Mead

Eagles
From The Book of Woosha: Round 15, Chapter 2

And so it was that after their great victory the disciples were full of pride and they went forth to the stadium which is named for a girl. And because they were prideful, they fell into sin, and were vanquished. And as they left the field,they went to Woosha, and sought to explain themselves. ‘Woosha,’ said one. ‘They smote us. But we never play well in Adelaide. If we had have been at blessed subi, surely we would have triumphed.’
‘Yea’, said Gardie. ‘And surely we were afflicted grievously by injury. Were we at full strength, surely we would hath matched them.” Disciple #46 nodded.
“Gardie speaks truth, bless his big boofy head. For they did not play fair. They smite us and scrag us without cause.’
‘Too ****ing right,’ Spake Jako. ‘And were it not for those ****ing umpires-‘ Woosha heard the disciples complaints, and he became vengeful, but in his eternal goodness and mercy, he spake unto them with a soft voice. ‘Jako, dost thou know my name?’ At this, disciple #27 looked confused.
‘Yea, you are Woosha the almighty, are you not?’
‘It is so.’ Spake Woosha. ‘Is that all people call me?’ The disciples fell silent.
‘Art thou not John Worsfold?’ suggested Brauny.
‘Coach?’ spake Gardie.
‘Smiling Assassin.’ Spake Jonesy. ‘Or Silent. I forget. My head aches.’
'My hanky spanky love machine?' called Georgina Worsfold from afar.
‘Yea,’, I am known by all these names.’ Said Woosha. ‘But tell me, is my name Spud Frawley?’
‘Surely not.’ said the disciples.
‘And is it Malthouse or Choco Williams? Dost thou mistake me for Connolly or Thomas?’ The disciples shook their heads. ‘Then, why,’ said Woosha mildly, his face but an inch from big Jako, ‘-DO-YOU-THINK-I-WANT-TO-HEAR-EXCUSES?!!!!! Know this, poor fools, I am Woosha, and Woosha alone! I speak no excuses, and I do not expect nor will I accept any from thee. If thou win, thou winneth, and if thou do not, then thou was not good enough. For can you make a maggot change his spots, or force the opposition to play fair? No- Then perhaps thou had best worry about thine own selves? Remember these words. For if I repeat them again this season, I will trade the lot of you to the Dockers and coach the Geraldton u/18s. ARE-YOU-LISTENING-TO-ME?!"
'Yea' Said Cuz. 'It is time for a change.' Jako nodded.
'****n oath. First off, I think I need to change my underwear.'

The Good
It’s rather fitting that we played a game and a half last week, because this time around we just about managed half a game. Without our doubt our soundest beating for the year, you had to look hard to find winners for us.

In the midfield, Cousins tried hard all day to some effect, although his poor kicking on goal let him down. Rowan Jones got better as the day went on, stringing together some good disposals and kicking a couple of goals until he was KOed. Wooden, Kerr and Braun also had a fair amount of the ball, whilst Cox did a workmanlike job after Gardiner went down.

Up forward we really didn't have many winners. Embley did an adequate job from the amount of opportunities he got, and was one of the few players who looked comfortable with the amount of physical pressure being applied. Haynes took a few good marks (but squandered the possessions), and Wirrpunda provided a late focal point.

In defence, Banfield got better as the game went on. Glass had a mixed day- he had difficulty with Tredrea early, but also set up a decent amount of play of the half back line. Hunter went some way towards limiting Tredrea after he went onto him.

Around the ground, though, we lacked any player who could really be said to have clearly beaten his man.

The Bad
If last week showcased all of the best qualities of our side, this week highlighted the weaknesses. When you lose in this sort of manner, there’s always a tendency to wheel out the ‘we played crap’ line and leave it that. However, I don’t think its fair to cheapen Port’s win in that way. We didn’t play great, and a number of factors hurt our chances, but even if we had have gone in at our physical and mental peak with the best list available, I still think Port would have beaten us by a fair margin- they were simply outstanding, and played one of the best games I’ve seen of any team this year.

