Universal Love Down Memory Lane

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

Great descriptions of Nick and Jezza all. My favorite Nick match up was against Don McKenzie of *. Both large men (for the time) with pointy elbows that could play.
I recall on an ep of Grumpy Old Men on Foxtel where someone mentioned back in the day if you were over 6 foot Big Nick would get you and if you under 6 foot Collo would get you. Back in the day each team had an enforcer or two.

Collo had sharp elbows. So did Wes Lofts. Big Nick was more a back hander type of man. Although he didn’t mind the body drop on a prostrate rover.

Sharpest elbows in the game.

Seems if you have access to fox footy channel tonight they have Carlton v North game from 1987 on it, followed by a Winners episode from 1982 when we play Collingwood at home.
I wonder if the 1987 game is the final round game in amazing end to 1987 home and away season ?

Strangely I do not think I went to that 87 game. Do not know why. Rarely missed games back then. Must have been sick. Remember following that afternoon on radio. Someone should make an Aussie movie of the last afternoon of 1987 home and away season.

it was what was happening at the other games simultaneously that made the kernahan kick even more special - people were yelling out the other scores keeping the crowd updated - from memory dogs, dees, cats, hawks were all involved (correct me) exciting as it gets - sticks' goal put us top, gave us the weeks rest and ensured we were never going to lose the gf played on a 30 degree day

I've never seen the full game so hopefully I can see it somehow. Probably saw 30 or so minutes of it on Seven's Big League back then. Would have been Cats v Hawks, Dogs v Dees and North v Blues games on the replay show I reckon.

Was the round where a goal either way changed 7 positions on the ladder.

That’s my Saturday night set.

Was the round where a goal either way changed 7 positions on the ladder.
Was most incredible round I have ever seen. To follow all the games at once on radio is something that will never happen again, in terms of the drama unfolding as you followed it. Was so rooting for Robbie Flower to have his team in finals. But then wanting my own team on top and also hating on Hawks down at Kardinia Park at same time.

Ladder before start of final round of 1987.
68 Carlton 140.5%
64 Hawks 150.2%
56 Sydney 131.1
54 North 99.5

Top team gets first week off and double chance to advance to grand final. Massive prize. If Hawks beat Cats down Cattery and we lose to North at Waverley, Hawks get the prized top spot with week off. North potentially can get 3rd place double chance if Swans lose to Fitzroy at Princes Park. Us blowing top spot would be bad. Our club doing it very tough with Peter Motley, many of us fearing may die in months leading into this and Des English fighting cancer battle at same time. So double chances on line, prized minor premiership on line which was massive back then and below these teams the other fighting out for last spot in top five to make Elimination Final. Dees had not made finals for over two decades after Barassi left. Everyone's favourite player outside their own club was Robbie Flower in his last season. For him to make finals would be a fairytale for that club, him and the football world in general. They are playing Dogs at Western Oval at same time as other games going on.

5th spot
46 Geelong 100.5%
------------------------
outside top five
44 Footscray 96.3%
44 Melbourne 107.6%
40 West Coast 94.0%

If Geelong lose to Hawks at Kardinia Park the winner of Footscray v Melbourne will make the finals.

On the Friday night the bottom two teams played at the G
Richmond second last on 20 points and 83.5%
Brisbane Bears last on 20 points with 76.1%

The Tiger Army come out in force like the always do.....12 thousand turned up.....

Home team score Away team score Venue Crowd Date
Richmond 17.11 (113) Brisbane Bears 26.13 (169) MCG 12,079 28 August 1987

The Bears in first season avoid wooden spoon by thumping the Tigers on Tigers home deck.
Beautiful start to round the night before...

Saturday arvo the fixture is...

Fitzroy v Sydney at Princes Park
Geelong v Hawthorn at Kardinia Park
Footscray v Melbourne at Western Oval
Carlton v North Melbourne at Waverley Park

The two Sunday games for next day have no bearing on finals as Pies, Dons, Eagles and Saints cannot make the finals.
It is all down to the four Saturday games starting at same time...

what an afternoon it was to live through.
The four games at same time could go either way at three quarter time. Top spot, double chances and last finals spot all totally up in air minute by minute.
Dickson family at minimum got to make a doco on this day.

So true. The AFL needs to explore going back to that in the last round. Get rid of the bye before the finals and and have the type of last round fixturing as in 87 and it’d be a perfect lead up to the finals. I’m sure an eight game all-in-one-day scenario is possible.

I've never seen the full game so hopefully I can see it somehow. Probably saw 30 or so minutes of it on Seven's Big League back then. Would have been Cats v Hawks, Dogs v Dees and North v Blues games on the replay show I reckon.

Turns out it could not be on channel seven as it was first time they did not have the footy in my life. ABC had it via Sportplay cable tv company I think. Tim Lane used to hosts their late afternoon review show and replay that year. Was a one off year between channel 7 having it for the normal Saturday replay show.