcoming drafts. Do we go for a few proven players up front, leaving the rebuild on the backburner, with low end draft picks?
We are fast closing in on the 30 year mark dudes. ;)

I personally think that we are only a couple of key injuries away from a disaster in 09. We lose say a deledio, moore, richo, simmonds next year and we could be in serious strife. The injury gods were really nice to us this year. Injuries and the draw will have a big impact on our season IMO.

we would have been in trouble a couple of years ago if one of those players got injured. but we do have some depth now. no one is as good a replacement as richo but we do have some depth to maby not cost us a match

apply same rationale to Hawks should your disaster hit Franklin, roughhead and Hodge or Carlton with Judd and felvola...we are no better or worse placed to cope with injuries than anyone. Note that our highest score was kicked when Richo was absent, 11g qtr v WC and we won both games incl cliff hanger against Ess...and dont forget we didnt have Brown last 3 games we won with a leg in the air

Qulaity thread guys!

IMO we need to give the quality 18-23 group we have every chance of winning a flag by letting them mature for 4-5 years, and develop the hardness and football smarts needed to win a flag.

To give this group every chance we really should be looking, if needed, to top up in 3-4 years time (there are proven guns looking to move every year), when we need them, and actually know what holes we need to fill.

To do this we'll need to have something worth trading for. This will come from drafting as much young talent as possible over the next few years, and having some 'chips' worth trading for.

To get this talent we should be looking to trade for picks any player we don't think is going to be part of our premiership window, as the hawks did in 04, or is surplus to our needs (eg McGuane to GC17 if Rance comes through), and absolutely not trading picks away in the next three drafts. This will give ourselves the opp to draft as many talented young mids, KPPs and Ruckmen, that will either develop into regular 1st team guns which we keep, or young surplus players (eg Boyle, Warnock, or a decent 6th in line mid) that have some trade value and can be used in trade deals for proven older players down the track.

As Iddy stated its too early to sell the farm to top up now, and we should just focus on breeding our own for the next few years. This will either give us the team we need from within, or will mean we have the collateral to trade for what we need, when we need it.
Spot on Freezer

the whole post is on the money .. the point highlighted in particular

I do actually, you'd only have to watch the manner in which he plays and celebrates, he genuinely touches the fans..further to that he proudly represents the RFC thru media st...and he would surely poll in fans top few tigers...This is not always the case with mature recruits , but a bad example to make your point in Browny , refer to steve o ' dwyer or Justin Blumfield...Stafford was another player that really embraced Tigerland so did Barry Rowlings , captain...he was handy, as was Brodders and Butch Gale , I didnt love them any less coz their roots were originally cast at the Roys...To answer your question YES..they became true tigers:thumbsu:
LMAOOOO ... you went away and thought about that for a couple of days Bo ...:D

I don`t think it is a bad example ... but i think you are missing the point a little .

Sorry pal but that post is not one of your greater moments ... are you saying Strawbs O`dwyer and Greg Stafford were held in the same esteem at thier respective clubs as NB was at the Bullies ???...LMAO ... Justin Blumfield ...LMAO

Massive difference in what you are comparing with these types of players and recruiting marquee footballers .

You are conveniently leaving my Geoff Raines comparison out of your retort ;)... that gives you the true context of what i am talking about ...

It is football folklore that Geoff Raines absolutely spews that he left Punt rd. ... "biggest mistake of his life" ...

NB is a superstar .. no doubt ... great bloke ... but i bet his best mates are still the likes of Luke Darcy ... scotty West etc. and i bet he still socialises with them .. no dramas .. thats what mates do ....

Do you get my drift or should i stop being cryptic ?

I can`t help but watch him as he "promotes" his fashion line on the footy show and think ..." i bet he regrets coming to punt rd." as he watches his former team-mates run around in September .. i may be wrong .. who knows ... its just the way i see it .

its just a philosophy i have Bo ... a moral code .. whatever ... i just don`t reckon you are doing it %100 for the jumper when you do what he has ... hence .. i would rather we use our prime draft picks on looking for ..." The next Browny"

how do the maggies rate Bucks or the Blues Juddy or the swannies plugger

OK...

