Draft Discussions Recovered

• Thread starter Thread starter The Cotch

Re: Draft Discussion

^ lol. there didn't seem to be too many knowledgeable posters that's for sure.

Swift over Vickery. That's a massive call. 192cm midfielder would be sensational though. Would love to see a Pav/Chad Cornes/Kouta type playing for the Tigers.

We'd have to find a key position player with pick 26 though surely.

What would the feeling be around here if we got Vickery? I'd certainly be happy. At the risk of sounding greedy, I'd love another A grade mid, but the fact is we got Thomson in the trade period to bolster the mids, and now we have tonnes of depth in that area.

I mean, Vickery palming down to Cotchin, Foley and Deledio in the future is mouth-watering.

But you can never be certain with ruckmen, especially with early picks.

Tough, tough decisions.

What would the feeling be around here if we got Vickery? I'd certainly be happy. At the risk of sounding greedy, I'd love another A grade mid, but the fact is we got Thomson in the trade period to bolster the mids, and now we have tonnes of depth in that area.

I mean, Vickery palming down to Cotchin, Foley and Deledio in the future is mouth-watering.

But you can never be certain with ruckmen, especially with early picks.

Tough, tough decisions.

I'd be pretty happy to get Vickery. I think he will be a terrific player - either in the ruck or up forward. There's a bit of Kosi in him and some guys on this board would kill to have Kosi on our list.

Still Swift looks special and he was listed at 192 at the draft camp. I have wanted a player like Pav/Goodes more than a player like Kosi for a while now.

^ lol. there didn't seem to be too many knowledgeable posters that's for sure.

Swift over Vickery. That's a massive call. 192cm midfielder would be sensational though. Would love to see a Pav/Chad Cornes/Kouta type playing for the Tigers.

We'd have to find a key position player with pick 26 though surely.

Just had a look at the vision of Swift on youtube

http://au.youtube.com/results?search_query=Tom+Swift&search_type=&aq=f

Looks like an absolute gun. Better than Cornes i would say. Would love to have him. Probably could have thrown Goodes into the comparison mix aswell.
Gees don't bring him down so much, mate...He's gonna be the new Jack Dyer, no worries with the namby-pamby Cornes etc... :p

Yep Swift definitely is a gem. If our top 3 is Hartlett, Vickery, Swift as I'm quite sure it is, we can't lose, put it that way.

Before I start let me remind people that I am far from an expert when it comes to the draftees, and I base this opinion on what I am reading from those in the know.

As it is, I've been thinking about how I would like to see our draft pan out, the more I think about it the more I want to see us do something we have never done as far as I can tell and that is draft talls with our first 2 picks. Judging by what I have been reading and hearing there is every chance that Trengove and McKernan will both be around when pick 8 rolls around. We should, IMO, grab one of them for a few reasons.

Firstly it is an area on our list that needs more attention than any other. When you look at our young KPP/Ruck stocks they are fairly thin. Riewoldt, Hughes, Schulz, Thursfield, McGuane, Pattison, Graham & Silvestor. Thats 7 senior listed players and a rookie, oh and before people jump in and say what about Moore, I see him more as a mid sized defender who has been punching above his weight class and has been fairly lucky so far no KP forward has torn him a new one. Thats the first reason why I want to see the club go tall first 2.

Secondly, history shows that very rarely do you get a year like this one, where there is such a talented group of talls. Everything I have read in the last few weeks suggests that most clubs see plenty of depth with talls this year and many clubs are looking at stocking up on them this year especially with GC coming into the draft from 2010. Because of this, it is going to be harder for clubs to get access to the real top quality talls that will be coming through in the next few years unless they are willing to pay the price and trade away another talented player to get access to GC's early picks. Thats the second reason why I think it would be great if we were to grab hold of a couple of talls early.

