Big Red is back

Golden State Warriors
Looking at our fixture for the year as a whole it is fair to say it is pretty darn good.

Play once:

- Cats
- Hawks
- Roos
- Swans &
- Dogs

It could not get much easier than this

And we still struggle to make the 8. Simple wins like ess and rich we should always win.

Yeah, next year will be the year we beat the easy sides and match it with the good ones. Also hopefully deal out a few beatings.

Note in 2006 Hawthorn finished behind Richmond and Geelong in 11th with 9 wins and 13 losses. The parallels between us at the moment are uncanny. We are still about 2 players short of completing our list and need to improve on skills :thumbsu:

Yeah, next year will be the year we beat the easy sides and match it with the good ones. Also hopefully deal out a few beatings.

Note in 2006 Hawthorn finished behind Richmond and Geelong in 11th with 9 wins and 13 losses. The parallels between us at the moment are uncanny. We are still about 2 players short of completing our list and need to improve on skills :thumbsu:

Walker + Hoops bang we are back

Your only as good as your opponent on the day .... having said that the fixture is an absolute disgrace, what the hell was wrong with the old way ....

Can't always look at it like that. I know most supporters do but you can't just say "we should've won this game" or "if we won the games we should've we'd be much higher". You have to look at all of the games you won that you "shouldn'tve". There are probably more games in this catagory than the former.

You start of logically, but end up being ilogical as you contradict yourself :rolleyes:

...That's Collingwood for you I guess, always falling just short of success.

Given our current ability to produce only one quarter of quality footy per game, I'm reckoning it's still a pretty tough draw.

Once we can maintain that same intensity throughout a whole game our stocks will rise quite rapidly. Then we will start winning the "should've won that one" type games.

That'll come mate.
With such a young list, we've got time on our side to make a real play at the finals, and then have a tilt at the ultimate prize.

You start of logically, but end up being ilogical as you contradict yourself :rolleyes:

How did I contradict myself? I said that you can't just look at the games you "should've" won, as there are games that you "shouldn't" have won as well. So pretty much I'm saying take the good with the bad, and that it's not as simple as saying "if we won the games we should've we'd be in the top 8" or whatever.

wtf are you on?

That's Collingwood for you I guess, always falling just short of success

I can just tell you were itching to throw an insult into your post. Funny how you pick one that fits the least with what you were trying to say.

Keep digging.

Looking at our fixture for the year as a whole it is fair to say it is pretty darn good.

Play once:

- Cats
- Hawks
- Roos
- Swans &
- Dogs

It could not get much easier than this

Correct.

We have hawks and cats twice. Hence why our ladder position is a far better effort than yours!

Can someone tell me how 16th plays 1st twice? On what basis? We have played them( geelong)twice three years in a row.

What a free hit for Geelong!

theres 1 big diffrence & its probably the main reason why the hawks have progressed well & so quickly there tall fowards.
carlton still need to recruit players of the ilk of buddy , roughie ,
which isnt very easy to do.

theres 1 big diffrence & its probably the main reason why the hawks have progressed well & so quickly there tall fowards.
carlton still need to recruit players of the ilk of buddy , roughie ,
which isnt very easy to do.

We still need 1 tall and 1 small forward.

Fisher is a good forward but horribly out of form atm.
Betts does his job.

We have either of Murphy, stevens and Gibbs that rotate through every game. Plus Houlihan and Walker to come back from injury. I don't think we're that far off.

If someone like Hartlett can cement a spot and maybe Walker or Houlihan to do some damage also a forward line of

Betts Fev Houlihan
Fisher Hartlett (Murphy, Stevens, Gibbs, Walker) looks pretty good.

Having said that Hartlett really needs to get over his injuries.

That'll come mate.
With such a young list, we've got time on our side to make a real play at the finals, and then have a tilt at the ultimate prize.
Good point, the only way well get to the finals now is to win some games, and even if we do, i dougt we'd make the grand final because were still a young side.:D

How did I contradict myself? I said that you can't just look at the games you "should've" won, as there are games that you "shouldn't" have won as well. So pretty much I'm saying take the good with the bad, and that it's not as simple as saying "if we won the games we should've we'd be in the top 8" or whatever.

wtf are you on?

I can just tell you were itching to throw an insult into your post. Funny how you pick one that fits the least with what you were trying to say.

Keep digging.

Why are there probably more games in this category than the former? :confused:

Correct.

We have hawks and cats twice. Hence why our ladder position is a far better effort than yours!

Can someone tell me how 16th plays 1st twice? On what basis? We have played them( geelong)twice three years in a row.
Simple, because everyone (aside from Tiges fans) derive some pleasure from seeing you destroyed.
What a free hit for Geelong!
Well, yes........sad that you admit that the Cats playing you is a free hit.

Finished crying yet?
Still convinced last year was just "bad luck"..........bloody draw.

At what point do you stop pointing at narrow losses to the top sides as "geez we are unlucky" and admit its actually "geez, we aren't good enough".:o

Damn! You missed that easy Essendon win twice this year!!!! :D LMAO! When will you work out that there's no "easy" wins when it's Ess V Car... The underdog (whoever it is) always lifts! :thumbsu:

Good point, the only way well get to the finals now is to win some games, and even if we do, i dougt we'd make the grand final because were still a young side.:D

Ya think? Great to see you're harbouring only realistic ambitions!!! :D

Now BlueBear.... you say this:

Finished crying yet?

