News Dimma's interview 'On the Couch

• Thread starter Thread starter Michaels

Did anyone watch the interview with Dimma 'On the Couch'?

Please don't take this as 'Dimma bashing' but correct me if I'm wrong, towards the end of the interview they were talking about our style of play against Collingwood with the scoring set ups from the back half etc.

Dimma mentioned that was more a North Melbourne game style and that its not what we are trying to do (similar to those words)... then he joked that well if its getting results maybe we should stick to it.

that is just mind blowing. this is the exact issue. our players are being instructed to play a certain style which doesnt suit them. we abandon it and the players seemingly play their own brand of footy and we pile on 8 goals in a quarter..

did anyone else interpret those comments that way or am i reading too much into it?

link to video
http://www.afl.com.au/video?guid=752622

Please don't take this as 'Dimma bashing' but correct me if I'm wrong, towards the end of the interview they were talking about our style of play against Collingwood with the scoring set ups from the back half etc.

Dimma mentioned that was more a North Melbourne game style and that its not what we are trying to do (similar to those words)... then he joked that well if its getting results maybe we should stick to it.

that is just mind blowing. this is the exact issue. our players are being instructed to play a certain style which doesnt suit them. we abandon it and the players seemingly play their own brand of footy and we pile on 8 goals in a quarter..

did anyone else interpret those comments that way or am i reading too much into it?

link to video

Shhhhhhh.

They vultures are sniffing blood. They dont like to hear negatives about anything. Especially after our massive, monumental win last week..........

Dimma is an airhead, norf wins more games than they generally lose so what's wrong with that style? and i always thought scoreboard pressure was whole idea to win games am i right?

link to video
I took it that we have multiple scoring styles. I didn't see it as a bad thing. Maybe that's just me:cool:

Shhhhhhh.

They vultures are sniffing blood. They dont like to hear negatives about anything. Especially after our massive, monumental win last week..........

So you are saying...

images
upload_2015-5-19_16-1-10.jpeg

as i stated in the OP, i don't want it to come across as a Dimma bashing thread, i have always backed him and having coached footy myself for a number of years i understand some of the frustrations coaches experience with the things players do, but when a team plays a certain way that allowed them to kick 8 goals in a quarter, you don't then come out and say thats not how we want to play..

He said he read bigfooty. Saw that everyone thinks they are an expert and that's the reason behind putting rance in the middle in the first quarter against the pies. Also, he had a meeting with benny and peggy, he printed out the #sackhardwick thread and presented it to them. He nearly quit because of such sound wisdom of the #sackhardwick thread but peggy said to sit tight and benny agreed, they gave him full confidence in himself and made him feel secure and wanted. Said he only played McBean because of bigfooty. He also said he's lining up about 5 posters on bigfooty for a possible assistant coach position and a list management position.

as i stated in the OP, i don't want it to come across as a Dimma bashing thread, i have always backed him and having coached footy myself for a number of years i understand some of the frustrations coaches experience with the things players do, but when a team plays a certain way that allowed them to kick 8 goals in a quarter, you don't then come out and say thats not how we want to play..
I agree with your post. 100%

I took it that we have multiple scoring styles. I didn't see it as a bad thing. Maybe that's just me:cool:

but he said thats not the style we want to play didnt he? (i'm not having a crack, i'm just seeking clarification that he did in fact say that)

Reading between the lines I think we try and turn the ball over before it gets to our back pocket. Probably because the closer to goal you let the ball travel the more likely the opposition are to score. "Forward half turnovers", "repeat inside 50's" etc are buzz phrases you'll hear Dimma roll out every interview or dissection. I think we probably try and turn it over from the kick out, and if not, on the wing.

Problem is that once the ball is turned over this means kicking into a congested forward 50 witch requires elite skill or elite patience. We have shown on numerous occasions this season we have neither or these and winning the inside 50 count alone won’t win us the game.

