Universal Love Dockers / Cardies Double?

West Perth
I'm clearly a Dockers tragic and I've also been barracking for the Cardies since I was 4 or 5 when my Grandfather (Garlic Munchers team of the century member) took me every week to whatever oval in whatever weather. He's a life member and footy is our families life.

The hulking back pocket / wingman has since passed (RIP). He was an Eagles supporter when they joined but just before he died he was also supporting Freo. He knew I was the only Freo fan in the entire family so he started to swing out of sympathy I think.

Well 2013 could be the year we get the double. I will be praying to Yakka! during the game on Saturday and also the WAFL GF on Sunday. I know he be doing his best to get us both over the line.

How many other Cardies fans hoping for an exceptional year?

I'm right there with you!

PS - For those "young'uns" out there, the players pictured in my avatar are Bill Dempsey (further from the ball) and Mel Whinnen. Two champions from the time we were the Cardies and our home ground was Leederville Oval. Good times.

Go the dockers, can't tolerate the Cardies winning, actually now that I think about it, can't tolerate EP winning either.

Side Note- I hope the dockers supporters that are going to the game are louder then the WP supporter who is at all of their games screaming Go West, Gooooooooooooooooo West.

Will create an imposing atmosphere for the Swans.

My mate told a story about his grandfather. His grandfather last name was leeder and their forefather William leeder donated the land for leederville oval. My mates grandfather was in a Japanese war camp in ww2. His hatred of east perth made him say " if the japs were playing east perth on Anzac Day, he would go for the japs.

By the way, go young easts.

I was a young kipper in 89 at Leedie Oval seeing my heroes Paddy Maddafri take a hundred bounces a game and Craig Nelson unloading torps from the centre square. And Basil Zempilas getting injured by blades of grass but you can't have it all! Go Freo! Go Cardies!

Awesome post! I remember going to a WP final at Subi a long time ago with my Father, late 80's I think, I was a young age (around 10) and found it more interesting turning the record magazines into paper-planes and throwing them off the high stands - sneakily as though Dad and no-one else around knew, I believed I was getting away with this distraction.

A policeman wandered up and tapped Dad on the shoulder asking "does he belong to you?". He replied with a sincere tone "I do not know who he is". I was horrified.

We have attended most Dockers matches as members for 16 years now. It is priceless to be in this position now!

Anyway, go the mighty Cardies!!! and of course go the Mighty Dockers!!!

I remember bi Ben Jager, and pin head Nelson tapping it down to Alan Watling, Ross Gibbs and Brian Adamson climbing on peoples heads in the goal square.
My favourite memories are of big Johnny Duckworth steaming off the half back flank, 1 bounce, 2 bounces, then wooooooffffff!

Caaaaarrrrrnnnn West!

Ive noticed that no-one here has called them by their new generic nick "Falcons".
I'm no West Perth supporter (far from it) but The Cardinals has to be one of the best names in footy.
Get on it munchers....... bring back "The Cardies"!
(and while I'm at it, "The Sharks" aint much better........"Old Easts")

I can only assume your father owns Carlton United Breweries, you are better looking than Penelope Cruz and you live on a protien diet.

I've said all week, if Freo and The Cardies get up this year, I'm done with footy forever. What would be the point. Ultimate euforia. It would be like your first hit of Heroin. You spend the rest of your life chasing that first feeling but never getting there.

First memories of footy are sitting under the scoreboard at Leedervile with family and friends late 70's with big crowds. Happy days.