As is the case with most of our games this year, the game was predominately won and lost in the midfield. From the onset, our midfield was bustled out of the contest. We were still getting numbers to the contests in the centre, but Port’s ferocious pressure meant that we were not getting the clean takes out of the centre, the result of which was that we couldn’t move the ball quickly and set up the running game our onballers excel at. Placed under enormous pressure, our disposal suffered, and we started to cough up the ball and give Port opportunities. By the time Gardiner and Fletcher went down the writing was well and truly on the wall, and then Port started to thrash our undermanned midfield in earnest. I don’t have the heart to single out any midfielders. They all tried hard, but none, except perhaps Embley really came to terms with the amount of pressure applied to them. Given that we rely on midfield dominance to win games, when Port started to thrash us out of the centre, the game was more or less open. All I can say is that I would have sold my soul for Daniel Chick in an onball role yesterday- the sort of game that was played would have suited him perfectly.

Our forward line has never been so opportunity starved, and it showed. Matera was held goalless, and on the rare occasions the ball went anywhere near him, was clearly beaten by Wanganeen. Sampi had his poorest game of the year, barely touching the ball all day. Our HF line was perhaps our biggest woe, however. The general rule of our forward line has been that when a lot of the ball goes in their quickly, we’re unbeatable. When this doesn’t happen, we simply do not have a CHF capable of taking consistent marks all the time, and more often than not, the result is us getting burnt on the rebound. Neither Jakovich nor McDougall were even getting to the contests, and consequently our crumbers weren’t getting the opportunities they needed.

I have to admit to feeling a great deal of frustration with our decision not to play McIntosh this week. About the only flaw in Worsfold this year has been his almost touching belief that Trent Carroll is anything other than a complete hack. Every single West Coast fan in existence knew what was going to happen if we went in with a Carroll/Glass as our only real defensive options on Tredrea, and our key defenders simply could not come to terms with the strength and pace of Port Adelaide’s forwards. Glass at least shows some promise, but it seems as though Carroll has nothing going for him. The way I see it, we could be playing either the talented old head in McIntosh, or the promising young bloods in Staker or Lynch. Instead, we’re doing neither, and just marking time with Carroll, who simply never will be up to AFL standard. If we must play a CHB who will be beaten, the least we could do is make it a youngster who might get some good experience out of it. Carroll, on the other and, is as good as he ever will be, and his best simply isn’t adequate. (Cue for Carroll to stage an Embley-esque rebirth next year, and make me look like an idiot again)

Whilst Milli was off consorting with Dockers in the WAFL, we were getting murdered for lack of a player capable of out bodying Tredrea in the one-on-ones. I’ll cop a CHF leading out past 50m and taking a mark, but when he’s planting his feet 30m from goal, and waiting for the ball because nobody has the strength to displace him, there is something seriously wrong. This game confirmed what we already knew- if we win it out of the centre, we’ll beat teams. But if we get beaten in the midfield, we can’t expect our defense to pick up the slack.

The Ugly
Not the prettiest game, and Port did little to dispel their appearance as a thoroughly dirty side. Primus cleaning up Judd behind play looked to be a premeditated strike, which rather makes a mockery of Mark Williams’ bleating last week. Add to that Jones copping an elbow in the face, Carr punching Cousins in the head before the bounce, Fletch collecting the classic knee in the kidneys, and Brogan appearing to boot Gardiner in the knee cap, and Burgoyne executing a spear tackle which could have literally broken Kerr’s neck, and its fair to say there was a certain amount of dirt on display. We’re probably going to lose Gardiner for two weeks and Jones for a week as a result of Port’s thuggery, so I sincerely hope they get absolutely r*ped by the tribunal.

The umpiring was of the hometown variety (as was the commentary) , but I guess we can hardly complain about that. What did **** me no end was the two decisions in the first quarter, when the umpire incorrectly signaled our way, waited 20 seconds until all our players had lost their men and streamed forward, then reversed the decision and gave it to Port. When an umpire does that warning, the result is an almost guaranteed goal, because all of our players were about 10m away from their opponents, and sprinting forward to make options. In both instances, Port got easy goals, and my coffee table got a few more head shaped dents.

Well, that’s it. The reality is we went up against far more physical even side and were found wanting. I don’t have any truck with looking for an excuse for this loss. We got well and truly pantsed by a team which was much better than us, simple as that.
The odd thing is that I don’t really feel that bad about this loss. I suppose it’s better that it we have our comeuppance now rather than September, and if we meet Port in the finals, it’s fair to say that we’ll have some axes to grind. The loss of Gardiner will most likely give Seaby his first opportunity and if we had to be without the big fella for a couple of weeks, there are worse games for him to miss other than v St Kilda and an injury depleted Hawthorn, neither side being particularly noted for their ruck. Our season now enters its critical phase, and if we’re serious about a top 4 spot, we need to show some character and get two wins on the board without Gardie. Time to see what this team is made of.

I don't know if you saw my other post but the elbow that got Jones was from Haynes. It was pretty funny really, they showed it 'On the Couch'. Haynes was lining up Cassisi and missed him and collected up Jones. And also, the injury to Gardiner was just one of those unfortunate things that happens in ruck contests. There has been quite a few injuries in ruck contests this year actually. And also, Primus will get off IMO, wasn't much in it.

Originally posted by Mead
Not the prettiest game, and Port did little to dispel their appearance as a thoroughly dirty side. Primus cleaning up Judd behind play looked to be a premeditated strike, which rather makes a mockery of Mark Williams’ bleating last week. Add to that Jones copping an elbow in the face, Carr punching Cousins in the head before the bounce, Fletch collecting the classic knee in the kidneys, and Brogan appearing to boot Gardiner in the knee cap, and Burgoyne executing a spear tackle which could have literally broken Kerr’s neck, and its fair to say there was a certain amount of dirt on display. We’re probably going to lose Gardiner for two weeks and Jones for a week as a result of Port’s thuggery, so I sincerely hope they get absolutely r*ped by the tribunal.

Really, does it make you feel better to make stuff up?
Jones got taken out by a West Coast player, for gods sake. Port thuggery? HA! The only thug in this incident was a certain flailing elbow in long blue sleeves.
Gardiner and Brogans KNEES clashed, they both had them up, at a centre bounce. An incredibly nothing incident.
Fletcher got hit by Poultons HIP, both players turned to protect themselves. Badly bruised buttock I saw him listed as. Far cry from a knee to the kidney.

All three of those incidents you didn't see, or just lied about to make yourself feel better about the dirty rough Port players. I went and checked all three on video so I know that I am 100% correct in all instances. I would ask you to do the same, and report back your findings. Gardiners is the first bounce after half time. Fletcher is late in the second, where he gets a free kick that leads to Wooden's goal. Jones is late in the 4th, about 7 minutes left. Dom Cassisi baulks Haynes who continues through and collects Jones. Easy to find incidents, all captured nicely.

I'll take credit for our dirty acts. Burgoyne being one of them. But I think you will find that incident is the only one that will result in anything. Even the Primus one seemed very inocuous on the vision shown on the news. Carr's looked worse in the vision on the news, but he has already been cleared anyway, and it isn't something your own players would never do.

Originally posted by Mead
but I guess we can hardly complain about that. What did **** me no end was the two decisions in the first quarter, when the umpire incorrectly signaled our way, waited 20 seconds until all our players had lost their men and streamed forward, then reversed the decision and gave it to Port.

Now I am convinced you didn't watch. The umpire signalled the correct way in both instances. They may have been dodgy decisions yes, but you can't blame the umpires signalling. Port players didn't look at the umpire either (especially Pickett who threw the ball away). Stupid, amateurish stuff from both sides. It is pretty weird to make all sorts of claims that can be easily disproven with vision though.

Re: Re: Eagles v Port GBU

Originally posted by Port01
Fletcher got hit by Poultons HIP, both players turned to protect themselves. Badly bruised buttock I saw him listed as. Far cry from a knee to the kidney.
Sorry, but I will take issue on this one. Fletcher was already on the ground and Poulton clearly lined him up. The fact that he came out with a bruised buttock is inconsequential, it's the potential danger that arises from these situations that is the problem.

Now I am convinced you didn't watch. The umpire signalled the correct way in both instances. They may have been dodgy decisions yes, but you can't blame the umpires signalling. Port players didn't look at the umpire either (especially Pickett who threw the ball away). Stupid, amateurish stuff from both sides. It is pretty weird to make all sorts of claims that can be easily disproven with vision though.
You're right - the umpire did signal his intended way on both occasions - however that wasn't the point. The Pickett incident was the most obvious free kick of the night.

Players often don't look at the umpire when a decision is made. Thet all saw the contact, heard the whistle, and started to move to where they should be to contend for the next posession. The way the umpire pointed wasn't the issue, the rediculous decision was.

Re: Re: Re: Eagles v Port GBU

Originally posted by larrikin
Sorry, but I will take issue on this one. Fletcher was already on the ground and Poulton clearly lined him up. The fact that he came out with a bruised buttock is inconsequential, it's the potential danger that arises from these situations that is the problem.

And how many knees were used? Elbows? Contact to the head? Reportable contact?

None of it.

Fletcher got his just free for arriving a split second before Poulton and putting his body over the ball. Same thing happens multiple times per game. Hell, if Gav does it it would be great acting.