Thirdly, you can always midfielders. Here is a list of midfielders who have been taken outside the first round between 2000-2003:
Kerr, K.Cornes, Coughlan, Cassissi, Cross, Mitchell, Montagna, Swan, Troy and Adam Selwood, Simpson, Crowley, Malceski, Adcock, Rischitelli & Tuck. Please don't go being smart and start labelling them as duds and hacks because all of them would get a spot on our list. As that list shows you can always find quality midfielders in the draft at later stages, but it is much harder to get the same amount of quality talls. From those 16 players named I count 6 premiership players. Not a bad strike rate if you ask me.

Finally, I believe that if we were to gain a couple of quality talls with the first 2 picks it would hold us in good stead heading into the period TW expects us to be up there cotending for a premiership. Imagine adding 2 of the following to our list: Vickery, Trengove, McKernan, Lisle, Roughead, Johnston, Davis, Post, Schoenmakers or Hurley. Thats 10 quality talls that were taken in the first 2 rounds of the BF Phantom draft. Now I know what some of you will say, what do these guys really know, well for starters a lot more than I do and probably most others on this board. Not only that but most of them have been talked up in the media as possible first/second round picks as well.

I say it is time we took a punt and used to draft to recruit the best players available that fill a need that is in desperate need of attention (i.e ruck and KPP) before it is too late, instead of drafting the best players available that add to areas that are already fairly well covered (i.e. HBF's and midfielders).

Great posts RT :thumbsu:
It's hard not to agree.

Here, here RT... although it is hard to think we will pass on one of hartlett, ziebell or rusty for this to occur... but it does do alot for the long-term future of the club!!!

I wouldn't have a problem if we did go for Hartlett or Ziebell ahead of the talls but I would be if we went for Sidebottom.

I have 7 players that I have focused on regarding our first pick and this is how I have them ranked:
1. Vickery
2. Hartlett
3. Ziebell
4. McKernan
5. Trengove
6. Hurley
7. Sidebottom

So while I believe we should take a chance and go tall early on just remember that it is nothing more than my opinion based on what I have read. In the long run whoever Cameron decides to take with pick 8 will do me fine.

RT, what would your feeling be if we landed Swift then?

I've gathered a bit of information in recent days from somone 'in the know'. Let me say it will be a VERY interesting draft indeed. Basically this is how the situation currently stands in the top 8. The ones in bold are the mosty likely outcomes.

Melborne- Watts
WCE- Naitanui
Fremantle- Hill
Port- Hartlett or Vickery
Essendon- Rich or Yarran
Carlton- Hurley
Brisbane- Ziebell or Rich
Richmond- Rich, Vickery or Swift

Looking very unlikely Hartlett will fall to us :(

Very interesting. So you have Richmond going Swift over Vickery?

btw who (if anyone) do you think will slide down the order a bit this year?

I wouldn't have a problem if we did go for Hartlett or Ziebell ahead of the talls but I would be if we went for Sidebottom.

I have 7 players that I have focused on regarding our first pick and this is how I have them ranked:
1. Vickery
2. Hartlett
3. Ziebell
4. McKernan
5. Trengove
6. Hurley
7. Sidebottom

So while I believe we should take a chance and go tall early on just remember that it is nothing more than my opinion based on what I have read. In the long run whoever Cameron decides to take with pick 8 will do me fine.
Interesting reading RT.

My order for Richmond (so not necessarily best player down to worst (in a matter of speaking...not "worst" in a bad way though) would be:
1) Ziebell
2) Hartlett
3) McKernan
4) Hurley
5) Trengove
6) Vickery
7) Sidebottom.

For some reaosn I really don't rate Vickery much...

Alright I'll go for this and use the following reasons of major weaknesses as well as the better talents.

1) Vickery - Sweet FA
2) Hartlett - Strength perhaps but Sweet FA
3) Trengove - Hamstring tendon injury concerns but seems to have had a very good medical evaluation so sweet FA.
4) Hurley - Agility perhaps but sweet FA
5) Ziebell - Aerobic capacity concerns.
6) McKernan - Kicking skills.
7) Sidebottom - Slow slow slow

Cant say I'd be overly concerned on who we picked but I'd rather not Sidebottom.