He said he read bigfooty. Saw that everyone thinks they are an expert and that's the reason behind putting rance in the middle in the first quarter against the pies. Also, he had a meeting with benny and peggy, he printed out the #sackhardwick thread and presented it to them. He nearly quit because of such sound wisdom of the #sackhardwick thread but peggy said to sit tight and benny agreed, they gave him full confidence in himself and made him feel secure and wanted. Said he only played McBean because of bigfooty. He also said he's lining up about 5 posters on bigfooty for a possible assistant coach position and a list management position.
5269558397_64406aeb94_z.jpg

Is his wife on bigfooty?:p

Serious this time, here's what he said

1. Wife texted him at half time, called him an idiot for playing rance in the middle (serious)
2. Wanted to try something new, bit of a momentum changer and something to try thanks to bringing in elton
3. 15 minute patch destroyed us against north, about our consitancy, sticking fat and working on it
4. Conca and dea playing good footy
5. look at the ladder, it's going to be an outstanding year of footy
6. most sides have holes in there side, no doubt we do to
7. didn't take garlett because we felt we could draft a similar player
8. thought he unfairly criticized dusty after the north game, shouldn't have singled him out (i beg to differ), but feels dusty can raise his footy to another level
9. deledio provides flexibility, without him there is too much reliability on cotch and dusty
10. thinks edwards is under rated by the media, but not within the club
11. has faith in vickery and still thinks he's best 22
12. our rebound scoring was similar to north, but not our main game plan, but if it gets us wins, its all good
13. the richmond way defined "not prepared to give out on national tv" but it's a set of standards and behaviours the players abide by and play by. Every player who puts the jumper knows what is required on and off field.

but he said thats not the style we want to play didnt he? (i'm not having a crack, i'm just seeking clarification that he did in fact say that)

Hey Michaels, I went back and wrote what he said below. No probs with asking the question :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

DH: It was a different type of game for us normally our forward half turnovers are very good and they are relatively poor on the weekend and we scored a lot more from the back half which is probably traditionally a Nth Melbourne type of scoring mechanism and it seemed to work for us on the weekend but it’s probably not something for us we are going to continue going forward but in saying that if it wins games we’ll be pretty happy to stick with it.

So he would prefer not to use it but happy too if we continue to wins games.

Hey Michaels, I went back and wrote what he said below. No probs with asking the question :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

DH: It was a different type of game for us normally our forward half turnovers are very good and they are relatively poor on the weekend and we scored a lot more from the back half which is probably traditionally a Nth Melbourne type of scoring mechanism and it seemed to work for us on the weekend but it’s probably not something for us we are going to continue going forward but in saying that if it wins games we’ll be pretty happy to stick with it.

So he would prefer not to use it but happy too if we continue to wins games.

thanks heaps! :)

why would he prefer not to use it? i just don't understand. if that style of football is something the players buy into and fully believe, and it gets us results then our entire plan A should be nothing but that i would have though?

1. Wife texted him at half time, called him an idiot for playing rance in the middle (serious)
2. Wanted to try something new, bit of a momentum changer and something to try thanks to bringing in elton
3. 15 minute patch destroyed us against north, about our consitancy, sticking fat and working on it
8. thought he unfairly criticized dusty after the north game, shouldn't have singled him out (i beg to differ), but feels dusty can raise his footy to another level
9. deledio provides flexibility, without him there is too much reliability on cotch and dusty
12. our rebound scoring was similar to north, but not our main game plan, but if it gets us wins, its all good
13. the richmond way defined "not prepared to give out on national tv" but it's a set of standards and behaviours the players abide by and play by. Every player who puts the jumper knows what is required on and off field.

I liked 13 on that list. Stated to someone else on this thread that I would love to look at the statistics/data they are using.

Edit: grammar

No edit required for accuracy

So much sarcasm and facetiousness in this its nearly believable

I don't know anymore than you do. I would need to look at the statistics/data he and the team are using to give an informed answer.
I'm just a bigfooty mug:drunk::drunk::cry::cry:

sorry it was more of a generic question rather than a direct one ha ha, we are all mugs here. :D

call me crazy but surely the only data that really matters are the columns labelled Goals, Behinds, Total Score and 'Wins?

I know coaching under 16 football is A LOT different to AFL, but we focused on 4 stats each game. Tackle count (i set specific targets for each game, if they wern't met because of lack of effort there was punishment at training), inside 50's but in conjunction with how many goals we scored, handballs received (we wanted this number through the roof as it meant we were moving the ball quick) and the amount of times we switched play.

I still feel that a lot of those targets i set my guys are very simple yet capture the basic fundmentals of a 'winning game style' (you need the cattle to go with it obviously) and we ended up winning the flag that year, with a team consisting of half of them playing up a year (so they should have been under 15's) and the other half being the off cuts of the under 16's div 1 side that we had.

simply because the players believed in what we were asking them to do.

This isnt happening at richmond because its being over complicated i reckon. Keep it simple and keep playing the game style that got us 8 goals in a quarter.