Bucks played one season with the Lions and only on the proviso that they traded him after that one season ...FACT...

Carlton .... LMAO .... They are the "Sophie Monk" of the AFL ... They would f..k anyone if they thought it would bring them success ...

and the ol` Chestnut of "plugger" .... see the same Carlton comparison but with a bunch of mis-informed dimwits who still to this day know Sweet FA about the game ... of course they would adopt him ... why wouldn`t they ??? thats why they sent him up there ;)

a pawn in the AFL`S quest to monopolise the game through out the country to prop up an ailing franchise

Follow the draft route...

When you look like being genuine contenders with your list then look at topping up and picking more experience...

Question: Will Reiwoldt be tall enough to be a CHF or do you guys see him playing in a different position in the future?

Was having a debate with my mate where he thought you guys were looking to be a strong team in the future (he is a Carlton fan) and I thought you did not have a good enough forward line to take you anywhere. He rates Reiwoldt and Hughes highly but I was much more sceptical.

Question: Will Reiwoldt be tall enough to be a CHF or do you guys see him playing in a different position in the future?

Was having a debate with my mate where he thought you guys were looking to be a strong team in the future (he is a Carlton fan) and I thought you did not have a good enough forward line to take you anywhere. He rates Reiwoldt and Hughes highly but I was much more sceptical.

we were the fifth highest scoring side this year richo 50 browny 35 morton 35 delidio 28 and so on with our highest scoring game when richo wasnt playing ...we're going alright:thumbsu:

LMAOOOO ... you went away and thought about that for a couple of days Bo ...:D

I don`t think it is a bad example ... but i think you are missing the point a little .

Sorry pal but that post is not one of your greater moments ... are you saying Strawbs O`dwyer and Greg Stafford were held in the same esteem at thier respective clubs as NB was at the Bullies ???...LMAO ... Justin Blumfield ...LMAO

Massive difference in what you are comparing with these types of players and recruiting marquee footballers .

You are conveniently leaving my Geoff Raines comparison out of your retort ;)... that gives you the true context of what i am talking about ...

What Im contesting is your case that whenever a player comes from another club he's not held in the same regard as a homegrown, which I say is rubbish..Raines played at 4 clubs FFS...Tell me how tiger fans remember Rowlings, Broderick or Gale...any less than wayne campbell:confused:, I think not....I don't think Browny would regret leaving the environment at the Dogs at the time , Pay cuts, western Oval...geez...I was reading a Fitzroy book recently and the catalysts for them all leaving was playing at that **** of a place....

What Im contesting is your case that whenever a player comes from another club he's not held in the same regard as a homegrown ....
Big difference between getting a garden variety footballer and a "Marquee" footballer ...

Its got f..k all to do with how the fans hold the player ... its the regard "The player" has for his new environs... and his team-mates .

you are are getting a little steamed up pal ... i think Browny is great , no question , but when it comes to this type of footballer on your list , i contest you are better off growing your in instead of recruiting them from other clubs

At least we have a few forward options. The Blues only have one :cool:

Big difference between getting a garden variety footballer and a "Marquee" footballer ...

Its got f..k all to do with how the fans hold the player ... its the regard "The player" has for his new environs... and his team-mates .

you are are getting a little steamed up pal ... i think Browny is great , no question , but when it comes to this type of footballer on your list , i contest you are better off growing your in instead of recruiting them from other clubs

I dont dispute that, there have been exceptions over the journey , far and wide, but generally speaking I agree

...or the devil you don't know you know, but who knows you know them from when you did a no-no and the cops knew you no-no'd, then the devil you didn't know came along to renew your no-no, then you knew the devil, but now you don't know you know them.

Y'no?