Klyntonius

Kawasaki Racing, Falcons, Pelicans
Hey Eagles fans.

Just thought I'd let you know some of us here in Melbourne do take a bit of notice of your team out West. I reckon us Dees are in for a pretty big struggle this week. Capable of winning but unlikely.

From watching a bit of the Eagles play recently I think it's no fluke they have won 6 from last 7 (?) To my way of thinking it has coincided with the development of a number of KPP that WC was really screaming out for at the beginning of the year. The likes of Seaby, Lynch, McDougall, Hunter and Glass have complimented what is probably as good a midfield as there is in the AFL. I can see them doing some damage but are probably 2-3 years from being the real power side they are building towards (if they stay together). Hopefully though, the damage done this year isn't to us! :D

Good luck but I hope we win.

Catch ya.

Klynt

Nice post mate.

At the start of the year most of us wanted the development of KPP more than anything else. We'd struggled for a few years without a good spine, but now we have a great one in the making. Not only is it our KPP but the great performance of our other youngsters - Brett Jones, Mark Nicoski, Beau Waters, Sam Butler, Brent Staker. With a Midfield of Kerr,Cousins,Judd,Fletcher and the rise of Dean Cox with the injury to Gardi plus the positive performances from our experienced brigade of Braun, Wirrpunda, Banfield, Morrison we've been able to develop a good young team. If we can keep them all together for the next few years, further development and more gelling we may be a serious force in 2 or 3 years.

As for you blokes you've continued your stange pattern of one year up one year down, hopefully you can stretch a few good years together, because you're one of the clubs that I find it very hard to hate. Your defence has been good - Bizzell, Wheatley, Rivers and Brown have all been good - Wheatley and Browns run off half back has been a positive part of your game and with Rivers only 19 holding down CHB for a whole season is a terrific effort and he'll probably win the RS award (waters, butler, seaby or staker hopefully) and Nicholson always does a good job at FB. And your midfield is filled with talent yze, green, johnstone and jeff white will be up there in the brownlow. Offcourse Neitz has been good, plus Davey, Robertson and Bruce are all quality forwards.

As for the game, we will be really desperate to win and guarantee a spot in the 8 and you'll be looking to turn your form around in time for the finals - plus with a new look forward setup it could cause us problems. I think the fact its at Subi will get us over the line. A tight contest upto 3/4 time, with us running out by 32points.

Good luck and for the finals aswell - If you play essendon, PLEASE win.

come on eagles!!

Klyntonius said:
The likes of Seaby, Lynch, McDougall, Hunter and Glass have complimented what is probably as good a midfield as there is in the AFL.

And other supporters wonder why we are salivating at the mouth over these players. Thanks Klynt for your comments, it's much nicer to read someone who can see the future we have, rather than ask who Glass is or still call us an aging side. :)

Yeah its good to see other supporters raving about your side instead of just the normal WC fans. He is right though, Im very excited about the future of the club for the next three years.

Still got some holes to fill, mainly at CHB. Hunter is only a stopgap solution and will be found out in the finals should we make it. Wouldn't mind us trying to trade for a young defensive tall like Tristan Walker, even though he is just a younger, taller, more athletic version of Carroll.

coasting said:
Still got some holes to fill, mainly at CHB. Hunter is only a stopgap solution and will be found out in the finals should we make it. Wouldn't mind us trying to trade for a young defensive tall like Tristan Walker, even though he is just a younger, taller, more athletic version of Carroll.

Hello Lynch??

Zac Beeck could be the smokey for CHB.
Took over at CHB last week after Ashley Hansen had dominated and completely took Ash out of the game.
Last night played CHB when the Royals thrashed the Bulldogs and was BOG. Is tall, quick for his size and not scared to put himself about. Also an excellent mark and huge kick. Has more agility than Lynch. Perhaps Woosha and Andy Lovell have put their heads together on this one.

thanks for the comments.

its nice to know that some opposition supporters understand this footy club and where its heading. we all know the ignorant posters who think we are a midfield with nothing else.

BEECK- over at East Perth, they are comparing Beeck to the great Ross Glendinning, who apparently started out as a mediocre ruckmen - I didn't know that and I've followed the Royals all my life - but then blossomed as a CHB. Beeck has been sensational at CHB in his last two games and I believe will be a better option for that position in 2005. He is more football savy, quick and agile. Since his knee injuries, Beeck's development has been most impressive.

One thing though, will beeck show enough to still be on the list next year? i remember a week or 2 ago a few of the eagles fans in perth were calling for him to be delisted so we have enough room for the draft and so on.

Personally though, ive only seen him play one game (im from melbourne) and yeah he could be alright but im not sure if he will be a massive upgrade over lynch.

BTW: Im also loving the development of young fellas, just gotta hope judd sticks around after the end of next year and then we should be right, a top 2 team without a doubt.

I would almost put my house on Beeck's being on the list for 2005. He will emerge as a fine player for us in 2005, which promises to be a very good year - add Morton, Gardiner, Gasper, and Selwood at this stage. All looks well at Eagleland!

Well where the Eagles improved during the bye, is the Marking forawrd. In the first half they had no options to kick to then, when Woosha put the likes of Seaby and Lynch up their they had a tall marking forward. Which is an important part of any team. McDougall did'nt develope in the first half, then in the second we saw a new EFFECTIVE McDougall. Still I don't think he has developed enough, and their is room for improvement. Something for him to work in the off season!

With another pre-season under his belt and some more upper body strength, McDougall will be a revealation next year.

coasting said:

Hunter has been in terrific form of late. Don't see why'd he's suddenly go missing in the finals.

Is as hard as nails.