• Thread starter Thread starter Rohan_

Rohan_

Suspended
What is your view on people who take drugs? A very sensitive issue and I believe people shun drug users too much with little knowledge of why they take them.

Originally posted by Rohan_
What is your view on people who take drugs? A very sensitive issue and I believe people shun drug users too much with little knowledge of why they take them.
it is a disgusting habit, but if they choose to do drugs then that's their choice.

I think that drugs should be banned and the people who are doing them get put into jail.

i smoke pot every now and then. haven't done it for ages now, everyone in our year is cutting back because of the HSC coming up soon, so i guess in turm i've cut back from about once every month or so, too just not doing it since about March now.

This thread isnt gonna last long... The Thread Nazi is on the rampage, methinks. Good topic tho Ro!

I think that drugs are bad...

Nah, how can i say this... i have smoked a bit of grass, and taken a few e's here and there. I am not some big druggie, and i have a respectable job etc etc. However thats as far as i would go. I wouldnt do it EVERY weekend, and i certainly wouldnt touch heroin or inject anything, nor would i touch cocaine, only cos its too expensive and addictive.

Drugs are an escape from reality and as i am a strong person, and have experienced some without getting silly about it, i for one detest those that have not the strength to get off it and get on with their lives. This could be because i dont know what those people have to put up with in their lives, etc, but i have a small patience level for that crap. Life is what you make it and drugs/alcohol and any other form of crutch that some need to get through on a day to day basis are pathetic and weak...

If that makes sense.

DISCLAIMER: Sorry if that offends any drug addicts on this board - not to say there are any on this board of course!! :D

How long will this thread last - especailly now that the omnipotent (thanks William) Suzi has spoken?/

Bit of smoke, but that's all - prefer a beer actually

Re: Re: Drugs...

Originally posted by suzi_olsen

I think that drugs should be banned and the people who are doing them get put into jail.

Ummm Suzi where do you come from..are you for real? Drugs are already banned doofus!

I swear Suzi your 5 beers short of a six pack!

Yeah I smoke pot here and there. But I don't drink booze.

Originally posted by BluesBabe666
Nah, how can i say this... i have smoked a bit of grass, and taken a few e's here and there.

Same here.

I'm not a hardcore user but I've taken the odd drug here and there. Tasted most but I could never get into cocaine or speed; very addictive and they rub me up the wrong way.

Come from a background where drug usage is very much in vogue. You usually equate drugs with money. Drugs are a vehicle for people to "break out" from the norm.

IMO........

Drugs are completely ****ed. End of story.

I look down on people that take drugs (talking recreational here) because they are doing damage to their body for no reason at all.

I equate designer drugs with money - e's are cheap so they dont really count.... smoke i equate with bogans (sorry) and heroin with losers and hookers... probably stereotypes there but.... you get that.

I'd actually prefer to smoke pot than drink heaps of alcohol. I've done some very silly things while drunk while I'm usually very well behaved when stoned.

Originally posted by Hoggy

I look down on people that take drugs (talking recreational here) because they are doing damage to their body for no reason at all.

Not much difference between alcohol, smoking and drugs. Each do much damage to the mind and the body, trouble is society places more hysteria on drug useage.

I have more respect for people who take the odd drug than chain smokers.

Originally posted by Frosties_Flank
That's a harsh generalisation BluesBabe! But I guess its an accurate one.

I know, i knew i was gonna get it for that one, but i am talking about regular users of these drugs tho, not here and there types!! :D

I know of a few Doctors who use pure heroin to get by the day. Its amazing really.

Originally posted by suzi_olsen

I work for the Victorian Government, in the drug policy area. putting people in jail is the LAST thing that should be done. the government is actively seeking to divert drug users from the prison system into drug treatment services. once drug users go into the prison system, it's hard for them to get out of it, and as is common knowledge, the easiest place to get drugs is in jail. far better to put them into treatment.

drug users, understandably, have a bad social stigma attached to them. however, we often forget that they are someone's father, mother, son or daughter. they have, for some reason or another, taken to drugs, in order to alleviate some pain in their lives. they are not always bad people, but society views them as such, which is unfortunate. there are many self-help groups out there who are operated by ex-users who are keen to help others to get off drugs. one of the biggest obstacles they face is the stigma attached to "druggies" or even "ex-druggies". however, what better way to combat the drug problem than to ask ex-users?

I am not towing the Government line when I say that Victoria has one of the best drug treatment systems in Australia. I have been to a few conferences around the country, and drug treatment workers from other states are impressed at the treatment systems that are available here. for example, the excellent needle and syringe program in this state has ensured that we've avoided the AIDS epidemic, unlike other places like New York.

We operate on a harm minimisation principle which is not judgmental about drug use per se, but rather it seeks to reduce the harm associated with drugs. this is FAR better than zero tolerance.

Not much difference between alcohol, smoking and drugs. Each do much damage to the mind and the body, trouble is society places more hysteria on drug useage.

I have more respect for people who take the odd drug than chain smokers.

Yeah well....you know what my views are on all 3 choices there.

Alcohol - No
Smoking - No
Drugs - No

I don't care if other people do it, as long as I don't do it I'm happy.

IMO........

I completley agree. Why ruin a perfectly healthy body?

Anyway if people choose to wreck their own lives let them.

Originally posted by sussudio

drug users, understandably, have a bad social stigma attached to them. however, we often forget that they are someone's father, mother, son or daughter. they have, for some reason or another, taken to drugs, in order to alleviate some pain in their lives

Knew someone who was a mother and took cocaine. Normally I'm pretty open minded about drugs and realise people take them to ease tension and get away from things.

But I just can't make my mind up about that situation. A person who takes drugs and has a kid has to have a few mental problems.

IMO........

Mate that aint real good.

You look down on people? It is their life, what gives you or anyone the right to look down on anyone?

If they want to do damage to their body, then fine! Live life while you have it, make the most of it, try things you only live once!

For me I dont like drugs and I wont do them, but thats from my own perspective, I wont look down on or condem anyone else for making a different judgement on it ....

Knew someone who was a mother and took cocaine. Normally I'm pretty open minded about drugs and realise people take them to ease tension and get away from things.

But I just can't make my mind up about that situation. A person who takes drugs and has a kid has to have a few mental problems.

Not to mention is downright selfish. Trainspotting. Dead baby. Heroin addict mother. No sympathy for the mother, plenty for the baby. Know its only a movie but its real, it happens. I dont understand how drugs (or alcohol in some peoples cases) can become the be all and end all of life. Priorities!!

Originally posted by TheMase

Mate that aint real good.

You look down on people? It is their life, what gives you or anyone the right to look down on anyone?

If they want to do damage to their body, then fine! Live life while you have it, make the most of it, try things you only live once!

For me I dont like drugs and I wont do them, but thats from my own perspective, I wont look down on or condem anyone else for making a different judgement on it ....

You probably look down on me for my point of view, I don't give a rats arse what you think of me or any of my opinions. Anyone's opinion can never be wrong because it is their own personal opinion, it isn't based on fact or anything it is how I feel about a particular topic.

Drug addicts are pathetic in my opinion. They waste their life by putting CRAP into their body, why should I have any time for any of them?

Before I also said I didn't care if people did drugs, what I meant by that is that I don't care about people who I don't CARE for. The people in my life who I care for know who they are.

Originally posted by Watto
Anyway if people choose to wreck their own lives let them.

for the amount of publicity that it receives, drug treatment is actually one of the least funded areas in human services. there are agencies out there literally surviving on the grace of benefactors and donations. the key is to reduce drug use to lighten the burden on the drug treatment sector, and subsequently the general health sector.

we need to educate young people not to take up drug use. it is definitely an image thing. heroin in this country is still perceived as being a cool drug. we also have a strong injecting culture here. different situation in, say, holland, where heroin has the image of a older person's drug, a druggie's drug, and not cool at all. they also smoke the heroin, not inject it. injection is pretty bad IMHO. you can do massive damage to your veins. you can inject in places where you can do severe damage to yourself, like in the groin (I have seen pictures of this).

solvents is also a big thing among young people these days, although admittedly the problem is not as big in victoria as it is in, say, WA. it is seen as a cool thing to do. this is the image that we need to dispel.

Originally posted by BluesBabe666

Not to mention is downright selfish.

True.

When you have a kid the carefree life you had when you were younger is no longer there. Responsibilities mean you aren't really a good parent if you take drugs but on the other hand, maybe the pressures of raising a kid is a reason why they take drugs.

I know my parents both grew up in the 60/70's heavy drug culture and they have told me they did experiment. Have nothing against that but once they became parents they had to give up this carefree nature.