kleos

Hi Crows Fans.
Should be a pretty easy win tonight for Collingwood when you consider how poor Adelaide is playing, while Collingwood isnt exactly staring, they have showed glimpses of there great 2002/2003 form, While Adelaide has a team full of flu victims according to reports.

We had the real flu and the Subiaco flu last time we played you lot at TD and you flogged us...

No Presti, Frase, Bucks or Burnsie this time around though - all traditionally have stellar games against us.

All the best, let's hope it's a good game with no injuries or reports for either side.

Cheers

Originally posted by kleos
Hi Crows Fans.
Should be a pretty easy win tonight for Collingwood when you consider how poor Adelaide is playing, while Collingwood isnt exactly staring, they have showed glimpses of there great 2002/2003 form, While Adelaide has a team full of flu victims according to reports.
Who has the flu?

Crows to flog the Pies by 40+ pts.

Originally posted by kleos
Hi Crows Fans.
Should be a pretty easy win tonight for Collingwood when you consider how poor Adelaide is playing

Did someone teach you how to point out the bleeding obvious or does it come naturally for you? It's uncanny!

Re: Re: Easy Win For The Woods!

Originally posted by ant
Did someone teach you how to point out the bleeding obvious or does it come naturally for you? It's uncanny!
Reckon your wrong this week ant (even though you have been correct most of the year). Crows to win easily to give use false hope of making the finals...

When you think about it, the loser is really going to gain a hell of a lot more out of the victory than the winner.

If we win we'll have 3 wins, and therefore don't qualify for a priority draft pick. If Collingwood lose the same applies.

I FOR ONE HOPE WE GET FLOGGED BY 52 POINTS SO WE CAN SHIP THAT LOSER GARY AYRES BACK TO VICTORIA WERE HE BLOODY BELONGS AND LET DJ TAKE OVER FOR THE REST OF THE SEASON AND BLOOD THE YOUNG BLOKES. HE'D BE REALLY GOOD WITH THEM I RECKON.

Haha right you are people. I wasn't 100% sure Probably should have done a bit of research.

Anyway apparently the AFL are very strongly considering only having priority picks given away if a team loses less than 15 games over 3 years, so that pricks like Collingwood can't rorte the system like they're going to this season.

Sounds like a good idea to me.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18

To get priority picks you need to win less that 5 games.

Close, but no cigar!! ;)

To get priority picks, you must win less than 25% of your games.

That's less than 5 and 1/2 games.

5 wins still gets a priority pick.

If the AFL were fair dinkum about truly evening up the competition and making it more competitive as a whole they'd dispense with the current way of handing out picks - both priority and ladder position - and bring in a lottery system for the teams that miss the finals a la the NBA.

That way there'd be no tanking whatsoever. If you finish 1-8 you've a shot at the flag in September, if you finish 9-16 your season ends but ninth has just as much chance of getting the number one pick as sixteenth does.

Priority picks should only come into play for persisent basket cases - I like the suggestion floated above which says if you win less than 15 games over three seasons then you're in line for one.

But the current system does more harm than good. St. Kilda currently have an uberteam full of kids that will be brilliant for the next decade for no other reason than they were crap, submediocre, pathetic, abysmal. At present there are no rewards for clubs who are superbly managed on a consistent basis both on and off the field, such as Adelaide or Essendon.

Originally posted by macca23
Close, but no cigar!! ;)

To get priority picks, you must win less than 25% of your games.

That's less than 5 and 1/2 games.

5 wins still gets a priority pick.
Correct. 5 wins get you a priority pick. 5 wina and a draw will not get you a priority pick.

Originally posted by dyertribe
if you finish 9-16 your season ends but ninth has just as much chance of getting the number one pick as sixteenth does.
If we are talking exactly like NBA lottery system then 9th doesn't have as much chance as 16th to get number 1 pick. NBA system has lottery balls and 16th team would have more balls in the lottery than the team that finished 9th.

The bottom line is that if you finish bottom you are not guaranteed to get #1 pick.

If the AFL were fair dinkum about truly evening up the competition and making it more competitive as a whole they'd dispense with the current way of handing out picks - both priority and ladder position - and bring in a lottery system for the teams that miss the finals a la the NBA.

That way there'd be no tanking whatsoever. If you finish 1-8 you've a shot at the flag in September, if you finish 9-16 your season ends but ninth has just as much chance of getting the number one pick as sixteenth does.

