Food, Drink & Dining Out Drinking underage

I assume that like music underrage drinking has memories specific to your era.

As a teenager of the late 90s/early 2000s the beverages of choice were:

- Cougar and cola $40 24 x 375mL cartons
- Red Bear vodka and flavour or Woodstock bourbon and cola $40 24 x 440mL cartons
- Whatever full strength beer could be bought for $1 per stubby/can or closest to it
- Goon (Fruity Lexia etc) and cheap mixer, not era specific
- Passion Pop for about $4 a bottle, just Googled and it's still only $5 so surely still a winner
- The old Coke bottle with some drunk then Jim Beam mixed in another non era specific winner

I assume that like music underrage drinking has memories specific to your era.

As a teenager of the late 90s/early 2000s the beverages of choice were:

- Cougar and cola $40 24 x 375mL cartons
- Red Bear vodka and flavour or Woodstock bourbon and cola $40 24 x 440mL cartons
- Whatever full strength beer could be bought for $1 per stubby/can or closest to it
- Goon (Fruity Lexia etc) and cheap mixer, not era specific
- Passion Pop for about $4 a bottle, just Googled and it's still only $5 so surely still a winner
- The old Coke bottle with some drunk then Jim Beam mixed in another non era specific winner

The brands might have changed but drinking cheap beer, goon and alcopops have been staples of underage drinking as long as I can remember.

Usually we'd only lash out on cartons of beer for parties, if we were just drinking down the park it would be cheap casks or bottles of wine, sherry, port etc.

One of our favourite tricks was to buy big cups of coke from Maccas and then use the cups for putting booze in, that way we could hang out down the park or walk around the streets drinking without getting busted by the cops.

HS parties were overrated, just a bunch of m kids trying too hard to be cool and impress others. Parties and drinking post HS is where it's at, no one cares about looking cool they just care about having a good time

Unless you are Shit Break from American Pie, then yep it's all cheap booze by $ per volume and alcohol content but I'm sure it varies from era to era.

People have been drinking gooners etc. forever, but I can't remember the last time I saw a 440 mL Woodstock can in the bottle-o. 17 year olds probably drink Heineken these days since "imported" beers are the same price as the local stuff. No one would turn up to a high school party when I was that age with a carton of Euro beer. It was all EE/EB/SD. KRudd's alcopops tax was supposed to curb underage drinking but I'm sure it just boosted sales of the cheapest and nastiest 700mL vodka varieties.

Much like footy it seemed a purer, more fun time. Less bullshit. More honesty. Now we all talk about someone we know who plays for an AFL club and line up for shit nightclubs and spend all our money at. Ah.

This is it.

So much novelty and from so many angles: alcohol, weed, hanging out with new people before that was the norm, hooking up with girls, running amok for the sake of running amok... Seeing blokes you've known for years changing dramatically after a few cans.

House parties will always be far more entertaining than heading to some shit $30 entry nightclub unless you're chewing you're gums off after one two many pills. And even then, it's still pretty shit.

I actually gave up drinking after turning 18, not because I didn't enjoy it but at 18 I was a part time barman and saw what alcohol did to people. Of course, later on I started drinking again.

Being a non drinker would be boring AF unless you hung around with a bunch of other non drinkers. I remember going to the odd high school party where I had to drive and couldn't crash there overnight for some reason so had to stay under 0.02 on the breatho. A bunch of drunk people as a sober person is dull.

My first love in about 2004 was the Smirnoff Ice Double Black from memory, then was into the Woodstocks by 18. My dad also drank Cascade beers in the early 00s, so I took them up as my beer of choice. In the 18-21 years I largely did the TEDs and Bundaberg Rum (was previously bourbon prior to the roudier rum), the Dark & Stormy my preferred drink, particularly in summertime (the cans were often dodgy, so I quickly started making my own). After 21 I almost entirely moved to reds, then stopped altogether within a year or two.

Of course, underage, you get what you can. Goon, beer, whatever, you manage and be grateful for it, as once you turn 18 you can cherish never having to touch that garbage ever again.

Being a non drinker would be boring AF unless you hung around with a bunch of other non drinkers. I remember going to the odd high school party where I had to drive and couldn't crash there overnight for some reason so had to stay under 0.02 on the breatho. A bunch of drunk people as a sober person is dull.
Yep, working as a barman and/or accompanying drunk friends quickly grows tiresome.

I wouldn't say dull.

It's just really irritating. You find yourself hating everybody.

I drank Heineken as my shit introduction to alcohol.

We didn't really have house parties either - it was usually on a farm or in someone's backyard and driveway. I agree that it seems now 16, 17-year olds now generally go to clubs because not even bogans in sketchy suburbs have parties anymore... Islander kids and Channel 9 changed all that. These days most people are clubbing and then over it by second year uni. Finishing school at 17 is so much better in so many ways and it makes sense that the novelty of a nightclub is there while you're living a lifestyle conducive to spending three weekdays hungover.

Nothing better than being at an underage party, youthfully drunk and seeing a girl you fancied. Finally having the balls to slide up beside her like some 90's version of autistic Leonardo Dicaprio and then begin to crap on about making the local representative side like you've just signed a 6 mil contract to play with Golden State, whilst she looks around the room trying to find eye contact of someone to save her all whilst your mates are pissing themselves in the corner, at your expense.

Good times.

I never went to the mainstream after parties of high school events. Too many dickheads (mostly deros long finished or dropped out of school) and try hards. Our group of about a dozen done our own stuff. Once there was a time we were drinking with most of the school group and they actually enjoyed our company (there's wasn't as bad as usual either) and said we should go to more parties.

I would've gave it a go, but I can't ****ing stand the deros, the toolies that everyone else gushed over because they had a car and sex with girls half a dozen years their junior.

Sent from mTalk

It was a purer, more fun time.

No shit - zero responsibilities.

You don't even have to look after yourself, your parents feed and house you.
The biggest thing with our high school was how much looser everyone was. Majority in year 12 in particular hit it pretty hard at parties and it made for a lot of fun. Majority got along too.

I found once I finished there were far more average nights. Blokes who are controlled by their girlfriends, work the next morning, being tight with money to save for something etc.

korn85624.jpg

...used to get played heaps at the underage parties I went to back in the day.

Went and bought us two alcohol for the night one time.
two alcohol! they could have killed you, did they buy you one marijuana to help with the hang over?