Miqar_Baqfhied

Swan Districts
I work in health and safety and its becoming very mind numbing, and Im thinking of a change. Understandably I get little respect at work, and I spend my days massaging egos and trying not to step on people's toes with minimal resources at hand. I think that really my own purpose is to reduce the risk of liability to the company, not actually protecting people. Some of the stuff we have to get employees to do is unbelievable. Would you wear high vis and have a GPS on hand walking around a car park at the shops, or fill in a JHA to fix your own car?

My view of work is that you have to be in a job or profession you're passionate about and enjoy. You spend so much time there in life, to be unhappy at work and feel like Im not making a worthwhile contribution to society goes against the grain of everything I reckon.

Such is my conundrum about finding a job I like doing Im actually booked in to seeing a career counsellor about it.

Do you enjoy your job, and whats your views of work/career?

Love it. Work with a lot of fun colleagues, and work with disadvantaged youth. Can be tough, but always feels worthwhile.

I'm also a qualified career counselor if you want...

I need a counselor.. tbh... not brave enough to ask anyone for help or tell them anything.

:oops:

Work in finance for an Australian owned company. Only a small team, but my colleagues are very easy to get along with, next to no stress at all and my hours are 9am to 5pm, with a commute of about 25 minutes by car each way. Can get a little quiet at times, but this can be expected given the role I am in. And as you can see, surfing the internet during works hours is ok as well.

Retail is retail. You see the best and worst of society at Bunnings. In general I like where I work and wouldn't mind spending a fair few years there.

Out of all the retail jobs I've worked my current one is the best, granted the worst part of this one is just the customers, managers and coworkers are decent, staff discounts are great, pay is great, just some weekends when it's busy or a storewide sale is on... The customer stupidity makes you want to smack your head against a wall.

Work in consumer electronics retail, great fun because of the excellent team we have. Regularly get some of the best results in the state, excellent culture.

Work 30 hours a week with huge flexibility from management for my university commitments. Got promoted to a supervisor role and it gives me extra cash for basically doing what I always was doing.

Commission is great as well if you are good, I get around 750 a month.

I worked for myself for 15 years then went and did a stint in the corporate world. One thing I noticed is you just can't avoid ****wits. Most places I work 80% of people are cool and then there's 20% sociopath. Most of those sociopaths you can avoid conflict but there's always one or two who you can't avoid.

When you work for yourself for long periods you strip off all the bullshit. You don't bother doing shit that is not going to earn you money. You don't play politics, you don't run obstruction campaigns on people, you don't white ant people, you don't do sneaky shit to colleagues and customers, you don't bother dressing stuff up to make you look better in front of your boss.

Going into corporate land you see this shit everywhere. You see people do it and you turn a blind eye because it doesn't affect you but that's always going to be one f***head who is try to ride you like a fairground pony.

Given the total things I enjoy in life amount to (watching footy, drinking piss, and having sex when I can get it and masturbating when I can't) it's unlikely I will find a job doing something I enjoy.

I have come to realise that (I always knew but then for some reason I went and got a job) life is too short to spend 5 days out of 7 working for someone else and dealing with spadgers.

I worked for myself for 15 years then went and did a stint in the corporate world. One thing I noticed is you just can't avoid ****wits. Most places I work 80% of people are cool and then there's 20% sociopath. Most of those sociopaths you can avoid conflict but there's always one or two who you can't avoid.

When you work for yourself for long periods you strip off all the bullshit. You don't bother doing shit that is not going to earn you money. You don't play politics, you don't run obstruction campaigns on people, you don't white ant people, you don't do sneaky shit to colleagues and customers, you don't bother dressing stuff up to make you look better in front of your boss.

Going into corporate land you see this shit everywhere. You see people do it and you turn a blind eye because it doesn't affect you but that's always going to be one f***head who is try to ride you like a fairground pony.

Given the total things I enjoy in life amount to (watching footy, drinking piss, and having sex when I can get it and masturbating when I can't) it's unlikely I will find a job doing something I enjoy.

I have come to realise that (I always knew but then for some reason I went and got a job) life is too short to spend 5 days out of 7 working for someone else and dealing with spadgers.

I always thought you fought crime at night, didn't realise you had a job during the day.

A regular clark kent!

Is commission determined just by a % of sales? Or do get a different vig for different products?

It's actually based off gross profit. It encourages you to make deals that are good for both the company and the customer.
5% of the gross profit of sales that you attach accessories or warranties to.

I enjoy it from time to time but the daily grind gets to me.

Not sure that there's anything else I'd be happier doing as a career though.

I think I'm just one of those people who would always rather be doing something else at any particular time...

I work 3 days a week in a family business whch allows me to pursue another hobby which makes me money (poker)

Its opened my eyes to the work/life balance and how shitty the 5/2 balance is. I think a better balance for all of us is 4/3 as I'm currently doing 4/3 I usually have one day a week that is a real nothing day, while the others I keep busy.

Its helped a lot with sleep, sleeping much better now (although I wasnt sleeping poorly before, it feels now like I was missing out on a few hours).

Mondays arent bad, almost look forward to getting busy again. There is no burnout, for instance this wednesday I didnt realise my week was done until the night when I was going to go to bed but realised I didnt need to be up early the next day.

On the counter, I miss the thursday/friday 'high' of looking forward to the weekend and the feeling of finishing on Friday

As for the work, its a casual office job with only another person in the office. Its not as enjoyable as other jobs I've had, but the lifestyle change is certainly worth it.

Family men in white collar jobs wasting their time on football forums. What fulfilment.

All those personal vendettas and attacks are even less cutting than before.