No excuse to blatantly lie about the contact made and say it was a dog act of knees to the kidneys though.

Choco went overboard last week, but he has nothing on some of you guys this week. You probably would have laughed at him too.

Re: Re: Re: Eagles v Port GBU

Originally posted by larrikin
You're right - the umpire did signal his intended way on both occasions - however that wasn't the point. The Pickett incident was the most obvious free kick of the night.

Players often don't look at the umpire when a decision is made. Thet all saw the contact, heard the whistle, and started to move to where they should be to contend for the next posession. The way the umpire pointed wasn't the issue, the rediculous decision was.

So you totally agree with what I said then. The decision was dubious, but blaming it on the signalling is ridiculous.

Meads point, and I quote:
'What did **** me no end was the two decisions in the first quarter, when the umpire incorrectly signaled our way, waited 20 seconds until all our players had lost their men and streamed forward, then reversed the decision and gave it to Port.'

How can you say the signalling wasn't his point?

Stop agreeing with what I say and trying to make out you arent ;)

Re: Re: Re: Re: Eagles v Port GBU

So you totally agree with what I said then. The decision was dubious, but blaming it on the signalling is ridiculous.

Meads point, and I quote:
'What did **** me no end was the two decisions in the first quarter, when the umpire incorrectly signaled our way, waited 20 seconds until all our players had lost their men and streamed forward, then reversed the decision and gave it to Port.'

How can you say the signalling wasn't his point?

Stop agreeing with what I say and trying to make out you arent ;)
At which point did I say I agreed with Mead?

What I said was that players often will not look at the umpire and just listen for the whistle when there is a blatant free kick. That poor decision cost us a goal (and some momentum) but certainly didn't go close to costing us the game.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Eagles v Port GBU

And how many knees were used? Elbows? Contact to the head? Reportable contact?

None of it.

Fletcher got his just free for arriving a split second before Poulton and putting his body over the ball. Same thing happens multiple times per game. Hell, if Gav does it it would be great acting.
I don't care who the players involved were, deliberately diving into a players back is disgraceful, and extremely dangerous. And it was no split second - have another look at it.

Really, does it make you feel better to make stuff up?
Jones got taken out by a West Coast player, for gods sake. Port thuggery? HA! The only thug in this incident was a certain flailing elbow in long blue sleeves.
Gardiner and Brogans KNEES clashed, they both had them up, at a centre bounce. An incredibly nothing incident.

All three of those incidents you didn't see, or just lied about to make yourself feel better about the dirty rough Port players. I went and checked all three on video so I know that I am 100% correct in all instances. I would ask you to do the same, and report back your findings. Gardiners is the first bounce after half time. Fletcher is late in the second, where he gets a free kick that leads to Wooden's goal. Jones is late in the 4th, about 7 minutes left. Dom Cassisi baulks Haynes who continues through and collects Jones. Easy to find incidents, all captured nicely.

I'll take credit for our dirty acts. Burgoyne being one of them. But I think you will find that incident is the only one that will result in anything. Even the Primus one seemed very inocuous on the vision shown on the news. Carr's looked worse in the vision on the news, but he has already been cleared anyway, and it isn't something your own players would never do.

Oddly enough, I tend not to write reviews for games I didn't watch. I suppose its possible I spent a lot of time covering my eyes during that game.

Anyway, I did go back to the tape for a fourth time tonight (which makes it 4 times more than I wanted to see it.) As Kenny has already said, it looks like I did get it wrong about the Jones/Cassisi/Haynes incident. I sincerely apologise if I hurt yours or Cassisi's feelings, and if Dom wants to come around to my house and kick my ass for dissing him, well feel free to let him know.
Fletcher was hit by Poulton's hip, but he definitely didn't turn to protect himself- Poulton lined him up and crashed in, when Fletcher was already over the ball- he came into contact with him above his buttocks, in his lower back- the kidney area, to be precise. If you look at Fletcher once he gets up, its clear that is where he is hurting.
I watched Gardiner and Brogan from the two angles available, and then took it through frame by frame- the initial contact is not knee on knee, Brogan's shin whacks into his knee, and then slides down.
On the other incidents- Primus runs through Judd behind play. but from what can be seen of it, Primus clearly collects Judd late, and when a 100kg ruckman cleans up a talented young player in those circumstances, it isn't surprising there is going to be a case to answer. You think its clean, I think its dirty. If it were Jakovich running through Nick Stevens or the like, you (and Mark Williams) would be screaming blue murder, and I would probably be glossing over it. Such is footy.
Carr's was a punch in the face, simple as that.
Incidentally not a word on Cornes crashing in late with a knee to Carroll's face? 'As far from an accident as you could get' was how kid dynamite put it.

