Turbo911

What players/needs do we think Geelong may draft in 09?
We have p15, could this be traded (either for player or try to get an upgraded rd1 pick)?

I don't know much about the players we could potenially draft this year, but I would think we would be looking at another fwd & back with the first couple of picks & try to take the best remaining talent with the remaining live picks we have. Who in this year's draft will Geelong try to get?

What rookies could also be elevated this year?

Interested in people's thought's as I believe Geelong have a paths we could go down in regards to trades & drafting.

Assuming the Cats hierarchy will go softly softly I don't expect to see too much happening.

Pick 15 is better that last year's pick 16, but I doubt we'll be as lucky in getting another ready made footballer like Harry Taylor.

Shannon Byrnes looms as the most likely trade bait of any value - a premiership player who could slot into most teams. I doubt we'll get much for him, though

well i doubt we will have much rookie picks because harley or scarlett will go onto the veterens list and liam bedford will get delisted so we will have 1 or 2 spots there because all other rookies are 1st year players.

i think the main sort of players we need are:

1st round - Midfielder with speed! or a tall forward
2nd round - Small back who can play a shut down role
3rd round - small crumbing forward
4th round - RANGA

rookie draft we should probably draft a key back or a small back again but we need more speed especially if byrnes and or tenace go.

well i doubt we will have much rookie picks because harley or scarlett will go onto the veterens list and liam bedford will get delisted so we will have 1 or 2 spots there because all other rookies are 1st year players.

i think the main sort of players we need are:

1st round - Midfielder with speed! or a tall forward
2nd round - Small back who can play a shut down role
3rd round - small crumbing forward
4th round - RANGA

rookie draft we should probably draft a key back or a small back again but we need more speed especially if byrnes and or tenace go.

Very excited about these prospects (particularly RANGA):thumbsu:

we need a good ff hav`nt had one since garry snr left we have tried for years to get a good ff paid good money and got zilch mainly w coast rejects who was the last one we got? a big useless buggar can`t remember his name dont think he played a game in the 2 years we had him

Spinksy???
:eek::eek::eek:

we also had David Haynes in 04' (bad mistake)

That was Brett Spinks.

Tom Hawkins is your man now, with Scott Simpson as second option. I think both will hold us in great stead in the next few years.

I really hope you're not suggesting we go out and try to trade for Hall ...

First pick should go to best available talent left but concentrating on a KPP, defender or forward. I think we need a defender more than a forward. My reasons are;

- Egan's recovery from the foot injury has to be a real worry. He's been out of the game for over a season now and it's the kind of injury that is notoriously difficult to get right. Hird said he was only able to continue playing by reducing his playing weight. This may present problems as Egan is a bigger and heavier boy than Hird. More pressure will be applied to his foot when he's at full tilt. You would have to consider the possibility that he may never get it right or be the same player that he was in 2007.
- Harley, Milburn and Scarlett are all close to retirement. Mooney is the only key forward that is close to retirement.
- Where does Lonergan play? Forward or back? He's been tried at both ends at VFL and AFL(pre-accident) levels. However he's really struggled this year against quality opposition playing out of FF so the question has to be asked if he has much improvement left in him to play a key forward role? Does a defenders role suit him with the occasional swing into attack. I think they'll stick with his forward role.
- Harry Taylor, like Lonergan, is supposedly versatile. He played all over the ground in the WAFL before being drafted. He's got a beautiful left foot kick that is quite accurate (when he doesn't fumble the ball :D). 2 of his 3 goals this year were on the run from outside 50. I think his only AFL forward experience came in the grand final where he had zero impact. Not his fault though as a move like that during a GF when you are getting beaten is like being thrown into the deep end.
- We don't need more midfielders with Ranga definitely going to be one of our picks. Our midfield is top class and Prismall was probably going to leave us due to our glut of quality mids.
- Our KPP forwards are Mooney, Lonergan, Simpson and Hawkins. The last 2 are aged 18 and 20 respectively. We are going to delist NAblett who was our other KPP.

The key points are the first two. Question marks over Egan and the nearing retirement of 3 senior backmen.

My draft order would be;
1st pick - KPP back or forward (which ever best talent is available)
2nd pick - KPP back or forward (whichever position we didn't take with first pick)
3rd pick - Small defender
4th pick - Ranga

Spinksy???
:eek::eek::eek:

we also had David Haynes in 04' (bad mistake)

ah yes spinks what a champ for us he was always getting over his injury was there such a person or were we being had?) anyway i think lonners has to play back if he is to play at all lets hope the young uns can stand up at ff next year as its the only position we need to fill, a consistent ff will see us unbeaten or unbeatable oh and god forbid if anyone thinks im suggesting hall from sydney no no sorry no no i dont think he would get a kick in our vfl side

Outside of our 22 have we got many good ball winning midfielders?
We have Prismall then who have we got? (I wouldnt put Byrnes in that categorie).