At what point do you stop pointing at narrow losses to the top sides as "geez we are unlucky" and admit its actually "geez, we aren't good enough".:o

But have just posted on another thread:

The same reason why
  • Setanta didn't get the free for over the shoulder moments before Monfries picked up the ball and got a free for high contact vs Carrazzo
  • Murphy clearly being held late in the 4th as he was trying to run forward on the wing........Razor puts the whistle up to the mouth.......put it back down.......and told the Dons player to stop holding
  • The Dons had 5 frees inside F50 to 0 at Quarter time.
At worst the Fev one was play on, but yes, Fev should have got the free for front on contact.

Pot? Kettle? Black? Much? :D

Interesting that BlueBear didn't mention the holding the ball decision which wasn't paid against Murphy that resulted in a Blues goal late in the 4th. It goes both ways doesn't it.

As for 0 -5 in the first quarter, Essendon were first to the ball and as such had the free kicks as Carlton came late and infringed.. Anyway, that was last week.

Interesting that BlueBear didn't mention the holding the ball decision which wasn't paid against Murphy that resulted in a Blues goal late in the 4th. It goes both ways doesn't it.

As for 0 -5 in the first quarter, Essendon were first to the ball and as such had the free kicks as Carlton came late and infringed.
Yes......you're right...........of course nothing was missed.......we were just second to the ball the whole quarter.:o

Anyway, that was last week.
Catch cry of the "I don't want to keep arguing this because I'll get done" :o:o
So what the hell are you still doing here?

Don't let the door hit your arse on the way out.:thumbsu:

we got a pretty good first half of the draw
2nd half is not really near as good

With our ins after the break we really needed a third half of the draw. Would have been sweeet!

Sorry FD (or is it FW?........the W is for "Wit":p), missed you the first time around. The job of dealing with Morons is a very tiresome one and I'm sure you understand, I do try and deal with each of you in a timely fashion.

Now.........for a lesson in logic.

When I said
Finished crying yet?

to Tigers fans regfarding their general contention that last year they were actually a good side that narrowly missed out on winning lots of games and playing finals.............a gee whiz if they aren't at it again.........

Can you explain to me how that relates to
The same reason why
  • Setanta didn't get the free for over the shoulder moments before Monfries picked up the ball and got a free for high contact vs Carrazzo
  • Murphy clearly being held late in the 4th as he was trying to run forward on the wing........Razor puts the whistle up to the mouth.......put it back down.......and told the Dons player to stop holding
  • The Dons had 5 frees inside F50 to 0 at Quarter time.
Comments clearly aimed at illustrating how bad the umpiring was on the weekend.

Any direct link will do:

Tigers inability to win close games..............poor umpiring decisions on Sunday...........the link........cheers.:o

BTW, it isn't particulalrly clever to find two posts by the same poster in different threads.

The challenge is to make those quotes relevant to one another:

Much like this:

I have picked a poster at random so as not to embarrass him too much, but lets just say he is a Dons supporter.

Prior to the Hawks game which they lost 130 - 79 this poster said:

I think we can take this game right up to the Hawks. If we run, chase, harass and hit them with the same intensity we showed on the weekend, we will be right in it.

An important game for us. We don't need to win it, but we really need to show some spine.

Line in the sand game.... anyone???

I wouldn't say we're miles better, but you B-lose have certainly been overrating yourselves.

So if was Iwas to be the clever dicky I could say.........so who was overratting themselves?
I mean, at least we lead and had a chance in the 4th quarter...........(then I would insert a :p or a :o just to round off the cleverness).

Lesson over.

Come back anytime for lesson number 2.

BTW, did you figure out who the mystery poster was?;)

Bye.

Sorry FD (or is it FW?........the W is for "Wit":p), missed you the first time around. The job of dealing with Morons is a very tiresome one and I'm sure you understand, I do try and deal with each of you in a timely fashion.

(blah blah blah... irrelevant... still sooking.... out of context... blah blah... whinge.... blah blah blah.... umpires... moan... blah blah blah)

Lesson over.

Come back anytime for lesson number 2.

(Edited because your writing is so tedious)

Yes Bugbear, I do understand. Very tiresome. (yawn). Lesson learnt!! :cool:

I think the most relevant bit of your quote I quoted back to you was:

At what point do you stop pointing at narrow losses to the top sides as "geez we are unlucky" and admit its actually "geez, we aren't good enough"

This was relevant because Essendon beat the Blues last week - Not because of poor umpiring/bad luck, but because The Blues weren't good enough. The link is that someone (ie. You/Tigers Supporter) is incorrectly blaming external factors (ie. Umpires/Draw/Bad luck) for their team not meeting expectations (losing to Essendon/Not making the finals/winning close games)... as distinct from someone (You/Tiger supporter) facing the reality that their team is perhaps not good enough.

Capiche? Did I really need to join those dots together for you???? :o Oh dear. Feeling bad now. Thinking you're perhaps mildly ******ed? ;)

PS. I'm thrilled you have the time to go through all my posts! Let's hope you learned something too! :D :p