Dick

• Thread starter Thread starter magpies42

I interpreted the Egan comparison in terms of Dick possibly being another draftee who has a reputation for being highly talented, but who never capitalises on that talent for whatever reason (one perception is that Egan was too lazy, uncommited etc, which lead to his delisting despite him being a potentially good player).

But I don't think the poster who originally made the comment necessarily though this, seemed more like he was just asking a question about whether Dick has a good work ethic, is a hard trainer etc.

It will take numerous seasons for Diick to bulk up enough for a go in the midfeild, until then he is a small forward or possibly a wingman.
Reminds me of Aaron Davey a lot who was a skinny runt when he first started, but i have seen the guy in person on numerous occasions at my local TAB and he is actually quite built for his size and has huge arms.
So it does take time.

It will take numerous seasons for Diick to bulk up enough for a go in the midfeild, until then he is a small forward or possibly a wingman.
Reminds me of Aaron Davey a lot who was a skinny runt when he first started, but i have seen the guy in person on numerous occasions at my local TAB and he is actually quite built for his size and has huge arms.
So it does take time.

According to footy wire Alwyn Davey Height: 173cm & 70kg
Dick 181 cm, 76 kg. He's getting there the wiry bugger.:D
Wait til he gets to Leons size 177 & 80

What's the actual disadvantage of being under-weight for an outside midfielder? I mean, would being 'pushed off the ball' or whatever result in a significantly lower number of possessions per game?

Or is it more that there is some benchmark of size/strength that you need before the coach is willing to play you? because otherwise you wouldn't be able to tackle effectively, or there would be too much risk of injury, or whatever.

What's the actual disadvantage of being under-weight for an outside midfielder? I mean, would being 'pushed off the ball' or whatever result in a significantly lower number of possessions per game?

Or is it more that there is some benchmark of size/strength that you need before the coach is willing to play you? because otherwise you wouldn't be able to tackle effectively, or there would be too much risk of injury, or whatever.
It is a massive disadvantage mate, These guys dont look that big on tv but they are built like tanks up close and hit like trains in the packs, and a skinny player struggles in these situations and is more prone to injury because of it.

One great moment from Dicky was a beautiful one step left foot goal on the 50 metre line in 2007 Anzac game from a contested ball to break away from the Bombers. From a skinny kid was absolute class :thumbsu:
Absolute great mover inside packs just like our Leon, could well end up playing in the midfield at some stage of his carrier.

Severely overrated & overhyped.

I guess so, given that he has only had very little time at AFL level. Although it is nice that Malthouse mentioned him in the end of year press-conference (think he said we had "big plans" for Dick in 2008 pre-injury), so the coaches must rate him as a potentially good player.

And it was a pretty good effort to get six games in his first year at the club, given how slight he is.

Can anyone who's seen a bit of him in the VFL give an insight in to what they thought of him there? Did he play midfield at all? Although obviously it would have only been his first year.

Not really.:(

One of the best goal celebrators in our side. Seriously, the guy is HAPPY! :D I think he had a run of 2-3 games in '07 where he snuck forward and crumbed a few goals, showed something but then fell away.

Dick had Rocca as his training buddy, and they were seriously doing some kms on the bike and tready before they got back to the track. He's also been benching well for a bloke of his size and probably surprise a few people this year if he's given the chance :thumbsu:

One of the best goal celebrators in our side. Seriously, the guy is HAPPY! :D I think he had a run of 2-3 games in '07 where he snuck forward and crumbed a few goals, showed something but then fell away.

Dick had Rocca as his training buddy, and they were seriously doing some kms on the bike and tready before they got back to the track. He's also been benching well for a bloke of his size and probably surprise a few people this year if he's given the chance :thumbsu:

What does he bench. This was discussed in another thread and some guy's thought it was pretty poor.

Severely overrated & overhyped.
You could say that about heaps of our young players.
But being an excellent kick on both sides and having the ability to kick a goal on the non-preferred from 50.
Also his tackling for someone still in a kids body has some of us quite optimistic.

Dick wasn't lifting anything, he was training with Rocca so Rocca could bench press him.

:D:thumbsu:

I think it was on CTV when he said it was around 85KG. For his frame that's reasonable (and apparently a lot better than when he started), but it certainly is a long way off the guys like Swanny, Tarks, Brown and Cloke.