Dockerland

Dockerland can be clever at times, but I really don't like the way it moderates out any opinion that doesn't match its own.

For instance, prior to the first derby, some DL poster reposted my weekly match preview from eaglesflyinghigh.com. Then launched into a personal attack on me because I was an Eagles fan who dared to suggest that I really thought the Dockers were more likely to win. What was interesting was that a whole stack of other DL posters jumped on with their personal attack, yet most posts made by me (or another EFH regular) were deleted. Apparently personal attacks were OK as long as they targeted an "e-girls" supporter.

A mate of mine (who is dyed in the wool purple and an occasional DL poster) even stated he thought they'd gone way too far. He also said that he didn't bother posting his opinion as he knew it would get deleted.

I know quite a few of you purple people here frequent EFH, and you'd know I don't delete much of what you have to say unless you get personally abusive. If someone gets stuck into you personally I'd give you the right of reply, certainly something I'd have appreciated on DL.

Mr Q, I have looked at your site a couple of times though never posted, and agree there is very light moderation. It may seem unfair to you how DL is edited and understand that posting your review, then personally attacking you is pretty poor form especially if you are not given a right of reply.

But DL is a different forum. It is for Freo supporters and makes no excuses for the way it is run. If you go there you know what to expect. If you choose to allow your posters to express their opinion whatever it is, and allow trolls to have a go, that is your decision - it is your forum.

I just don't get why DL is constantly raised at this site. The solution just seems so obvious.

A lot of posters, both Freo and Weagles, go on there with a Big Footy mentality. I guess you’d liken it to what you term a ‘newbie’ here. As with newbies here, get used to the tone of the site (DL or BF) or one of the following will happen. At Dockerland you’ll get deleted and/or edited, won’t understand why and come here and moan about it. At Big Footy you can continue to post carp whether it makes you look like a tosser or not. Not saying all posts are like that.

Like His Holiness said, it’s not a chat room.

Some like it both ways.

And I'm not shane either.

purplesoul said:
Mr Q, I have looked at your site a couple of times though never posted, and agree there is very light moderation. It may seem unfair to you how DL is edited and understand that posting your review, then personally attacking you is pretty poor form especially if you are not given a right of reply.

But DL is a different forum. It is for Freo supporters and makes no excuses for the way it is run. If you go there you know what to expect. If you choose to allow your posters to express their opinion whatever it is, and allow trolls to have a go, that is your decision - it is your forum.

You've got the core of my grievance (such as it is). If [shane] and co had had the decency to delete the abuse as well as my replies, I wouldn't have a problem with DL. It wasn't me that started it after all.

Of course if Mission Man is actually one of the moderators there then I'm not surprised as he was one of the abusive people IIRC. Certainly he got stuck into me, I replied, my reply was deleted and the thread was promptly locked. Since MM had challenged me to reply in his post that was particularly unfair.

Why is this thread still going?
Dockerland is heavily moderated...some posters like it that way..others dont....
Its like your own preference in music...if you dont like a song u dont listen to it, use the same mentality for websites.
I dont edit like shane, but he has his reasons and he gets more posts so what does that say?
The only thing not tolerated is over the top abuse and blatant trolling the rest is let slide.
Surely its time to move on?
I mean we have more pressing issues like the state of our side and coach.

Boomhauer said:
Get off the grass.

If Shane (you?) has the time to edit so many posts simply to correct spelling, he must have the single worst life ever.

The guy must be a total hermit.

I assume he is? Behind every cheer squad and supperter bulleting board there is someone with a serious lack of social skills - but they do what they can to make the world a better place I think.

You know, I just find this stuff amazing. Missed all this away with work most of this year, but I still want to add something.

Couple of points.

i) Dockerland is still the resource for Fremantle information. The media knows, everyone knows. You don't have to post, just read, and you might even have a laugh along the way. I honestly don't have a problem with the moderating or editing. Name me one information resource that isn't and I'll show you garbage.

ii) People who complain about being deleted or edited are being a bit precious. So you didn't get heard. If it was valid and worth saying you it would have stayed in, or should have found another way to phrase it. Unless it went in with some other stuff, it should still be on there.

iii) I fired off an email to Shane once very disappointed after making what I thought was a hilarious reference to Croad needing fluffers in the changerooms to get him fired up, which was of course deleted. It is the only deletion that I can recall, honestly. He very promptly replied that whilst he agreed it was funny, it was not appropriate. And fair enough. It is HIS website.

iv) I really think some of you need to take another look at Dockerland without the blinkers. It can be so much more, even under the current format. But if it truly isn't for you, try the alternatives, but how about a bit of respect for those that make it what it is. Shane doesn't ban dissenting thought, unless it is truly combative, I believe he asks for considered positions, and we all try to have a laugh along the way.

v) IP, I'm a bit worried about you. Craig Turley was awfully girlie, even for an Eagle. (Smilie, etc.)

blockerhall said:
v) IP, I'm a bit worried about you. Craig Turley was awfully girlie, even for an Eagle. (Smilie, etc.)