1st Pick option could be - Zaharakis, De Boer, Blease, Suban, Robinson
There are a fair few good onballers in the mix for top 10-15 but they have some good talls in contention as well that may be snapped up before them depending on clubs needs.

Then another option would be a small forward/midfielder
Chris Yarran
Tom Rockliffe
either of these two I would be happy with especially Yarran as he could potentially go top 8 but could also slip to our pick.

A late pick that I would like to see us get is Ian Richardson he is a small forward who can take a grab and crumb kicked 60-70 goals in the WAFL this year and it was his first season in league level, also his club finished second bottom.

if nick suban is available by our 1st pick, Geelong will take him, he was down here for a week during the year so they like him and know about him and he can play back mid or even forward, he would solve our trouble for a small defender who can lock down because he can do that but he can attack and go in the middle aswell, he is hard as nails so geelong will love him because of that fact aswell!

we need someone like tom rockliffe aswell i hope we get suban and rockliffe. rockliffe reminds me of stevie j and suban reminds me a bit of corey enright and a bit of josh hunt

if nick suban is available by our 1st pick, Geelong will take him, he was down here for a week during the year so they like him and know about him and he can play back mid or even forward, he would solve our trouble for a small defender who can lock down because he can do that but he can attack and go in the middle aswell, he is hard as nails so geelong will love him because of that fact aswell!

we need someone like tom rockliffe aswell i hope we get suban and rockliffe. rockliffe reminds me of stevie j and suban reminds me a bit of corey enright and a bit of josh hunt

Hopefully more of Corey Enright...

yeah well he has the height of hunt, bulid is more like hunt and the way he attacks the ball, is how hunt attacks it which is ferocious but suban also backs back with the flight unlike hunt. decision making and reading of the play is more like corey enright

Geelong don't need to necessarilly need to get heaps of new players.
They have to use the players they got
  • Everyone loves the Lonergan story, but Hawknins shits on him when he gets going.
  • Stokesy proved this weekend he is crap, put Wojo in and then all of a sudden you have got some run.

you guys got hawkins, use him

What players/needs do we think Geelong may draft in 09?
We have p15, could this be traded (either for player or try to get an upgraded rd1 pick)?

I don't know much about the players we could potenially draft this year, but I would think we would be looking at another fwd & back with the first couple of picks & try to take the best remaining talent with the remaining live picks we have. Who in this year's draft will Geelong try to get?

What rookies could also be elevated this year?

Interested in people's thought's as I believe Geelong have a paths we could go down in regards to trades & drafting.

If interested in other people's thoughts, you might want to try this thread

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=442761

Read rizzo's stuff, he has a pretty good handle on things.

How about just the best player available at that pick! Worked with Selwood.

I remember when Selwood was drafted and they interviewed Stephen Wells afterward and I remember him saying that he couldn't believe their luck when he was available! :eek:

I reckon Joel Selwood is the best pick up Geelong have had since Gary Senior...seriously!

i'd definitley like to see us draft either:
Jordan Lisle
Was AA u18 CHB and has also played alot of football up forward. Not terribly quick but he's got great hands and good skills. Will probably be there at pick 15 and would definitely be a worthy pickup.
Zach Sengstock
Was injured for a fair bit of last year and didn't get to play much as a top ager. Came bakc to play for sandy this year overage and has been one of the standout backmen in the TAC. Can play forward as well. Gets alot of the football for a key position player.

A complete footballer has 4 attributes.

1) He can win a heap of the footy (read the play)
2) He knows how to use it (skills and decision making)
3) He can run
4) He is tough and loves to compete.

If a guy has all these attributes he will be drafted in the top 5. We don't have a top 5 pick so we need to compromise.

I think we need guys that are tall, medium or short who can do 2,3 and 4. I am not as fussed about 1 because with our midfield I think we will get enough of the footy for the next 5 years. Besides, from all reports Ranga excels at getting the pill.

A lead up forward would be very handy although S Simpson might fill this role eventually. A cross between N Ablett and Charlie but better than both would be real nice.

A backup Gorilla handler in case Egan doesn't get back would be nice as well but these are hard to find.

A pocket rocket defender would be nice. Hopefully this maybe Djekurra.

Definitely no need for Rucks.

I hope we pick up Mitch Brown from the Sandy Dragons. I think he will go higher than what people think.

If Tom Swift/Chris Yarran are still there at our first pick, BANG! end of. One of them must be taken. Two very very good players. Both pacey as well.

TC:eek: