EDFL Junior Football

footydude67

Aug 16, 2010
Much better cut out for older teams , cannot wait until michael plays 16's or 18's , very passionate coach but i hate they way he individualizes the players in his care , as i junior coach i thought our job was to build a passion in young footballers to want to play football and improve , not sure he does this , to under 12,s it is a game not life and death and i think if we take this away they lose something
I cant believe how peolple are prepared to have a crack at a bloke who devotes his time to coaching kids especially when they have no idea of what is going on or do not know the bloke. Parkfooty, your comments are way off the mark. My kid plays in that team and never have I heard Jose Romero tell any kid that he was a disgrace or that he let his team mates down. I couldnt be happier with the way he has managed the kids this year. Please, in future, check your facts before you go dragging a blokes name through the mud. Sounds like tall poppy syndrome to me.

Re: EDFL "A" Grade - 2010

Just another time the league favors keilor , last year in the 16's GF the league's own photographer took heaps of photo,s of keilor players punching into big Jordy after the final siren
you could view them from the link on their own website and still they did nothing
Well said Sempai. I recall big Jordy getting set upon by 5 Keilor blokes after the game was done and won. We also had a situation in an Under 10 game early in the season where a DS boy was straddled by a Keilor boy and punched twice to the head. Poor kid sported a huge lump on his head. No report was made and when a complaint was made to the league the club was told that an investigation could not go ahead as the umpire had gone away on holidays. As a result Keilor offered the kid a club imposed 2 week suspension. Makes no sense to me that the league did nothing by imposing a heavy penalty to send a message to the kids and the clubs that this sort of stuff is not tolerated.

EDFL I dont think so, they are fair weather spectators!! Scott, Price and Corrigan probably having Lattes at a heated cafe somewhere. Also note that they are charging entry fee for Coaches, Players and Support staff for finals, just another money grabbing exercise, surely the Clubs contribute enough to the bulging coffers and pay packets!!
It would be a certainty that the EDFL heirarchy or umpires wont be paying. :thumbsdown:
What a great game DS v Keilor at Keilor Park. One of the best junior footy games I have ever seen. That Jordy Rogers is a gem and probably the best captain in the league. Leads by example and his voice on the field is invaluable.

Well said Sempai. I recall big Jordy getting set upon by 5 Keilor blokes after the game was done and won. We also had a situation in an Under 10 game early in the season where a DS boy was straddled by a Keilor boy and punched twice to the head. Poor kid sported a huge lump on his head. No report was made and when a complaint was made to the league the club was told that an investigation could not go ahead as the umpire had gone away on holidays. As a result Keilor offered the kid a club imposed 2 week suspension. Makes no sense to me that the league did nothing by imposing a heavy penalty to send a message to the kids and the clubs that this sort of stuff is not tolerated.

Mate you need to get a life - interesting bringing up history when you just lost a game you had in the bag. Don't spoil a great game of junior footy by bagging a club that you know nothing about.
With Keilor having 14 of their 15 junior sides playing in Grand Finals you have to have a bitch about something.

Mate you need to get a life - interesting bringing up history when you just lost a game you had in the bag. Don't spoil a great game of junior footy by bagging a club that you know nothing about.
With Keilor having 14 of their 15 junior sides playing in Grand Finals you have to have a bitch about something.
Mate I know more about your club than you do it seems. Had a chat with your President after the Under 10 incident about how the once revered Keilor could have these issues. His response was simple - that's what happens when you start letting just anyone into the club to keep the numbers up where they have always been. His words not mine. He also went on to say that they are throwing out 4 to 5 families a year over things like this. Success is great but at what cost? Speak to your president and you will find out what really is happening.

Ran into the Pres last night - he was very up beat for a bloke that supposedly has problems. Last time someone was asked to leave Keilor FC was 3 years ago. Suggest you need to get a bit closer to the action or check your sources. With 14 of 15 sides playing off in Grand Finals you have to be happy irrespective of the results.

I cant believe how peolple are prepared to have a crack at a bloke who devotes his time to coaching kids especially when they have no idea of what is going on or do not know the bloke. Parkfooty, your comments are way off the mark. My kid plays in that team and never have I heard Jose Romero tell any kid that he was a disgrace or that he let his team mates down. I couldnt be happier with the way he has managed the kids this year. Please, in future, check your facts before you go dragging a blokes name through the mud. Sounds like tall poppy syndrome to me.

So i guess it wasn't the real Jose then who approached the goal umpire with abuse after he called the ball hitting the post on sunday. Or maybe it was a different Romero that also approached the umpires with abuse at half time. Maybe this is why there has been a consenses of this years umpires done recently which has resulted in the majority asking he doesn't coach juniors in the EDFL. Before you get on and say what crap, just have a think that maybe i know something. Yes, good on him for taking on the kids (his sons side), but maybe has to adjust his ways. I guess he can only follow in the senior coachs direction of the club. Douttas is a good club but unfortunately has some not so good people in the wrong positions. And some things are simply not in the Kyokushin way, hey Sempai.:thumbsu:

Hi all. I am new to this forum and stumbled on this thread. I live in Keilor Park and wandered down to the Div 1 finals games on Sunday. Got there 5 minutes into the 1st Qtr of the Under 12 game and stayed to the end of the U16 game. Having recognised Jose Romero I decided to stand near his bench and go to his huddles. I am a KP member so had no allegiance to any club playing on the day. Let me say that you are giving Jose a tough go. At no time did he have a crack at the Goal Umpire or the Field Umpire. I thought he was well behaved all day. The only outburst from him was at one time a decision went against his team and he threw his drink bottle on the ground. That was it. I was standing right there and I can tell you your description is way off the mark on this occasion.

Very credible source - signed up to bf just to post this :rolleyes:

Jose is that you? :eek:

Mate now you've really uncovered yourself for the s**t talker you really are. The Sunday just gone by was the Preliminary Final weekend at Keilor Park. I was there standing at the coaches bench throughout the whole game. I can tell you now without any doubt that exactly the Jose you are talking about is not the real one. At no point in time did he berate a goal umpire - bit hard to do when your bench is 150 metres away from the goals. At half time he took his kids straight into the rooms - didnt go near the umpires at all. In fact after the game he and I shook the umpires hands and said "well done". You can ask the umps if you like. If you were there you'd know who they were.
You know what really gets up my nose, anonymous people using forums like this to take pot shots at people. Have some courage and come down the club and air your grievances to the committee and to the coach if you have an issue. If you do not have the guts to do so just keep your mouth shut. No one believes your rubbish because the real people in the know see right through you.

Very credible source - signed up to bf just to post this :rolleyes:

Jose is that you? :eek:
Well said KP. Did you hang around the rooms after the last game? If so I may have had a beer with you. I was sitting at the table with Barnesy and Jenno. You must know Jenno he played in your 1990 B Grade Premiership.

Well said KP. Did you hang around the rooms after the last game? If so I may have had a beer with you. I was sitting at the table with Barnesy and Jenno. You must know Jenno he played in your 1990 B Grade Premiership. If you were there, I recall a few KP members sitting at the bar and a young girl came around and offered us all some banana cake. Very hospitable bunch you blokes. Thanks for your hopitality.

Ran into the Pres last night - he was very up beat for a bloke that supposedly has problems. Last time someone was asked to leave Keilor FC was 3 years ago. Suggest you need to get a bit closer to the action or check your sources. With 14 of 15 sides playing off in Grand Finals you have to be happy irrespective of the results.
Mate the words came straight from Tealy's mouth. Either he is telling fibs or you have no idea what is going on. If that's not a reliable source I dont know what is?

Well said KP. Did you hang around the rooms after the last game? If so I may have had a beer with you. I was sitting at the table with Barnesy and Jenno. You must know Jenno he played in your 1990 B Grade Premiership. If you were there, I recall a few KP members sitting at the bar and a young girl came around and offered us all some banana cake. Very hospitable bunch you blokes. Thanks for your hopitality.
I recall seeing Barnesy sitting at the table watching the footy with a few blokes. I didnt stay long - just said my goodbyes and left. If you are referring to Kyle then yes we all know him at KP. Had a chat with him on Sunday. His boy is a great little player. How Douttas got him and not us is beyond me. Any way I'm glad you were treated well. we are good family club. Be nice if you could send some kids our way - haha.

Mate now you've really uncovered yourself for the s**t talker you really are. The Sunday just gone by was the Preliminary Final weekend at Keilor Park. I was there standing at the coaches bench throughout the whole game. I can tell you now without any doubt that exactly the Jose you are talking about is not the real one. At no point in time did he berate a goal umpire - bit hard to do when your bench is 150 metres away from the goals. At half time he took his kids straight into the rooms - didnt go near the umpires at all. In fact after the game he and I shook the umpires hands and said "well done". You can ask the umps if you like. If you were there you'd know who they were.
You know what really gets up my nose, anonymous people using forums like this to take pot shots at people. Have some courage and come down the club and air your grievances to the committee and to the coach if you have an issue. If you do not have the guts to do so just keep your mouth shut. No one believes your rubbish because the real people in the know see right through you.

O.k Dude 67 you have the right to defend him and maybe attention is drawn to him because of his past. Or maybe he is percieved in a manner that is not correct. So good luck with the parents in the future. By the way, my son officiated that game. So i probably wouldn't have a clue what the umpires got together and talked about.:rolleyes:

Now you are talking some sense. There have been some issues in the past that have been addressed and corrected. We have had no issues this year at all but unfortunately people harp on stuff that happened in the past. I'll give an example of the way he is perceived especially by Abers people, who have a real problem with the guy for some unknown reason. On mothers day we have div 1's playing our main oval and div 4's playing our top oval. I received a complaint from an Abers person about Jose yelling at the umpires on the top oval. I had to laugh and dismiss it because the man was at the bottom oval coaching his team. They are having cracks at him when he is not even there.
If your son officiated the game, ask him if he recalls someone from Douttas walking up and shaking the hand of all 4 umpires and telling them "Well done, good game". If so, that was me and Jose was standing right alongside me.

You are an idiot. I signed up to try to spruik our footy club. As you know we are struggling for juniors and was hoping to get the word out there. Boy was I wrong with idiots like you on here.

Hmm i see where Jose gets it from. He is coaching at a club that clearly can't refrain from unsociable behaviour

Keilor Park. Great junior footy club. You have to admire the kids who front up week after week. Northern Saints had a terrific working relationship with them last year.

Good thread too. The kids are the future of the game and this league.
Yeah they sent us some kids across. Great help. We were under the pump there for a while. NS really helped u out with numbers - very grateful.

I read the footy record yesterday and was pleasantly surpirsed to see the list of grand final winners in all junior grades. What a fantastic effort by the Sydneham Hillside FC winning 7, East Keilor winning 3 and Jacana 1. Great to see these clubs that are perceived as struggling clubs to have such success. Well Done

EDFL Junior Football