Draft Discussions Recovered

• Thread starter Thread starter The Cotch

Re: Draft Discussion

I've severely under-rated his pace then.

I trust your assessment TFLUA-Tiger if you've actually seen him play, maybe he does lack pace after playing 1 or 2 quarters of AFL,

Remember ( I'm sure i don't have to remind you ) that time is just a one off sprint indoors under test conditions.

I trust your assessment TFLUA-Tiger if you've actually seen him play, maybe he does lack pace after playing 1 or 2 quarters of AFL,

Remember ( I'm sure i don't have to remind you ) that time is just a one off sprint indoors under test conditions.
Also recorded 8.31 secs for the agility test (top 6) which is a twisting course over 40m where players have to change direction and sprint between points. Would suggest he has pretty good athleticism. I'm not doubting TFLUA's assessment of him as a player on the field, its just that sometimes players don't get to use all their attirbutes fully during games. Especially when you're a 196cm 95kg kid playing U/18's footy. He would rely on his size more than his other attirbutes to dominate.

With all the talk about Hill going Pick 3 to Fremantle which means Rich would go to Port. We might have a bigger shot and getting Vickery then what we thought.

In saying this, do we all want him?

Think 3.20 would be much more on the money than 2.90.
no way have a look at draft camp killed it second in the jump and i think 7 or 8 in agility and ran 2.90 great athlete will b a very good chf for us

The draft has the potential to go something like this ! :eek:

Naitanui
Rich
Hill
Watts
Hurley
Yarran
Ziebell
Hartlett

The draft has the potential to go something like this ! :eek:

Naitanui
Rich
Hill
Watts
Hurley
Yarran
Ziebell
Hartlett

Well yes there is always potential but that order is a very slight chance of happening imo.

it certainly would be nice if we have the choice of hartlett and vickery at pick 8. But according to emma quale, it appears we're very very keen on hartlett and would likely take him in front of vickery.

also, not too sure about getting jayden post with our 2nd round pick, esp with the likes of mitch brown, ryan shoenmakers, liam jones, jordan roughead etc available.

herald sun certainly likes to throw up soem weird ones

If Hartlett is available, we'll call out his name in a matter of seconds. No chance of getting past us.

Do we really need another midfielder tho? We do need a Ruckman/Forward tho.. I honestly think we'll go tall first pick, reason being we took Thomson from Port in the trade week.

also, not too sure about getting jayden post with our 2nd round pick, esp with the likes of mitch brown, ryan shoenmakers, liam jones, jordan roughead etc available.

herald sun certainly likes to throw up soem weird ones

exactly what I was thinking, even Lisle would of been a better option.

What do people think of Tyson Slattery?

According to afl.com.au

Slattery is a running defender who is good one-on-one both in the air and on the ground.

Strengths?
Shutting down the man, making the right decisions – whether to punch or mark, being in front.

Do you reckon Richmond should look at him for our small defender?

I've severely under-rated his pace then.
I also did initially. But after his draft camp results I looked over the video's on Youtube and he has really good closing speed. I reckon his gait causes an optical illusion. So in answer to your earlier question directed to me, no, I have no trouble with his leg-speed. The only bloke I would contemplate before him now would be Sidebottom if Vickery is gone. A midfield of: Foley, Cotchin, Deledio and Sidey would be tantalising.

Can someone please do a tiger supporter a favour, and start a new thread. I'm not powerful enough to do that, to new.

Call it: List Analysis, Pre-Draft.
COntent: It is a breakdown of our current list by Age, Height, 2008 Games, Career Games.

Think it is worth a new thread, as it gives you good idea of our list, and what holes we need to fill. I just need someone to start it, and I can copy and paste the info across now.

Vickery on paper looks like a good pick for us. He will be able to give us good depth in the forward line and later go into the ruck when developed.

However history shows that ruck/forwards are dicey propositions and perhaps Hartlett is the safer option.

A midfield of Deledio, Axel, Tuck, Cotchin, Hartlett etc would mean that no matter who we are playing we will be in the game and may one day control games from the midfield, giving our forwards the best opportunity and our backs an advantage.

It's not as if we don't have tall options and if we take a tall at 26 and a ruck to develop later on we will have good list balance.

a draft of:

8 - Hartlett
26 - Mitch Brown/Shoenmakers/Lynch/Roughead
58 - Browne/Hill/Stanley/McCulloch

Would give us a great balance and a midfield that could create history.

If we have a midfield of Deledio, Foley, Cotchin, Hartlett, Tuck, Coughlan......Steamer would break records.