Now, did you want to restart the 10 page thread on similar matters on the main board, then tell us to build a bridge and get over it? I'm not quite sure I see your point-

Two things were clear out of that game-
1.) Port did some bloody dirty things on the weekend, you admit as much yourself. Your lot do come across as a dirty side, but as I said on the main board, thats not a bad thing at all- Brisbane over the last two years and Essendon before that were packed full of thugs, and it tends to be a requirement of a flag winning side.

2.) Secondly, as I've already said on this thread and others, Port were a substantially better side than West Coast. The way they played, the skills they showed, the pressure they applied all made us look second rate. Port took us to pieces, simple as that, and the final margin was a perfect reflection of just how good your lot was.

So,nobody's suggesting that your precious paps didn't deserve the win, and everybody including yourself is in agreeance that there were some dirty acts done during the course of the game. So aside from sulking because an opposition supporter saw things differently to you, do you think perhaps you could get over it all now?

So there was no knee to the kidneys, no boot to the kneecap, and no thug taking out Jones.

You also didn't lose Jones, nor lose Gardiner due to Port thuggery.

I do not understand where you clearly made a bunch of accusations that were untrue, after having watched the incidents 3 times already.

I dont mind if you have a go at us. Doesn't bother me in the least, but I'd prefer you restricted it to stuff that actually happened.

The sarcasm about me having a sulk doesnt make it look better either. You really expect if I posted a bunch of crap about the eagles that didn't happen your fellow supporters would simply ignore it in good humour? I'm not ****ed off, just don't understand why you'd bother clearly inventing things unless it was written immediately after the game purely on emotion.

So there was no knee to the kidneys, no boot to the kneecap, and no thug taking out Jones.

You also didn't lose Jones, nor lose Gardiner due to Port thuggery.

I do not understand where you clearly made a bunch of accusations that were untrue, after having watched the incidents 3 times already.

I dont mind if you have a go at us. Doesn't bother me in the least, but I'd prefer you restricted it to stuff that actually happened.

The sarcasm about me having a sulk doesnt make it look better either. You really expect if I posted a bunch of crap about the eagles that didn't happen your fellow supporters would simply ignore it in good humour? I'm not ****ed off, just don't understand why you'd bother clearly inventing things unless it was written immediately after the game purely on emotion.
Yep, ok we've established that, but Poulton did cannon into Fletcher's back and late, Primus did take out Judd high and late, Carr did hit Cousins before the bounce (which the kick was probably enough for) and Burgoyne did spear tackle Kerr.

Still doesn't look good!

Fox Footy had a new camera angle of the Primus/Judd incident and there was nothing in it, just a hip and shoulder that maybe was a tad high... but he will get off for sure.

The only incident of playing dirty was probably the Burgoyne/Kerr incident and maybe the Carr/Cousins incident. Regarding the latter, there are heaps of incidents like that every round though.

Originally posted by Kenny_01
Fox Footy had a new camera angle of the Primus/Judd incident and there was nothing in it, just a hip and shoulder that maybe was a tad high... but he will get off for sure.

The only incident of playing dirty was probably the Burgoyne/Kerr incident and maybe the Carr/Cousins incident. Regarding the latter, there are heaps of incidents like that every round though.
I'll take your word for it on that Kenny, and apologise to Port if that is the case. I still reckon the Burgoyne and Poulton incidents were reportable.

Yeah, from Fox Footy's exclusive replay showing the incident from the opposite angle, Primus looked to have come into contact with Judd's shoulder, meaning he will get off.

IMO, the only incident from the game that warrants a suspension is Burgoyne's tackle on Kerr. Don't think Carr will be suspended though.

Good review Mead

The only incident which i saw that warrants suspension is the "spear tackle" by Burgoyne..... if things had been different Kerr couldve been seriously injured

Originally posted by noodle
nice wrap up mead.

port are still dirty thugs.

Yeah! If we meet em in the finals we should go out there and kick their arses physically! Play fair by all means but just be reall god damn hard at the ball!

As has already been said Mead good review again. Even with a bit of "Port Justice" being thrown in :rolleyes:

Anyway, do you use real bible verses for the book of Woosha because it read very close to the original good book?