Priority picks should only come into play for persisent basket cases - I like the suggestion floated above which says if you win less than 15 games over three seasons then you're in line for one.

But the current system does more harm than good. St. Kilda currently have an uberteam full of kids that will be brilliant for the next decade for no other reason than they were crap, submediocre, pathetic, abysmal. At present there are no rewards for clubs who are superbly managed on a consistent basis both on and off the field, such as Adelaide or Essendon.
What about a lottery based on percentage of win/losses say over the last 3 seasons to determine each pick in each round?

If we are talking exactly like NBA lottery system then 9th doesn't have as much chance as 16th to get number 1 pick. NBA system has lottery balls and 16th team would have more balls in the lottery than the team that finished 9th.

The bottom line is that if you finish bottom you are not guaranteed to get #1 pick.

Ah yes, very true. Well then we go with that system.

I think its the fairest system. Scrap priority picks and go wth NBA type lottery system where every team that misses finals will go into lottery and there is a chance that team that finishes 16th might not get #1 pick

Its common sence

The lead story in the preview for Ch10 sport tonight in Melbourne was 'Adelaide in damage control after a meeting with Gary Ayres.'

:confused:

Originally posted by bluecrow
The lead story in the preview for Ch10 sport tonight in Melbourne was 'Adelaide in damage control after a meeting with Gary Ayres.'

They told him to stop dipping his head in a bucket of water and putting a mouthguard in before press conferences.

Fair dinkum Gaz! Your hair and chompers win you no favours!

Yeah I agree, the NBA system is quite good.

The lottery contributes to the first 4 picks only. So if the team that finishes last lucks out in the lottery, the worst pick they could get would be no. 5 which is fair.

Originally posted by ****
Yeah I agree, the NBA system is quite good.

The lottery contributes to the first 4 picks only. So if the team that finishes last lucks out in the lottery, the worst pick they could get would be no. 5 which is fair.

With the NBA lottery I am pretty sure that every team that misses the play offs goes into lottery but the one that has the worst record (ie finishes last) has more balls in the lottery than any other team while the best team from the losing lot has the least number of balls in lottery. Draft picks for teams that have made play offs are done in reverse order so that the best team gets the last pick

Originally posted by bluecrow

ten_logo.gif

"In today's top story, Adelaide Crows CEO Steven Trigg was brutally honest when it came to coach Gary Ayres' choice of hair product.

123381al.jpg

An adamant Trigg faces the media

Look... there's only one direction we want to take this footy club and that's up. Unfortunately, Gary's hair acts literally like a banana skin - the residue from the melon has caused slips and accidents to increase by 3000% in the past financial year. It has to stop and we've let Gary know that if the situation doesn't improve his contract will not be renewed for season 2005... it's basically the same situation as with Nigel Smart's scalp wax.

When asked to comment about this state of affairs, Ayres was typically blunt:

013816aq.jpg

Gary during happier, less hairy times

Yeah no um, well you've got your Schwarzkopfs and your gels and your Pantenes... all of which are capable of a subtle hold, but you know, this is the AFL... a subtle hold just isn't acceptable when other hair products are improving all the time. But at the end of the day the buck stops with the coach of the Adelaide footy club and until such time as I'm not that coach then I'll do the job to the best of my follicle abilities

In related news, the Andrew McLeod continues his breathing strike in a one-man protest against Brett Burton's kicking ability.

Andrew%20McLeod.jpg

McLeod exhibiting a steely determination not seen since the 2002 season

More news as it comes to hand, back to you George."

With the NBA lottery I am pretty sure that every team that misses the play offs goes into lottery but the one that has the worst record (ie finishes last) has more balls in the lottery than any other team while the best team from the losing lot has the least number of balls in lottery. Draft picks for teams that have made play offs are done in reverse order so that the best team gets the last pick

Is it still possible to fluke it and win 2 drafts in a row ala Orlando in 92/93 and 93/94? Plenty of grumbles among the teams after the Magic did that.

And I hope you are right Kane, but I'm not very holding my breath.

Scrap the priority picks altogether, nobody deserves them. At best they should be taken after the first round, not before it. Don't think a lottery is required as you only have 16 teams, unlike the NBA.

I would like to see a form of zoning come back in. Take a kid out of your zone under something like the Father/Son rule (cost you a second or third pick?). Both Adelaide clubs could benefit from this. And it would make second and third round picks a whole lot more valuable too.