Enough is enough

• Thread starter Thread starter windows

I don't understand how not buying a mbership is going to help the club.

I was sickened by that performance and am embarrassed at the Millionaire criminal/Fwits that have too much say in the club.

But I have faith in trigg, he is listening to us.

I have faith in sos and McKay, they will get us on the right track.

Plus I love carlton and will till I die.

I can't understand ppl jumping off the club/not buying mberships/not showing up to the game/ leaving early.

That's just gutless.

Yes let's bitch and moan on bigfooty, we all need to vent, but to anyone who doesn't buy a mbership or stay home because they think we'll get thrashed, go and look yourself in the mirror, what you will see is a gutless front runner.

Hey K,

Agree with most of what you say here, but if I choose not to go watch a team put up a lack lustre performance, that's my choice. I will always remain a member. To call people gutless for making up there own mind is ridiculous. Definition of insanity for me is doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different outcome.
I choose to be happy, at the moment Carlton isn't doing that for me. So I'll spend my time making myself happy.....and I don't appreciate being labeled gutless for doing it.

Remember, we are ALL hurting.

The board. The board. The board.

There is now a "independant" panel that determines who can nominate for the board.

This is headed I believe by our own Prez, Mark Lo Soprano. Who is President because B Matheison says so. Sticks was Pres because the Pratts said so.

The only thing that will work is a real crisis. A tin rattling type crisis or "we need to merge or relocate" crisis, while their is still some passion for the club. What we are doing now is an orderly and dignified walk into the irrelevance zone.

This will only happen if you good folk stop going to games and stop buying memberships.

The club needs a prune, not more fertilizer.
Are you telling me to stop going to the footy? Is that what you're telling me?

I feel sorry for Paddy Cripps, cause he is going to be awesome but if he stays with us it will be a wasted career cause we will be a shit club for a long time yet.

What gets me is that he doesn't even have any money to do anything for us. He's there because he has a profile and wins favour from the board. We aren't the Dallas Cowboys with Jerry Jones having Chris Christie in the box.

What makes Edelsten more worthy than us?
he built a canteen or something with someone else's money

what a night, when the spotlight is on us, on Malthouse, to have this shonk in the box with him! oh boy.

he built a canteen or something with someone else's money

what a night, when the spotlight is on us, on Malthouse, to have this shonk in the box with him! oh boy.

And you know Mick didn't invite him in.

I love this club and always will, will never be able to turn my back on it but i do think our problems start at the top with the board. It is obvious that we are incapable of taking the steps needed to change anything at that level.

As much as i hate the idea i really now have come to the conclusion that the only way any real change will occur is with outside intervention. It's what had to happen at Melbourne with the AFL stepping in and it's what needs to happen with us too.

Nobody else is strong enough to clear the decks and rid us of the people that are only concerned with their own interests rather than the best interests of the club.

The players are mentally fragile and it has been easier to get rid of the coach. Well now we have a coach that has developed lists for 30 years and got players playing for him.

This is the one facet that I just cannot get my head around. In the past, every team Malthouse has coached would run through a brickwall for him such was the level of trust & respect they had for him. They always gave 100% effort regardless of where they were on the ladder and made the opposition earn their wins.

Sadly, I can't see any of those important traits at Carlton right now.

Supporters will "stick fat" if they follow a team who goes down fighting.............. on the other hand ??

a fish rots from the head

what does having Doc Edelston in the box last night say about our culture?

It says he is a huge financial supporter of the club who can pay for the privellege of being in the inner sanctum. Not a fan of the good doc myself but all clubs have these guys.

This is the one facet that I just cannot get my head around. In the past, every team Malthouse has coached would run through a brickwall for him such was the level of trust & respect they had for him. They always gave 100% effort regardless of where they were on the ladder and made the opposition earn their wins.

Sadly, I can't see any of those important traits at Carlton right now.

Supporters will "stick fat" if they follow a team who goes down fighting.............. on the other hand ??

It can't be the coach every damn time. But then again, only Murphy, Gibbs, Carrazzo, Jamison, Simpson and Walker were there and while we know some of those players are wildly inconsistent, most were young when Pagan went so can't be blamed.

I can't fathom the board doing anything directly that effects the way our players apply themselves on field so I can only feel that the club as a whole doesn't make the players feel like it is anymore than a job and therefore don't have the passion for what they are doing. This then comes back to the disconnect between the club and supporters as supporters are key to driving that player passion. We have mottos about being in this together but they are hollow.

It says he is a huge financial supporter of the club who can pay for the privellege of being in the inner sanctum. Not a fan of the good doc myself but all clubs have these guys.

so let's look at our huge financial supporters, built their fortunes on ripping off customers in cartels or pokies, such wonderful benefactors that we stay in debt to the extent they can keep pulling the strings, and what a great job they've done directing the club this past 15 years!

I wish Richard Pratt had never stepped in to "save" us as it might have meant a grassroots fundraising instead, and a club built on its members and strong values instead of being the plaything of the super rich. Yes I guess that makes me ungrateful.

Off field something stinks, little wonder its affected us onfield for many years now.

I can't fathom the board doing anything directly that effects the way our players apply themselves on field so I can only feel that the club as a whole doesn't make the players feel like it is anymore than a job and therefore don't have the passion for what they are doing.

Fair observation and if that is the case, then it has to change somehow and quickly.

If you or I turned up to work every week and put in that same sort of effort, we'd be put on notice or dismissed. Might be time to read some home truths to the players behind closed doors ??

What's it like living in 1982?

