Universal Love Down Memory Lane

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

Bummer, should have caught public transport.

I'm with you on that one... then after we won, you could walk out of the G, down to Elizabeth St, on to the #19, straight up Royal Pde and over to the great Princes Park to celebrate all night with everyone.

Wait wait wait??

Someone is older than our very own 1000 year old T-man??

This can't be!!

Better give up the title T. :D
I think his name gives us a clue. Darryl23. 90 years young! Did you see us win in 38? Give us an idea of the great Soapy Vallence. :cool: :rolleyes:

Skinny bugger, could kick though and a good grab for his size.
Kernahan broke his record goals tally for The Blues.

We have had some good skinny buggers over the years, maybe we should try and pick an all skinny team with Harry at full forward, Lappin would get a game, Phil Pinnell maybe, Rod Galt even.

I think his name gives us a clue. Darryl23. 90 years young! Did you see us win in 38? Give us an idea of the great Soapy Vallence. :cool: :rolleyes:

This is what I love about this board!!! :) :thumbsu:

Soapy was a regular fixture in the top bar of the Carlton Social Club. I'd quite often see him having a beer still enjoying life with the Navy Blues. I hope the beers were on the house. This is a man who played over 200 games for the Blues, kicked 722 majors and kicked 11 goals not once but twice in finals matches. It was rumoured that he played a few of his games under the weather and a cold shower was a pre-match ritual. The old shots of him with his perfectly coiffed hair courtesy of Brylcream made him look like film star. He still had a good head of hair when I saw him and, god bless, the hair was perfectly coiffed courtesy of Brylcream. The greatest 22 to represent Carlton. :thumbsu:

I have been to 2 Carlton grand finals, 1995 and 1987.

I remember taking it turns to stand in the queue with 3 other workmates outside the Princes Theatre in Spring St to get tickets for the 1995 grand Final. I did the 6am-9am 'shift'. It was a memorable premiership as we lost only 2 games for the year and won the last 16 games in a row. It was enjoyable watching the game in the 3rd quarter, piling on the goals, knowing that we could not lose and sit back and enjoy the rest of the game. The blues were certainly determined to make amends for our finals failures of 1994 and the 1993 grand final.

It felt like the middle of summer with the heat when we turned up to the the G for the 1987 grand final. We sat in the Ponsford stand, the end to where the blues kicked to in the last quarter when we played our best footy of the game and ran away with the game.

In 1982 we looked in a bit of trouble late in the season when the Swans outplayed us at the SCG and were in danger of missing the double chance with 3 tough games to follow. But we responded well by beating Richmond at the G, North Melb and Fitzroy to keep the vital double chance for the finals. Winning in 1982 was special for the fact that it was the only time we witnessed back to back Carlton flags in our lifetime.

It was great to win in 1981 after the unfortunate drama with George Harris / Jezza before the 1980 season began.

1979 was a great season as we did not have a slump. Lost only 3 games. 2 of our 3 losses were under 7 points and the other one was at Victoria Park by about 20 points. We had a fantastic side with young fast players-the mosquito fleet- Marcou, Buckley, Sheldon, Harmes and the experience of Doull, Southby, Keogh , Fitzpatric and Jezza. We scored 100 points in every game except for 2 games. Ironically our grand final score of 82 points was our lowest score for the season. I remember it pelted down with rain on the morning of the grand final and I was getting very nervous about how we would go. I don't think it rained during any footy games prior to the grand final that season. It was memorable to see Jezza being carried back on to the ground from the race when the siren went and the players rushing up to hug him.

