Universal Love Down Memory Lane

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

My fav pic EVER! :handok:

It is a bloody classic isn't it. A symbol of a much simpler day gone by where you could show your dislike for a club just by popping one of their jumpers in a bin!

Of course I know exactly what that picture is , but just in case, for those who don't really know, what's the story behind that pic TL? Who and what? For those who don't know of course....

I have actually stolen Aph's thunder so will let her tell the story. Aphrodite made that pic famous on this board so it is over to her...

I have just read through the first 16 pages of this thread and have tears running down my face, some of the funniest stuff I have read in ages. This is usually where I hang out during the trade rumour stuff.

I have actually stolen Aph's thunder so will let her tell the story. Aphrodite made that pic famous on this board so it is over to her...

I have just read through the first 16 pages of this thread and have tears running down my face, some of the funniest stuff I have read in ages. This is usually where I hang out during the trade rumour stuff.
Excellent idea... I might do the same...

Over to you Aph.

"It's an interesting story. I recall I had a bunch of olives tied to my belt which was the fashion of the time........"

Aphrodite
Melbourne 2016

No, mate. I remember him as fondly as you. The ultimate gun forward. Cause he played his fair share of crap games doesn't change that. But he was no Coleman, that's all.
59 goals in his first season Thy not a bad effort, if he played for us while MM was coach he would've been shown the door for kicking more than 40 goals in each of his 3 years

You'll like this one. 14 goals straight kicked by the Blues in 1984 against the Bulldogs. The commentators were getting more and more excited as the accuracy kept happening. (Most goals kicked without a point in club's history)

In Down Memory Lane language....utility!
It was an authentic description of footballers on the Scanlan footy cards. I reckon that the famous Bert Thornley, 1970 premiership player, was described as "utility".