Eagles playing every 2nd week @ Subi.....

• Thread starter Thread starter Jabber

Jabber

West Coast Eagles
...is an unfair advantage.

According to Brian Taylor on the Sunday Footy Show. Apparently we can never get into a slump, because every Subi game is a certain win. Obviously Taylors memory doesn't stretch back to 2001, or maybe he thinks the plane flight we make to Melbourne every second week is a pleasant little holiday jaunt.
How about Collingwood's travelling advantage, arse clown.

Easy solution that I would like to see. We play 2 in Mebourne, staying there and training in front of the Melbourne Eagles supporters, then play 2 games in a row at Subi. That would half our journeys east.

i suggested a while back that the draw be doen so that teams go to a city for 4-5 weeks than play home for 4-5 weeks. i reckon that'd be a good way to combat travelling and the like.....

How about the first 11 rounds in Perth, then the last 11 in Melbourne based at the G. We should be 11-0 at the halfway mark and clearly 1 on the ladder. Then come September when we are guaranteed finals action through our great start, we will have had near 3 months of experience on the G for that last Saturday.

My solution above would also solve the problem of hanging on to the likes of Judd and Wirrpunda as they would be with family and friends for half the season.

Bit harsh on the players, making them live in Melbourne for 11 weeks... I think Jerry Sienfeld called Melbourne the 'ass-end of the world' or something similar, I think he summed it up pretty well :D

Originally posted by Jabber
Apparently we can never get into a slump, because every Subi game is a certain win.

Thus of course completely failing to miss the point. By his completely warped logic we should never be able to get on a roll either - and finish every season mid-table.

Originally posted by Jabber
How about Collingwood's travelling advantage, arse clown.

Don't try and point things out to the Pies, they are totally incapable of understanding travel. Away games for them means travelling to Docklands...

collingwood

Collingwood this season have a two game advantage on all of the other teams [except brissy].........everyone comes to perth has a loss and another the following week.............

When collingwood get their arse on a plane more than 4 times in a season maybe then they can be taken seriously and not be viewed as a farking pretender.

Hell even Hawthorn travel to tasmania and manage to win games........collingwood its time to let go of your WOOOOOBY!!!!!!

I get sick and tired of these commentators bitching! For christ sake..........Why dont they put the Eagles on the moon and make em play on the moon instead of at Subiaco!

it'll never work with this whole stay at melbourne thing coz players don't wanna stay in hotels for all this time away from families...

and melbournes not that bad come on, i think most of you guys are biased. and it doesn't matter how good/bad melbourne is, that is the home of footyball...

and collingwood.. well they are again being all collingwoody. not satisfied with their easy draw, they wanna pick on the eagles because apparently it is unfair to have to travel back and forth almost every.. single.. week.. gee mate, what an advantage.

collingwood want to keep manipulating the afl until they call it the CFL. or maybe even EdFL. hmm

steve rat

Staying for a week of two in Melbourne a couple of times a year is the best idea i've heard to help the club.
It cuts travel right down and also solves the homesickness problem of some players.
The only reason why it couldn't work is the financial reasons.

I don't know why you are all just singling out Collingwood.

Every single Melbourne team will travel interstate 4-5 times per year.

Collingwood travel 4 times per year, as do a whole number of other Victorian teams. But for some strange reason, Collingwood always seem to be the ones who are the scape goat of the Victorian teams when it comes to travelling.

Any of this head start stuff because they don't come to Perth is crap. We are winning all our games at Subiaco because we are a good side. When we play poorly, teams can, and will eventually beat us (Geelong, Bulldogs etc).

Originally posted by drexel
Staying for a week of two in Melbourne a couple of times a year is the best idea i've heard to help the club.
It cuts travel right down and also solves the homesickness problem of some players.
The only reason why it couldn't work is the financial reasons.

There wouldn't be any financial reasons. The logistics of staying in Melbourne for two weeks, would make it unreachable.

We don't have all our recovery facilities over in Melbourne. What about training, are you only going to have a training session with the 22 blokes who make the trip over, instead of in Perth where you have the whole list of 40.

Port Adelaide and other teams have two away games in a row, and they never stay in the city for the whole two weeks as far as I know.

It just isn't feasible.