The 1972 Grand final against the tigers was the earliest one I can remember. The build up to the game was overshadowed by the news of the Faraday school kidnapping which fortunately had a happy ending when the teacher and kids broke the door of a van they were locked in and escaped on grand final morning. The grand final was a fantastic game of long kicking, great marks, spectacular goals and high scores. Despite Carlton finishing on top of the ladder with only 3 losses we failed to beat the tigers in any game that season before the grand final. We went close in the second semi final at VFL park when the game ended in a sensational draw but we got thrashed by the tigers in the replay at the MCG. Captain-coach John Nicholls and the match commitee spent 2 weeks planning to beat the tigers, even before we played St Kilda in the Prelim. The blues decided to attack at all costs and kick the ball long, to beat the tigers at their own game. The result was that Carlton kicked a record grand final score and Richmond kicked the previous highest grand final score. Carlton made 8 positional changes to their selected side including Nicholls in the forward pocket and Jones in the ruck. Jezza played full forward and kicked 7 goals. Walls and big Nick kicked 6 goals each. Full forward Greg Kennedy kicked over 70 goals that season but was dropped after the Prelim final. To his credit Kennedy did not hold a grudge against the blues and only a few years ago mentioned that he understood why the blues made that change.

Unfortunately I was too young to remember the 1968 and 1970 premierships but enjoy watching these games on DVD. The 1968 one must have been great for the supporters who waited a long time for a flag. The last goal that Carlton kicked in the 1970 Grand final when Jezza kicked the ball and it bounced 3 or 4 times before it went through was a magical moment.

I remember the 1972 GF very fondly.

As a group we sat close to the players races when the teams ran out from the Northern Stand. C Section seats about a dozen rows back from the fence provided a great view. Pre-game I bought a pie and my mate did the honours with the sauce bottle. I called enough but he kept going. The only problem now, the sauce was splattering my cream coloured Levi cords :mad:

The game was a cracker. Richmond had thrashed us in the Second Semi and a number of Richmond players were great sledgers. The best of all. Kevin Sheedy, the toothless one. His target in the Semi was Big Nick. If you watch the game, have a look at the Carlton players giving it to Sheedy :D

We kicked 28 goals but we were having fun in the last quarter and only kicked three. Jezza kicked 7 goals, Nicholls and Walls 6 each.

Party time after the match. You'd hang out near the change rooms waiting for the players to come out. It was pretty exciting to see your heroes and they were excited having won the flag so convincingly.

I remember walking to the car with a couple of mates. We weren't going anywhere because our driver, my mum, was still chatting to friends back at the rooms. We were treated to the vanquished taking the short walk back to Punt Road, tails between legs. Ian Harlowe Stewart, triple Brownlow medallist, passed nearby. One of my mates called out "How'd you like the game, Flasher!" I thought to myself, funny comment but not the appropriate time to shout it. Stewart was not happy, his face turned red with rage and he obviously still had some petrol in the tank and ran towards my mate. My mate raced off with Stewart in pursuit. It was like the end of a Benny Hill show. We lost sight of them and had to get on top of the car roof to watch the show. We were laughing our heads off as they played ring a rosy around the cars. Stewart eventually gave up and my mate escaped with nothing but an aerobic workout. :)

One last memory. Some clever Carlton supporters rewrote the Richmond theme song as a result of the win.

They came from Tigerland
The fighting fury came from Tigerland
We listened to them
Shouting how they never lose
But when they met the Blues
With guts and pride we couldn't hide
We showed them who was who
The mighty boys in blue
With guts and pride we couldn't hide
We showed them who was who
Now there's one thing we know
Their only roosters that crow
Down in Tigerland

I still pull this one out occasionally when I'm in the mood :thumbsu:

Not footy related but with the cricket season upon us i have some fond memories from the MCG.
I was at 3 days of the Centenary Test against England. I went the day when Hookes hit Greig for 5 4's in an over. I also saw McCosker come out with his jaw bandaged after it was broken in the first innings (wouldnt happen these days). I think it was in 1977, i know it was in March.
I was also at the MCG when Warne took his 700th wicket, the noise from the crowd was something i will never forget.