I was young and into the blonde surfie types at the time. What else can I say??? Except that maybe you should be more worried about Ex that he still has the mask. (smilie, etc... oh and wink too.)

dasler said:
Dockerland is a disgrace. The Dockerland motto should read

"Dockerland.....telling you your opinion since 1995"

I agree completely.

The net is about freedom of speech and hearing the opinions of others (even if you don't agree with them).

If its about footy in some way shape or form and doesn't vilify any one it shouldn't be deleted.

Dockerland for Shane is like a big sports car for a man with a small penis.

blockerhall said:
ii) People who complain about being deleted or edited are being a bit precious. So you didn't get heard. If it was valid and worth saying you it would have stayed in, or should have found another way to phrase it. Unless it went in with some other stuff, it should still be on there.

So know says what is valid and what is not? Not the smartest of comments.

blockerhall said:
iii) I fired off an email to Shane once very disappointed after making what I thought was a hilarious reference to Croad needing fluffers in the changerooms to get him fired up, which was of course deleted. It is the only deletion that I can recall, honestly. He very promptly replied that whilst he agreed it was funny, it was not appropriate. And fair enough. It is HIS website.

Thats because you are one of the golden few. You are very much in the clique and you kow it.

blockerhall said:
iv) I really think some of you need to take another look at Dockerland without the blinkers. It can be so much more, even under the current format. But if it truly isn't for you, try the alternatives, but how about a bit of respect for those that make it what it is. Shane doesn't ban dissenting thought, unless it is truly combative, I believe he asks for considered positions, and we all try to have a laugh along the way.

Shane asks for nothing but the regurgitation of the same stereotypes and carticatures of footy and really doesn't add much to actual footy discussion.

This post would have definitely been deleted on Dockerland.

raffrox said:
Shane asks for nothing but the regurgitation of the same stereotypes and carticatures of footy and really doesn't add much to actual footy discussion.

This post would have definitely been deleted on Dockerland.
Of course it would. Because, he tries to keep the topics on football. Not about websites (his own or comparisons with others), not about people having an online friendship/chatroom.
If you sometimes see what he deletes, then you would be very thankful.
You don't get the Luke Logan/'s of the world asking stupid questions. You don't get the teenagers/younger fans saying "I love Pav, who's your favourite player" or "Where do you think we'll finish next year".
Apart from the obscure from lemon, a pun or two from Oos or some ranting from MM, it's generally pretty straight down the line footy talk.
Yes, some might feel he's a bit too precious about the MOB, and he probably is, but he manages to have about the only flame free/stupid comment free site around. He also generally limits the criticism of players, fair enough in my mind.
All this crap about the Web being about freedom of speech - sure it is. But find the right forum. Email the club, make your own website, use this one or WHTP or whatever. DL has it's own rules, some aren't obvious/clear to those more used to the free for all that occurs here, but when you realise what they are, we can all live happily ever after in purple together.

raffrox said:
Thats because you are one of the golden few. You are very much in the clique and you know it.

Hooray for me. Other that a couple of people who knew who I was from footy and my name, I don't know the Dockerland crew from a bar of soap. Still haven't met any. Might one day. Yes, there is a comaraderie that comes from posting over a few years, but really, that doesn't count for diddley-squat. If I posted complete rubbish it would get nuked.

Rather than referring to it as a clique, how about considering it as (heaven forbid) a group of mainly like-minded fremantle supporters, and showing it a bit of respect. I certainly don't expect every Docker supporter to be like me or share my perspective. Probably the opposite- I certainly want constuctive thought. The purple encompasses a veritable plethora of stereotypes, probably more so than most clubs, and I still believe Dockerland gets dissent on a range of relevant issues. Very Healthy, Intelligent Dissent.

Anyway, I reckon Dockerland has a fair bit going for it, and that's why I contribute occasionally. Though the demographic suits my outlook more that BigFooty I guess, and Sabre_ac is sort of on the money with "Each to his own", -I still reckon give it another look, and consider it as another part of what it means to be purple.

Like many others, I visit DL on a regular occasion and I post when I have something to say, and I get along with everyone well there so far. And I get very frustrated with posts getting edited and deleted. Total Package, dasler and MrQ have made some very valid points about that site that I have to agree with.

Anyway, theres one side where you can say anything you like without the editing and moderating of DL. Its on my signature. LOGIN NOW!!!!!

110 members at present, we need more.

The simple fact is that DL and BF are two different social environments. One is Shane's Speakeasy and the other Appleyards Alehouse. The Alehouse is a place where people can be loud and obnoxious, have a big night out, and do it all over again with a hangover the next day. Of course Fred at the door kicks out the worst of the trash, but no thread is immune from some stumbling fool on his way back from the bar with a tray of Cougars he inadvertently bought.
The speakeasy is a somewhat quiet, reserved place that appears to be a public bar but in reality is owned by one of the drinkers. On the front door there is a sign

"Here at the Message Board you can talk about the Dockers, the AFL or just bag the Eagles. Please don't say anything that will get lawyers involved and remember that the message board is for everyone so leave the bad language out. Any messages criticising Brad Dodd will be removed.

Dockerland.com takes no responsibility for what is posted. "

But the reality is that there are other rules that are not spoken of. There is no reputation on show, no post counts... it is only by attending a few times you realise the in-jokes and the in-crowd. There are lanyard bedecked citrus fruit, valedictory writers and philosophers. There is also a sense that Brad Dodd must have many guises or that lawyers have extremely wide interests because of what gets typed then disappears. Just like lab rats, you learn very quickly which posts will bring you food and which the electric shock. Despite what it says on the door, it's Shane's house, Shane's rules.

So if you want a boisterous night out on the town and don't want to think too hard about what you say, or don't care who you offend (or even who you want to offend) then drink at the alehouse. If you want measured conversation and strictly policed conduct rules... head to the speakeasy. Just depends on the company and sort of entertainment you're after

goalsneek said:
But the reality is that there are other rules that are not spoken of. There is no reputation on show, no post counts... it is only by attending a few times you realise the in-jokes and the in-crowd. There are lanyard bedecked citrus fruit, valedictory writers and philosophers. There is also a sense that Brad Dodd must have many guises or that lawyers have extremely wide interests because of what gets typed then disappears. Just like lab rats, you learn very quickly which posts will bring you food and which the electric shock. Despite what it says on the door, it's Shane's house, Shane's rules.

You're darn right there! His rules are more complex than the womens rules for men floating around. You can find this printed on some household fridges and/or surely you've received this in an email at some point!

I'm convinced the guy must be related to the soup nazi! :D

I was a dockerland person for longer than I've been a bigfooty person.

But I got majorly dis-illusioned with it. The media unfortunately does seem to go there for the "official" members view and its as one sided as the "Worst" when it comes to comment. Its an extremely one sided view of all that is purple. Bigfooty is closer to a real slice of dockers members. Teenie boppers, tools, fanatics and casual fans alike.

Dockerlands elitist attitude (We are the hardcore so we are better) is as twisted and bias as the people that it takes pot shots of (media, eagles fans, any one with an alternative opinion etc... etc...).

But of course good luck to those that want to go there.

Rant over.

fat wombat said:
You're darn right there! His rules are more complex than the womens rules for men floating around. You can find this printed on some household fridges and/or surely you've received this in an email at some point!

I'm convinced the guy must be related to the soup nazi! :D

I think the problem is that people mistake a forum thats open to the public for a public forum... the sort where everyone can have their say. Clearly this is not the case. For example Lemon started a thread called "Ocean Views" comparing Dockers players to Real Estate ie "211=Ocean Views"

I posted one "Coaching Position = Tenant vacating premises next September" and it was deleted. And yet look what has managed to survive:

Mission Man ****Posted: 03-Dec-04**12:57
Re: ocean views
"Close to colourful Northbridge identity - Cousins, Gardiner"

Now you tell me which one is more likely to "get the lawyers involved"

(Oh and I pasted it here rather than a link just in case the evidence was 'cleaned')

error404 said:
This has been done a thousand times before and the solution is simple. If you don't like a site, don't go there.

That's a copout and a decidedly weak one at that. I thought we lived in a democracy?

raffrox said:
I was a dockerland person for longer than I've been a bigfooty person.

But I got majorly dis-illusioned with it. The media unfortunately does seem to go there for the "official" members view and its as one sided as the "Worst" when it comes to comment. Its an extremely one sided view of all that is purple. Bigfooty is closer to a real slice of dockers members. Teenie boppers, tools, fanatics and casual fans alike.

Dockerlands elitist attitude (We are the hardcore so we are better) is as twisted and bias as the people that it takes pot shots of (media, eagles fans, any one with an alternative opinion etc... etc...).

But of course good luck to those that want to go there.

Rant over.

Your spot on there. And so is goalsneek. Well said.

YAKUZA said:
I thought we lived in a democracy?

That's also a copout and a decidedly weak one at that.

Fact is, dockerland is an unofficial dockers fansite, it is Shane's site and if he wants to moderate the forum in the manner he does, then good on him. Whatever floats your boat. Shane doesn't owe anyone anything.

Anyone complaining about dockerland is completely free to go and start their own site and forum and say what they want, how they want, which seems is the general idea of wehavethepassion.com.

Dockerland