RT, what would your feeling be if we landed Swift then?
To be honest Cotch, I haven't taken much notice of write ups and such regarding him as I hadn't really seen him mentioned as a possible top 10 pick. Most of the stuff I've read sees him going around the 12-20 area of the draft which kind of ruled him out as a possible. However, I have noticed over the last few weeks you've mentioned his name quite often as someone we've got in our sights, so I guess I should brush up on him a little just in case. You never know he might slide to pick 26 seeing he did have some injury issues IIRC.

There is so many options for our Pick 8.

I rate Vickery very high. Zielbell Hartlett and Sidebottom would make me happy aswell.

Trengove i feel is going to be a great talent but was worried about him until the good medical report.

One thing for sure is this is a strong draft. We will get a great player no matter what.

Take a risk on Tom Swift:thumbsu:. Would be a Deledio type player at 190cm go down and kick goals with his hight over smaller mids:)

This is my order of players i'd like us to draft. Only talent considered with injuries or positional needs taken into account.

1. Swift - looks like another Deledio but even taller. Can do it all.
2. Ziebel - Consistently class. Will be able to win own footy and can play anywhere.
3. Trengove - Talent to be one of the best CHB in the comp. Will give oposition forwards headaches leading up to games.
4. Vickery - Big, quick, skillful, courageous. Will be a handful playing at full forward and will take the best defender and straighten any team up. Giving Hughes, Riewoldt, Morton much more of a chance.
5. Yarran - For me he looks like the next Nathan Brown. I reckon he will be a star. Can play as a small full forward, a crumbing forward (superb pick up and goal sense) and can be silk in the midfield. Compared to Shaun Burgoyne who i think (when on song) is equal best in the competition to watch moving through traffic. Sublime.
6. Hartlett - Classy midfielder.
7. Hurley - Solid, smart key position player. Can play forward and back and is a good user of the ball. Will be a dependable CHB and will allow Moore to play loose or on smaller, less talented backs.
8. McKernan - Troy Simmonds with pace and agility. Biggest problem is versatility. Will a side allow him to settle and learn a position. I have a feeling ruck might be best for him.
9. Sidebottom - Will run all day but doesn't have any outstanding qualities apart from run and ability to kick on either foot just as well.

Don't be so sure, I'm expecting a couple of posters to disagree.
Not much of what you wrote was different to what you have already written in other threads constantly. Only thing was Moore, and i can't say I agree with your suggestion he will fail, he is a quality key defender, our best perhaps. However like you, I'd still prefer him in another, non-KP role, where he would really excel.

Jackson Trengrove - Youtube highlights

I know virtually nothing about the draft potentials other than what I hear on the board.

However, looking at the youtube package, he seems to demonstate athletisism, height and marking ability.

I understand he is coming back from a serious injury but reports now say he is coming along well.

Is he in contention for our first pick? If RFC rated Vickory at 1st pref tall, could Trengrove become 2nd pref tall ahead of McKernan?

I would be inclined to draft somewhat like this:
PICK 8
-if Ruckman (Vickery) 1st choice, not available but take if he slides.
-if midfielder (Hartlett, Ziebell) in that order. rich wont slide, not interested in hill and pick 8 probably a little too high for rusty, although am a fan...
-if KPP (McKernan, Trengove) in that order.. Mckernan i believe will be our first CHF for years to come, bashes and crashes packs, 2nd and 3rd efforts for an agile big man.. dont listen to the talk that he is in between a ruck and forward.. He is a true CHF...

Therefore,
if we draft needs basis
Preferance:
Vickery
McKernan
Hartlett

if we draft best available:
Preferance:
Vickery
Hartlett
McKernan

I'll just say I would be happy with 1 of these 3 at 1st rounder!!! If i was to take a punt on the draft my money would be on both Hartlett and McKernan, so i would need good odds i reckon...