WALL-e

Sep 17, 2007
Magic, Sturt, Ravens, Duke
I thought I'd start this thread because it's championship game time and his brilliance will begin to be shown on a bigger scale.

Can't get over how much I love Dion's game.

Elite balance, penetrating kick on both sides of his body, very good decision maker, damagine by hand and foot, doesn't get tackled (not through lack of others trying), very smart footy brain, can run all day, agile, quick.

Basically :heart:

Only thing holding him back at all is his height, he's quite short, but that doesn't stop him from much. Inside outside mid who can play HFF or HBF no problems.

Thoughts on Dion?

Cant wait to see a video of him. I've only seen his goal of the week video.

Sounds like the exact type of player the crows need (hopefully at pick 6).

How do you think he rates compared to Harley Bennell and Josh Green.

I think the height factor and 'perceived' lack of upside will make him slide a little and he'll go after Bennell, Green and Parker, though from what I've seen, I rank him as equal, if not better than Green and Parker.

But I've got massive Dion bias.

Personally think that he is bellow Bennell, Green and Parker, as well as a few others 10-20 ATM in my opinion, his height does hurt him a bit.

Edit: I would also add Atley and Gaff above him, but things can change during the Champs, will need an extra big series to climb.

I thought I'd start this thread because it's championship game time and his brilliance will begin to be shown on a bigger scale.

Can't get over how much I love Dion's game.

Elite balance, penetrating kick on both sides of his body, very good decision maker, damagine by hand and foot, doesn't get tackled (not through lack of others trying), very smart footy brain, can run all day, agile, quick.

Basically :heart:

Only thing holding him back at all is his height, he's quite short, but that doesn't stop him from much. Inside outside mid who can play HFF or HBF no problems.

Thoughts on Dion?

definately agree with you there, very very damaging player

Did he play for Vic Metro on the weekend? I didnt see him in the best players or goal kickers.

If yes can someone shed some light on his game on the weekend?

It was said in another thread that he was ill but played anyway and was not playing to his usual standard. Not a good day for him apparently.

He's 174cm, which is in between both.

Did Prestia play on the weekend Wall-e? If so did he have a quiet one? If not is he likely to still play most of the championships?

Do you think he may slide a bit due to size and a possible lack of exposure in the championships?

He doesnt appear to be as big a ball winner as guys like Bennell and Josh Green. Is that correct? If so, along with his small stature, do you think he'd be more suited to a small forward role as an opportunist he doesnt necessarily rack up the possessions or do you think he is a dead set midfielder?

He played Lunacy, but suffered a hamstring complaint. He'll play so long as he's fit.

He gets plenty of the footy usually, just having a horror champs run; hammy this week, sick the week before.

He's not a crumber type small forward, but can play HFF. Ideally, he's a mid. Too classy around stoppages and his disposal is too damaging to not have him where the footy is.

He will slide due to his height, and what seems like an unlicky champs period.

Not too sure how to judge him against Bennell, I've only seen limited stuff on Harley, but from what I have seen, he gets just as much of it, but Bennell can go forward and really damage as that opportunistic type. Green is playing a lone hand for Tassie, he is a really nice type, but I have Prestia right there with him.

As said before, I may be a little blinded with Prestia love, but I really rate this kid.

He played Lunacy, but suffered a hamstring complaint. He'll play so long as he's fit.

He gets plenty of the footy usually, just having a horror champs run; hammy this week, sick the week before.

He's not a crumber type small forward, but can play HFF. Ideally, he's a mid. Too classy around stoppages and his disposal is too damaging to not have him where the footy is.

He will slide due to his height, and what seems like an unlicky champs period.

Not too sure how to judge him against Bennell, I've only seen limited stuff on Harley, but from what I have seen, he gets just as much of it, but Bennell can go forward and really damage as that opportunistic type. Green is playing a lone hand for Tassie, he is a really nice type, but I have Prestia right there with him.

As said before, I may be a little blinded with Prestia love, but I really rate this kid.

You keep saying he was sick in the first game mate. I've heard it was just nerves. I rate Dion right up there with the best mids his age but his champs have been very average/unlucky.

i think Prestia will slide all the way to the rookie draft. they just dont take chances on kids under 180cm. you would have to think that a couple of VC boys are now ahead of him,,, such as Parker, Hallahan & Pitt. All rated prior the championships and all featuring in the best players and all over 180cm.
You only have to look at last years draft - Hooper!

Hooper has neither the speed, agility nor disposal of Prestia, nothing alike.

He'll probably slide, but not to the RD in my opinion.

Well... Can anyone fill me in on his championships. Did he return or was he sick/injured through the championships? I think I remember him missing the first game.

Maybe he'll slide a fair way now. Im keen (not with first round pick though).

Dion said he's hoping for Wednesday return. Was pretty dissapointed to get a hammy injury against Tassie as he had 5 touches in the first 5 minutes before it twanged.

I hope he plays, but regardless, recruiters would have already seen enough over the 2-3 years at the Cannons. Also expecting very stong Draft Camp results.

Is the same guy who played for West Lalor? If so he is a total gun Terry Wallace said that Essendon should pick him up with their first pick as they need a power inside midfielder.

Yes. He did play at West Lalor for majority of his Junior career before moving to Greenvale to pursue a spot on the Calder list.

Where do you guys think he'll go? He got injured which doesn't help him and with all the other kids playing well do you think he can slip to the 2nd round?
His agility and beep test results at camp will make people remember who he is, and anyone who's seen him play for Calder knows how damaging he is.