Miqar_Baqfhied

Swan Districts
Working in HSE, everyday I have to deal with dodgy workers comp claims and they infuriate me! Ive seen some absolute dogs claim for the most piss weak things. Like finger injuries from overusing company mobile phones, stress claims for recieving warnings over performance, stress claims for bee-stings. Injuries with no pathology to back anything up. Conservatively, I would estimate that 50% of the claims I see are dodgy. And the workers comp and fair work legislation is so pro-worker and piss weak that its nearly impossible to catch them out and get anything overturned. Even obvious surveillance footage holds no ground in court as the workers claims they have 'good days and bad days'. And there is equally dodgy lawyers and voc rehab providers and unions out there that support these pieces of sh*t. Dammit just the other week we got ordered to literally supply a stinking dodgy piece of scum a scrubber to wipe her own arse! Yet in the meantime shes been caught out shopping, exercising and loading utes.

Considering workers comp accounts for 9% of Australia's, the cost of nursing these soft fu*ks is astronomical. Yet people complain about the mining tax! Out there people are realising everyday just how easy it is to fake a claim and get off work for a nothing injury. Funny that stats for claims seem to rise around the holiday season...

Just wondering what experiences other people have had out there with this stuff.

I'm on workers comp for a stubbed toe from the boss leaving timber lieing around. OHS issue, stubbed my toe so having a week off for R&R. Those damn forms hardly made it worth it.

You stubbed your toe, how horrifying.

Whilst there's a good possibility you will get through the physical pain, I'm sure the mental scarring will be with you forever.

Good luck with your long recovery.

Agree with every word in the OP. Work with people that actively encourage others to claim over the most minor of injuries. I cut my finger and needed stitches a few months back so just used sick pay because I couldnt work with it due to what I do. When I returned I was told I was mad for doing so, could of claimed and been paid for the weekend shift I work every week and a whole bunch of other junk. No surprises the people most involved in the union are the ones that know all the Workcover perks.

Thread reminds me of the time a guy I know got out of PE class in high school because he had a tiny cut on his little toe.

I'm not sure if this sort of thing is because a lot of people are pathetic bitches, or they are trying to actually get as much out of the system as possible.

chopper.jpg

HARDEN THE F*CK UP AUSTRALIA

Thread reminds me of the time a guy I know got out of PE class in high school because he had a tiny cut on his little toe.
You can tell a lot about someone by how they went about phys ed in high school. Nothing worse than those piss weak losers hanging around the water fountains as everyone did the cross country. As a Western Australian, I just utilised our greatest skill during it: Complaining.

Oh, that and kids who got right into touch rugby but couldn't kick a footy to save their lives. Worst people.

What a disgrace.

You always seem to see a segment on Today Tonight/A Current Affair every few years of people getting work compo, can't help but lol when I see people lifting heavy shit or having a boogie in a neck brace or whilst on crutches. Then the inevitable run away from the camera as they are being followed by a news team.

My sister told me about someone in her year level who never did one minute of PE in her whole time of being at high school. She said it was due to an alleged "Ingrown Toenail", but never stopped her from playing out of school sport 3 times a week....

You can tell a lot about someone by how they went about phys ed in high school. Nothing worse than those piss weak losers hanging around the water fountains as everyone did the cross country. As a Western Australian, I just utilised our greatest skill during it: Complaining.

Oh, that and kids who got right into touch rugby but couldn't kick a footy to save their lives. Worst people.
I was one of those piss weak kids thank you very much and I have gone on to have a very successful and happy life; and having recently attended my 20th reunion, I would suggest to you that that the piss weak losers as you so eloquently put it, have achieved far more than those whose primary achievement was being able to run 3 kms quicker than anybody else.

20th reunion? GO HOME OLD MAN LOL!!!!!! :3

None of that will matter when the zombie infection starts spreading. What is the compensation related to getting bitten by a walker?

I think what Silent Alarm was suggesting is that those who 'opt out' of PE classes or anything difficult in life for that matter (not suggesting PE is difficult because it isn't) generally lack character compared to those who don't. Obviously this may not be the case for you, however the character of a particular person can usually be determined by whether they decide to tackle things head on or simply opt out.
It's not as if PE is difficult in the grand scheme of life anyway. It requires one hour of effort 2-3 times a week, and the only pain it causes is a little bit of huff and puff/shortness of breath and possibly some sore muscles afterwards. If some people choose to make excuses to get out of that, then they may very well struggle when the going actually gets tough in life.

How the **** could anyone not like P.E ffs. Shorts and a T-shirt compared to heavy pants and all this other school shit that isnt necessary for 13 year olds, Girls wearing less than what they otherwise would (in winter) and most importantly playing sport. I loved it. But then again I am not a 4 foot weakling who ways 30kg. Most of the time it good fun talking with mates as well

Right.

Did it ever occur to you that I wasn't being entirely serious?

I'm by no means a jock or a douchebag who's life peaked at winning school footy. But the kids, at my school, who made up excuses during phys ed and sat around texting chicks in their Monster Energy caps have ended up like this: One dead (which is pretty sad, and irrespective of not doing PE, admittedly), most on the dole, and all of them in my shitty coastal town of 35,000 people. They're unemployed, into fighting at nightclubs, and being socially cancerous. Yeah. The kids who weren't good at sport, and more scholarly, went about it in a different way. I had plenty of mates who'd sooner read books than run around an oval. But they'd have a kick of the footy, or at least take the piss out of themselves: Much like my unscholarly friends who'd take the piss out of their poor language skills, or whatever.

There's a difference between not being good at sport, and just copping out of something because you're egos too easily bruised when people realise you can't kick a ball.

Aside from being a tool to get into university, I'm of the opinion that very little that happens to you at school is relevant to the rest of your life.
I agree completely. School is basically pointless. My best mate was just smart. But he realised the hype and bullshit behind school and the education system, got an awful ATAR, and will enroll at ANU in 2013. I don't even know why kids get so upset about their year 12 results: The uni system is just myth and politics. Yet there are people whose social, sporting, and academic life will trough post-school: Usually the arseholes who are content with a spouse who bosses them around, has no career satisfaction, a bland cream-brick-and-tiles house, two four wheel drives, and a mortgage. People I know, one year out of school, are embedded into this lifestyle already.

Aside from being a tool to get into university, I'm of the opinion that very little that happens to you at school is relevant to the rest of your life.

If you mean the later years then yes, I found Form 4-6 (year 10-12) essentially pointless. You don't learn too much in high school that will come in handy at uni or later on in life. Primary school is a little different though, you learn the very basic stuff (reading, writing, maths et al) needed to succeed later on.

Of course a lot has probably changed in the schooling system in the 3 decades since then.