Bob Fossil

I am on a thread starting roll.

A few different thread seem to be having this discussion.

I personally think Sheppard has a lot more upside than Embley, was playing better footy and is better looking.

If it comes down to a choice between one or the other in this week it is Shepdog for me every time.

I am on a thread starting roll.

A few different thread seem to be having this discussion.

I personally think Sheppard has a lot more upside than Embley, was playing better footy and is better looking.

If it comes down to a choice between one or the other in this week it is Shepdog for me every time.

Maybe Shep-dawg because of his age

I think Shep is only an extended run of games away from breaking out.
Would like to see west coast get more games into him.

Well, that settles it then!

I'm inclined to go Sheppard. The start of this season and the end of last (pre-injury) has shown he right on the brink of breaking out. Will never be a big disposal gatherer, but he can be very effective.

Shepdawg simply because he has potential and is young.
Embley on the other hand has proven his worth and has been a great player for the Eagles.
I must say Embers was a better player when he was Sheps age.

You reckon? I can't really remember it too vividly, but Embley didn't average over 11.5 disposals in each of his first four seasons. He really stepped it up during his 5th season.

Maybe not in stats but in impact.

Sheppard leads in almost all statistical comparisons. The only major one of note is goals per game, where Embley hovers around 1. Let's not forget though, that Sheppard was played predominantly off a back flank in his first couple of seasons.

For me, gotta start with Embley until Sheppard can prove he's better.

I'd play Sheppard across half-back at the expense of Brennan

It's a hard one. Embley would make a better HFF, loves to kick a bag, can take a good mark (or drop an easy one) and is very fit. Shep has the advantages of pace, takes the game on better (Embley also does but sometimes gets cornered in and doesn't dispose quick enough) and shep has the advantage of youth, Embley that of experience.

If it was me I'd go with Shep, but I don't think either is that much different.

Playing Sheppard on the half back line would be a step back. He's not playing that role any more.

Don't be surprised to see him there again mate.

Wellingham's back and Embley and Rosa set to return in the coming weeks, so I doubt he'll start there, more rotate through there

Don't be surprised to see him there again mate.

Wellingham's back and Embley and Rosa set to return in the coming weeks, so I doubt he'll start there, more rotate through there

I guess the second part of your post relates to the OP. I'd have Sheppard ahead of Embley; Rosa is more likely to play a wing whereas I think Sheppard can play more of a genuine flanker role. I think there is a place for him! Fingers crossed anyway, I was impressed with the steps he took last season.

Don't get me wrong, I rate him highly, the potential is huge as we saw in 2010 and in his games this year, but I don't have him in my best 22 just yet.

Sheppard has gone up a level this year in games he has played .
He played in the middle in his last afl game and his clearance work was very good.
At times on the weekend for east freo was quite brilliant as well.
Really liking his development and he needs more game time.