Delisted Eli Templeton

Why did he not get picked up in the national draft? Even in phantom's he was going top 50 from memory.

Seems like he definitely has the talent. Was there questions over work ethic? Off field?

Anyway stoked we picked him up. Another legendary Tassie Saint in the making.

Two things have recently changed: Our coach and the development academy. We now not only have a good sprinkle of youth in our best 22 but also a bunch knocking on the door for Sandy. And I wouldn't be surprised to see three rookies (Shenton, Eli and Weller) upgraded to the main list at years end. Loving it.

I can't see 3 upgrades happening. We would need too many delistings in order to upgrade 3 players and then draft more

We will want to stagger the upgrades. I think Eli is a no brainer, mav needs more time and Shenton has question marks

I can't see 3 upgrades happening. We would need too many delistings in order to upgrade 3 players and then draft more

We will want to stagger the upgrades. I think Eli is a no brainer, mav needs more time and Shenton has question marks

Depends how we rate the draft. We might use the three live picks (5, 23 & 41 as example) then upgrade those three. A list turnover of 6 is not alot. We've been turning over 10 the last few years.

Three upgrades would be too many IMO. Eli is obvious, Mav can wait a year and Shenton could go either way. This is the first uncompromised draft in years, should be a pretty deep one.

Saint facing long spell on sidelines with broken arm
Nathan Schmook April 25, 2014 10:30 PM

ST KILDA half-forward Eli Templeton faces an extended spell on the sidelines after breaking his left arm in the Saints' Anzac Day loss to the Brisbane Lions at Wellington's Westpac Stadium.

Templeton was substituted in the first half and taken to hospital after injuring himself tackling Lions midfielder Sam Mayes, with the injury confirmed post-match.

Talking points: St Kilda v Brisbane Lions

"He won't come home with the team . . . it looks like it's going to be Monday he'll come back and have surgery back in Melbourne," coach Alan Richardson said.

"On the back of 'Wrighty' (Nathan Wright) breaking his leg a couple of weeks ago we've lost a couple of our young guys, and it's important we get some footy into those young blokes early in their career, so it's disappointing.

"Another player will get an opportunity. It sounds a little bit insensitive but, unfortunately, that's footy.

"He's been really good for us, Eli, so it's disappointing to lose him."

Templeton had played every game for the Saints this season after being elevated from the rookie list, providing spark and quality ball use across half-forward

Two things I just noticed about Eli, his first 5 letters of his name is ELITE - could it be a new nickname?

Second thing is, that haircut is a shocker when it's tied back, too feminine imo - keep it out or cut it off!

Looking forward to seeing him out there this year though, looks to have put on a little bit of bulk so should be good to go from round one!

Two things I just noticed about Eli, his first 5 letters of his name is ELITE - could it be a new nickname?

Second thing is, that haircut is a shocker when it's tied back, too feminine imo - keep it out or cut it off!

Looking forward to seeing him out there this year though, looks to have put on a little bit of bulk so should be good to go from round one!

Calling him Elite from this day forward. Good spot :thumbsu:

Eli was today rewarded with a jumper upgrade to one of our most famous numbers, #4.

027A2954.jpg

Eli Templeton will don the number four as part of several number upgrades.

Darrel Baldock captained the club’s only premiership in 1966 wearing the number four, while the game’s greatest goal kicker Tony Lockett, premiership hero Barry Breen and multiple best and fairest winner Bill Cubbins are just some of the names to have worn the famous number four over the years.

http://www.saints.com.au/news/2014-12-17/2015-guernsey-numbers

Here's what the 2015 Champion Data Prospectus had to say about Templeton:

Ranked 4th at the club for forward-half pressure and 2nd for scoreboard impact in the time he played.

The Saints scored from 35% of the chains he was involved in - ranked 3rd at the club.

Tempting return
Tom Morris February 19, 2015 4:24 PM

356200-tlsnewslandscape.jpg

Eli Templeton will play his first competitive match for 10 months in Saturday’s intra club game at Linen House Centre.

It’s hard to believe the 19-year-old has notched just six AFL games given his almost cult-like following among the Saints faithful.

And fresh off a productive pre-season in which he has put on six kilograms, the clever half-forward is ready to repay the faith shown in him by the coaching staff and supporters.

“My season got cut short last year and I want to prove that I can play at that level again,” Templeton told SAINTS.com.au.

“My main goal last year was to prove people wrong. Obviously I missed out on the National Draft and was picked up as a rookie, so hopefully I can do that again.”

Templeton was one of the shining lights early last year, booting the winning goal against GWS in round two and playing a pivotal role in St Kilda’s victories versus Melbourne and Essendon.

In the first quarter of the Saints Anzac Day game against Brisbane, Templeton suffered a complicated spiral fracture in his left upper arm. He went into surgery and subsequently developed nerve damage and a fever while recovering, ruling him out for the rest of 2014.

Yet the elusive forward, who is hoping to push up onto the wing more this year, had shown enough. In September he signed a two-year contract and was elevated to the senior list.

“The contract was just hard work paying off and then the Saints showing faith in me as well,” Templeton said.

“Being on the main list was what I wanted to do and I got there the hard way, but I’m here now and can’t wait for 2015.”

Having played the majority of last season’s NAB Challenge and the first six home and away games from the forward pocket, Templeton is aiming to push up further afield this year.

“I’ve been training this whole pre-season on the wing, but I want to still provide an option up forward as well,” he said.

“It’s my first game in almost a year. Obviously I will have some nerves, especially with the contact side of things. There is nothing to worry about; I have a big plate in there and a few screws. I can’t wait. It’s been a long time coming."

I still worry about the long term effects of that break. But will be fantastic to see the dreads running around again tomorrow!

“It’s my first game in almost a year. Obviously I will have some nerves, especially with the contact side of things. There is nothing to worry about; I have a big plate in there and a few screws. I can’t wait. It’s been a long time coming."

I know I'd probably be concerned by that, not reassured! Glad to hear he's already confident about it.

If youre worried about the bone breaking again well that plate would be quite big and isnt going to break anytime soon. Any issue would be more with any nerve damage that might be permanent which I doubt from his upbeat nature of it.

I still worry about the long term effects of that break. But will be fantastic to see the dreads running around again tomorrow!

I know I'd probably be concerned by that, not reassured! Glad to hear he's already confident about it.

you're not alone there mate. i have no knowledge or understanding of his injury, just the sound of it and that nerve damage thing set me off.

really hope he is ok and has recovered well

359922.jpg

Home » Galleries » AFL 2015 Portraits - St Kilda
AFL 2015 Portraits St Kilda
Mon, 23rd Feb 2015
Image ID: 359922
Eli Templeton poses for a photograph during the St Kilda Saints 2015 team photo day at the Linen House Centre, Seaford on February 23, 2015. (Photo: Michael Willson/AFL Media)

After a quiet performance in Round 1, Eli returned to the Zebs to find a bit more of the ball, and that he did:

Eli played on the wing and at times went into the midfield. He had 23 possessions and 10 marks, 10 clearances plus kicked three goals. So just on those stats alone, Eli had a good game and had a real influence on the contest. He pushed hard forward, got in the right spots and got involved.

11138161_10152992111208183_6078369158699924980_n.jpg