Speaking of which, my Dad said at half time that we might still come back because we always come good in the third quarter. Not since the mosquito fleet days and the old premiership quarter have we done that Dad.

With respect other clubs don't have the same perception of powerbroker influence and they don't have that disconnect with their supporter base.

so let's look at our huge financial supporters, built their fortunes on ripping off customers in cartels or pokies, such wonderful benefactors that we stay in debt to the extent they can keep pulling the strings, and what a great job they've done directing the club this past 15 years!

I wish Richard Pratt had never stepped in to "save" us as it might have meant a grassroots fundraising instead, and a club built on its members and strong values instead of being the plaything of the super rich. Yes I guess that makes me ungrateful.

Off field something stinks, little wonder its affected us onfield for many years now.

Like I said, not a huge fan of the doc, but like any sporting organisation, political party etc, those who contribute significantly financially get access to areas the average joe can't. Certainly doesn't mean they are having a negative influence on the club. Might get him a gig in the coaches box on a high profile evening tho.

I feel sorry for Paddy Cripps, cause he is going to be awesome but if he stays with us it will be a wasted career cause we will be a shit club for a long time yet.
I almost liked this post but couldn't for fear it might be true. It can't be true, please tell me........

Like I said, not a huge fan of the doc, but like any sporting organisation, political party etc, those who contribute significantly financially get access to areas the average joe can't. Certainly doesn't mean they are having a negative influence on the club. Might get him a gig in the coaches box on a high profile evening tho.

Sorry chook, it sometimes does mean they have a negative influence on the club. Bruce Mathieson is a prime example.

The others ... well they just add to the perception that there are different classes of supporters and Carlton have always had a problem with engaging with supporters and being inclusive. It doesn't matter so much when we are having success as the cracks are papered over when you are happy. When we are down though, those cracks are like the grand canyon. There is no feeling of being all in this together. No feeling of family. No feeling that they hurt like we do.

BANG BOOM BANG!!!
I'm changing my attitude as of now! My family have their health as do I.
Dare I say it, its only a game.

Try it guys........you'll feel better. Yippety do-dah, yippety yay!

loosescrew.jpg

I don't understand how not buying a mbership is going to help the club.

I was sickened by that performance and am embarrassed at the Millionaire criminal/Fwits that have too much say in the club.

But I have faith in trigg, he is listening to us.

I have faith in sos and McKay, they will get us on the right track.

Plus I love carlton and will till I die.

I can't understand ppl jumping off the club/not buying mberships/not showing up to the game/ leaving early.

That's just gutless.

Yes let's bitch and moan on bigfooty, we all need to vent, but to anyone who doesn't buy a mbership or stay home because they think we'll get thrashed, go and look yourself in the mirror, what you will see is a gutless front runner.

The Pratts and Matheisons love your support.

They'll pin a big shiny medal on that brave keyboard chest of yours.

I'm using my 2015 scarf to tie down a load I'm taking to the tip today.

Very long time lurker. So sorry my first post couldn't be under better circumstances. Last night was meant to be a celebration of MM. One can only derive one conclusion from such an insipid performance. Whatever the message is its not getting through. If ever a team would show the love of their coach it was last night. Look what happened. Can't see it being tenable now.

This is what worries me today. I have been all for allowing MM to continue the rebuild and ignore the flogs in the media trying to nudge our club towards another mid-season coach sacking for them to dine out on.
But now it's as if the players, especially the "leadership" group are also out to get MM because last night's non-performance was a coach-killer if ever there was one. Apart from a grand final I can't think of a better opportunity to show the loyalty, to coach, the club and the fans - and our players comprehensively failed to deliver.
It just makes me want to vomit - they look like big ******* heroes with a big comeback win against StK last week but given a chance to back it up on the big stage against the old enemy, they totally squibbed it.

Now I don't know what to think. I feel no ******* way, the players do NOT get to dictate who coaches them. They will listen to the coach they're given and damn well do what they're being paid handsomely to do.
But then if the relationship just isn't working, how soon before we do call it?

I think we have no choice but to ride out another painful season, carefully choose our next coach and bid MM farewell and thanks at the end of the season. But I think there are some players too who need to be put on notice that if they don't pull finger big time, their arses are going on the trade table and they'll be leaving too.

Carlton does indeed need a rebuild!

There are very many good carlton people who have disengaged from the club. Carlton is one of the highest tv rating clubs. It has a huge supporter base, but it is not a club.

It is a mercenary organisation with a culture of throwing money at problems to fix it. This culture has driven it to bed the devil, the devil who will part with his cash for control. The man willing to buy control and prestige, the man willing to buy seats on boards, THE MAN WILLING TO CLANDESTINELY POACH FROM HAWTHORN, SEARCHING FOR MORE MERCENARIES FOR THIS MERCENARY THING. This man is not a man, but a type of man.

Unfortunately this attitude and culture does not breed innovation, it is not brining those good carlton people to contribute to the club. Carlton supporter, are supporters happy to ride the wins, but are not really part of the club because the club doesn't really make them welcome. Happy to take their money but not happy to let them run for the board unless pre-aproved by itself. Like a corrupt African dictatorship that is pretending to be democratic by having rigged elections?

Carlton needs a rebuild that starts with the club culture, It needs to engage with its supporters, it needs to allow the supports to genuinely contribute to it (like a real club)

Malthouse is not the problem, he is a great coach. Fix the club, fix the culture and if malthouse doesn't fit in then send him packing.

remove the entire board

get Mike Fitzpatrick as Chair and build it from scratch.
why did he resign from the board anyway?