Not footy related but with the cricket season upon us i have some fond memories from the MCG.
I was at 3 days of the Centenary Test against England. I went the day when Hookes hit Greig for 5 4's in an over. I also saw McCosker come out with his jaw bandaged after it was broken in the first innings (wouldnt happen these days). I think it was in 1977, i know it was in March.
I was also at the MCG when Warne took his 700th wicket, the noise from the crowd was something i will never forget.
I was there pissed to the eyeballs jumping up and down on the seats chanting "kill kill kill" when the poms came out in their second dig late in the day to face Lillee and Thommo. The atmosphere was electric

I remember the 1972 GF very fondly
In the standing room with my mates, slab per man. Most were pissing into the empty cans as it was totally impossible to get through the crowd to the toilet. Our bladder champion managed 18 cans before requiring relief. We left the car at Malvern station and had a designated driver. Only problem was that he fell a over t outside the ground had had difficulty getting up. Needless to say we stayed on the train all the way to Frankston.

One of my mates called out "How'd you like the game, Flasher!" I thought to myself, funny comment but not the appropriate time to shout it.

My grandmother used to give him genuine grief from The Gardiner Stand. She wasn't have been happy about him getting a coaching gig at Carlton - such as it was.

'72 was a great day. Mum, Dad & myself sat at the bottom of The Ponsford Stand, just behind the goals. I couldn't walk after copping a poisoned foot from a school swimming carnival. I hopped on one leg from Brighton to the MCG via the train, and everywhere else that day. Pity, otherwise I would have hopped the fence after the game and done a lap with the guys - something else we've lost. As it was I felt no pain that day.

That ten goal 2nd quarter was unbelievable. It rained goals, and we were in the best seats in the house to see them all.

There are so many records held by the Blues...

But the last big one we hold that will never be broken or replaced or whatever you want to call it...

Carlton are the last team in the modern (post 1970) era to win a grand final with a captain/coach.

There are so many records held by the Blues...

But the last big one we hold that will never be broken or replaced or whatever you want to call it...

Carlton are the last team in the modern (post 1970) era to win a grand final with a captain/coach.

Its unlikely that they'll get 121,000 at the MCG for another granny either

I dont know... I reckon Fat Vlad would have them standing in the aisles if it was a Carlton vs Collingwood grand final next year :D

I cannot let the 'I was in the crowd...' thread play off the goodwill generated by 'Down Memory Lane'. I was struggling for something of interest but the crowd reference reminded me a night at Festival Hall after the 1979 triumph. Now Festival Hall means many things to me. Catching the train from Glenroy meant you were close to a day out with your mates when you passed 'the House of Stoush'. It also played host to 'TV Ringside' on Channel 7 for many years. Ron Casey and Merv Williams entertained me with their ringside commentary. Ron played straight man to Merv's cliched observations. When a guy was in trouble and just throwing punches Merv would chime in with "He's swinging from the two bob seats" or "He's like the boy with the barrow. He's pushing it uphill". My first visit to Festival Hall was 1964 when The Beatles came to town. My mum felt generous and had my older brother baby sit me while the concert was on. I returned to Festival Hall over the years to see The Kinks, Cats Stevens, Chuck Berry, Santana, Focus etc. Even the wrestling when George 'The Animal' Steel was going around. But the extraordinary night was when the Carlton faithful gathered to decide the fate of George Harris and Alex Jesaulenko. I'm not certain now why it came about. It was clearly a power struggle that was gladiatorial in nature. George was never a shrinking violet and believed Carlton owed him an eternal debt as a result of his 15 years in charge. I think the opposition was led by Ivan Rohrt (but I'm happy to be corrected). Why Jezza sided with Harris is a mystery as well? I know I was confused as we had just won the Premiership and fighting was a curse for lower clubs. Speeches were made and a vote taken. Harris was out and Jezza left as a result to join St Kilda. I often wonder what could have been if Jezza had continued as coach. 1979, 1981 and 1982 is impressive but, without the fighting, 1980 could have been in the display cabinet at Princes Park. :rolleyes: