DT Mids 2012

• Thread starter Thread starter longytap

He's been in and out of my team. Could be argued that his scores will return to what they used to be with Hayes back in the side relieving the pressure. I will probably end up going for someone with less doubts though.

With Hayes out of the team Lyon tried to use Joey as a clearance player.
It was a mistake IMO since while Joey is a great player, he simply doesn't have the physical aspects of some of his opponents. His DT score and StKilda's clearance rates both suffered.

I dont think there was anything else physical or mentally that caused his scores to drop last year, and if he's an outside player this year I'd expect him to go back to his previous levels.

Keystone agony said:
He really needs to fix his kicking otherwise it wont matter what team your playing for, the players aint gonna want to give you the footy if you cant hit a target.

Kane Cornes spent years as a premium midfielder at Port. 'nuff said.

That was quite some time ago, since he was at premium status? footy hasnt changed since than? what taggers atm avg premiums/elite top end?

Kornes back than could hit a target, maybe he kicked short but he still hit alot more targets at that time than Ebert did last year.

nuff said, pick him. Do i care.

With Hayes out of the team Lyon tried to use Joey as a clearance player.
It was a mistake IMO since while Joey is a great player, he simply doesn't have the physical aspects of some of his opponents. His DT score and StKilda's clearance rates both suffered.

I dont think there was anything else physical or mentally that caused his scores to drop last year, and if he's an outside player this year I'd expect him to go back to his previous levels.

Ive been tossing up between Rockliff, Stanton and Montagna for sometime. Also considering leaving Thompson out for Rocky + one of Monty/Stants.

For me the reasons why Joey did poorly was because as you mentioned Hayes injury and also Stkilda going poorly. I expect them to win about the same about of games but him play a much more outside game. Will he get tagged? is there a trend moving towards tagging soft/flashy wingman (D.Thomas, Stanton, Hill all heavily tagged last year) out of games and onballers going more head to head and coaches/teams backing themselves in to win the 50/50's?

Im really undecided on the midfield, have many ideas and different prems to consider. Looking at fixtures aswell they favour Monty and Stants nicely.

Ive been tossing up between Rockliff, Stanton and Montagna for sometime. Also considering leaving Thompson out for Rocky + one of Monty/Stants.

For me the reasons why Joey did poorly was because as you mentioned Hayes injury and also Stkilda going poorly. I expect them to win about the same about of games but him play a much more outside game. Will he get tagged? is there a trend moving towards tagging soft/flashy wingman (D.Thomas, Stanton, Hill all heavily tagged last year) out of games and onballers going more head to head and coaches/teams backing themselves in to win the 50/50's?

Im really undecided on the midfield, have many ideas and different prems to consider. Looking at fixtures aswell they favour Monty and Stants nicely.

I don't see Montagna being tagged.

It might just be my perception of things, but those guys you mentioned Thomas and Hill, they seem like real game-changing type players. Whereas for me, Montagna is more your hard-running, link man who can finish off and get there ball at either end. I don't think he's tag worthy personally.

Not with guys like NDL, Hayes and Goddard in the team anyway.

He's in my team, so maybe i'm more hoping he doesn't get tagged...

Hayes was injured in round 2 last year. Montagna's DT average dropped from 112 to 98 last year. Was he getting a tag? Anyone know the reasons for his drop?

Ross Lyon opted to use 76Kg Montagna to try to get centre clearances player, while they guy who could do a decent job of it played as a defensive forward.

I'll be going with Montagna this year. Really reckon he can get back into the 100+ avg with his mate Lenny back. Montagna got tagged a lot I noticed last year, or at least played on a bit tighter. Hopefully with Lenny back the opposition will be a bit looser on Monty.

What are people's thoughts on Bernie Vince. Anyone think he can take his average back up after a poor year ? Adelaide's easy draw should help. Just attempting to think out the square

I asked the BF guys on the Adelaide board and they were very negative on him...so i thought i best not.

I got him in his breakout year, so now have a soft spot for him.

I asked the BF guys on the Adelaide board and they were very negative on him...so i thought i best not.

I got him in his breakout year, so now have a soft spot for him.
Hmmm, what was their reasoning ?

He interests me a little, although Im not sure Id be game enough to actually pick him - in saying that, I had him pencilled in all pre-season and then chickened out at the last minute and missed out on his breakout year. So in other words I have the opposite of a soft spot for him :p

Hmmm, what was their reasoning ?

He interests me a little, although Im not sure Id be game enough to actually pick him - in saying that, I had him pencilled in all pre-season and then chickened out at the last minute and missed out on his breakout year. So in other words I have the opposite of a soft spot for him :p
if your after a unique adelaide midfielder surely it has to be sloane i dont know his price though

Hmmm,what was their reasoning ?

Well apparently it was laziness that stopped his high scoring and nothing seems to have changed for him...so i'm going to stay away.

That is just one person's opinion, but meh, there's plenty of options in the mids

If there is bucket loads like you suggest i reckon you have a good chance to pick one.

But you got my jist

Because most of these guys will originally cost 240-380k. I don't want to outlay that money for my mids to be averaging 85-90.

Cmon Keystone you are smart enough to work that out,

Edit guys averaging 70 at 350k, at 88 430k

They are not keepers and you make 80k when an average rookie will be much better at generating cash.

Because most of these guys will originally cost 240-380k. I don't want to outlay that money for my mids to be averaging 85-90.

Cmon Keystone you are smart enough to work that out,

Edit guys averaging 70 at 350k, at 88 430k

They are not keepers and you make 80k when an average rookie will be much better at generating cash.

I agreed with you about them being being terribly priced.

I was arguing the above posters idea of picking a 70 avg player so he can avg 90 and it being this remarkable dream team pick of the century when there will be plenty of others who do this and also have much greater JS than Tuck and are much younger and not as prone to injuries as older players are.

But good luck picking one. I'm saying if Tuck plays all year he's guaranteed to be a just below premium scorer. Only reason he averaged 70 last year was that he was almost always subbed off or on.

Which midfield is better??

Dane Swan, Gary Ablett jnr, Jack Trengove, Rory Sloane, Luke Shuey, Dayne Zorko
Luke Brown, James McDonald

or

Dane Swan, Gary Ablett jnr, Scott Thompson, Michael Barlow, Dayne Zorko, Luke Brown
James McDonald, Lenny Hayes

P.S. this was done before Barlow and his leg...could swap for several players of the same price if need be

But good luck picking one. I'm saying if Tuck plays all year he's guaranteed to be a just below premium scorer. Only reason he averaged 70 last year was that he was almost always subbed off or on.

Okay Hayes and Ziebell will avg 90+

Not that im gonna pick a player aiming for them to avg 90 when ill have to waste trades to uprgade them anyway. May aswell find a midfield rookie that avgs 75 and than upgrade from there with timing.