She made an updated top 18 this morning. I hope shes as right as she was last year :)

1: Watts
2: Naita
3: Hill
4: Rich
5: Yarran
6: Hurley
7: Ziebell
8: Hartlett
9: Johnston
10: Trengrove

11: Sidebottom
12: Mckernan
13: Blease
14: Cordy
15: Schoenmakers
16: Davis

17: Vickery
18: Swift

She made an updated top 18 this morning. I hope shes as right as she was last year :)

1: Watts
2: Naita
3: Hill
4: Rich
5: Yarran
6: Hurley
7: Ziebell
8: Hartlett
9: Johnston
10: Trengrove

11: Sidebottom
12: Mckernan
13: Blease
14: Cordy
15: Schoenmakers
16: Davis

17: Vickery
18: Swift
I believe she gave an updated top 10 on SEN yesterday. The rest of that list was done by another poster trying to see how the rest of the first round would pan out. They believe that Vickery would slide to 17 as the rest of the sides aren't in desperate need for a ruckman.

Height
200-202 = 2 Putt 202, Graham 200
195-199 = 3 Pattison 197, Simmo 197, Richo 195
190-194 = 8 Polak 194, Schulz 193, Hughes/Rance/ Riewoldt 192, McGuane/Thursfield 191, Moore 190

185-189 = 10 Tuck 189, Bowden/Deledio/Jackson/JON 188, Polo 187, Cogs/Johnson 186, Cotchin/McMahon 185

180-184 = 10 Collins/Connors/Morton/Raines/Thomson 184, Newman/Pettifer 183, Brown 182, Edwards/Tambling 180

174-179 = 3 White 179, Foley 177, King 174.

Age and Height breakdown (names bolded played 15+ games in 2008)
Age (today). Name & Height
19-20 yr = 8 Putt 202, Rance/Riewoldt 192, JON 188, Cotchin 185, Connors/Collins 184, Edwards 180
21 yr = 6 Graham 200, Hughes 192, McGuane 191, Deledio 188, Morton 184, White 179
22 yr = 7 Pattison 197, Thursfield 191, Jackson 188, Polo 187, Raines/Thomas 184, Tambling 180
23-24 yr = 5 Polak 194, Schulz 193, Moore 190, Foley 177, King 174
25-27 yr = 5 Tuck 189, Coughlan 186, McMahon 185, Newman 183, Pettifer 183
30-33 yr = 5 Simmonds 197, Richo 195, Bowden 188, Johnson 186, Brown 182

Note:
Of the 21 bolded above who played 15+ games, eight are 190+cm, with all but Simmo and Richo being under 25 yrs. These two are the two hardest guys to cover on our list if injured, especially being in the age bracket they are in, and going forward into the future.

There is certainly enough tall timber in the 22 yr under brackets, however Graham really needs to come on this year. Simmonds is the biggest risk on our list if he was to go down, then we rely on Patto to compete against the giants of the game. Apart from Simmonds and Richo, there is no real loss of height with all the older guys are they drop off, as they are all below 190.
Unless they are fully confident in Grahams progress and he will play this year, they will have to list/recruit a mature bodied ruckmen as a backup for the short term.

190 to 194 cm group, Thursfield, McGuane, Moore, all good down back. Rance will maybe have to knock one of these out to get his spot down back, but his future looks bright. Up forward though only Riewoldt gets a tick, question marks still over Schulz, Hughes.
I think this is the area we need to cover, a forward that will cover this spot in a couple of years

Games played 2008. Name and Age
22 = 7 Simmonds 30, Tuck 27, Newman 26, McMahon 25, Moore 24, Tambling 22, Deledio 21
20-21 = 3 Richo 33, Foley 23, White 21
18 = 7 Brown/Bowden/Johnson 30, Schulz 23, Patto/Thursfield 22, Riewoldt 20
15-17 = 4 Morton/McGuane 21, Edwards 20, Cotchin 19

11-14 = 3 King/Polak 24, Jackson 22
2-7 = 7 Pettifer 26, Polo/Raines/Thomson 22, Hughes 21, Connors/JON 20
0 = 5 Cogs 26, Graham 21, Collins 20, Putt/Rance 19

Notes:
21 players played in 15 + games. Five of the 21 are from 30+ yr group.
Hypothetically for 2009, if the same 21 all had good form and no injuries, that would leave one spot up for grabs between the others who played 14 games or less.

Of the 15 players who played 14 and less games, Cogs,Polak, Raines & Pettifer had serious injuries (from my knowledge). The four who didn’t play a game (apart from Cogs), all first or second years types, which is fair enough and to be expected to allow time to develop.

Take away the five 30+ yr group now or over the next couple of seasons, and do we have the depth to replace them. I’d say there is at least eight with experience already that would stand up now - King, Jackson, Pettifer, Polo, Raines, Thomson, Hughes, Connors. Throw in Coughlan, and that’s 9 guys pushing for a spot each for 2009 - a lot of which you will have put the above names in your teams for 2009.

^ you realize this has all been done to death at seasons end. So you'll have to forgive us if we don't jump on to this topic your pushing for. we all discussed what our list needs are, who we should target and whether it's ideal to draft the best available.

Sadly mate you just arrived a few months too late. :)