Enough is enough

I must admit I am getting sick of losing these close games. I'm sure we all are. I'm a friggin sook when we lose, I admit it, and I've had a big dose of the "feel sorry for myself's" over the last 7 weeks.

It makes it so much worse that we don't deserve to be last. It's amazing that for every 10 points the opposition score for the season, we score 9. How could we win only one game knowing that?

I just want the team to surprsie me. Just once. I'm not asking for an upset every week, but just once. Even Richmond come out and beat the Crows, but yet again, we put up a typical good losing effort. Same with every time we go interstate. Its always a competitive effort but always a loss. So, so predictable.

We never get surprised.

This week is vital. More so than the previous six weeks. Those previous weeks, we needed to win to make the finals. Now, that is no realistic option, we need to beat a fellow spoon contender (at home) to avoid coming last. Can you imagine what will happen if we lose? Who are we then going to beat if we can't beat them? We've got thr Crows after that so it'll be 1-9 if we can't beat Port.

I reckon it's the most important match since the 2004 finals in many ways.

djharps said:
whos with me... sticking the annoying ppl who post here from other clubs in the beaconsfield mine??

Poor Essendon supporters can't take their own medicine. Boohoo. My nights are filled with worry and sympathy for your sorry arses. I just can't stand to see Essendon struggling so badly. What a footballing tragedy.

So tell me, are you tanking? You guys know the priority pick system has changed? How's pick 17 looking? You timed your fall to perfection :thumbsu:.

DynamoUltra said:
Poor Essendon supporters can't take their own medicine. Boohoo. My nights are filled with worry and sympathy for your sorry arses. I just can't stand to see Essendon struggling so badly. What a footballing tragedy.

So tell me, are you tanking? You guys know the priority pick system has changed? How's pick 17 looking? You timed your fall to perfection :thumbsu:.

i spoke to eddie and persuaded him that even though they are thinking of shutting down the beaconsfield mine... they will allow the 'stuffing' a la concentration camp style of all annoying posters from other clubs... so we lost a few games in a row.. big deal... but we dont have players whom would love to run around in pink shoes, ex-premiers on our board, coaches getting sacked, players collapsing.. not to mention our training ground in a suburb of melbourne where the people dont give a f**k about your club! id take 7 down in a row over a club with minimal respect that if it wasnt for a rabi joseph you would have a guernsey incorporating blue and red... repeat after me.. where the happy team at melbourne???? :confused:

DynamoUltra
BigFooty Member

Club: Hawthorn
Other Teams: Hawthorn

DynamoUltra said:

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=19

Catch ya!

djharps said:
i spoke to eddie and persuaded him that even though they are thinking of shutting down the beaconsfield mine... they will allow the 'stuffing' a la concentration camp style of all annoying posters from other clubs... so we lost a few games in a row.. big deal... but we dont have players whom would love to run around in pink shoes, ex-premiers on our board, coaches getting sacked, players collapsing.. not to mention our training ground in a suburb of melbourne where the people dont give a f**k about your club! id take 7 down in a row over a club with minimal respect that if it wasnt for a rabi joseph you would have a guernsey incorporating blue and red... repeat after me.. where the happy team at melbourne???? :confused:

Making fun of a tragedy which killed someone is totally inappropriate, nor is mentioning concentration camps. You don't have players who wear different coloured shoes for charity? That's not very nice. You don't have a president with the financial and business nouse that is needed to run a football club? Too bad. You don't have coaches getting sacked, nor do we. Players collapsed? Our ground is in the south eastern suburbs, where the majority of our supporter base is. And if it wasn't for the pride us Hawthorn supporters take in our club you're right, we would have blue and red on our jumper, but remember, it was the passionate Hawthorn members like myself that voted no to the merger, unlike the spineless Melbourne supporters who voted yes. It had nothing to do with Gutnik.

Here's a fact neither of us can argue; Essendon is 16th with 1 win from 8 games. How's the weather down there?

crawford said he was wearing them 'if' he was playing... il donate a million dollars to the EFC 'if' i had the money.. see the variable? i was not making fun of the tradegy that resulted in the death but simply highlighting the fact that the mine is currently not in use and would be good for people like you to be shoved in there.. and in terms of draft picks.. does it annoy you that judd could be in ur list??

M29 said:
Good. It's people like you I don't like showing up at our games, let alone having the face to say you 'support' us.

i watch it on tv you clown, i live 6000km from melbourne, and luckily enough havent forked out to fly down this year to catch a couple of games, and wont be doing so.

I am a member of the bombers and have supported them since i was 3 yrs old. I disagree with alot of things at the club, we have recruited badly and unless drastic changes are made this year, along with some tough decisions, we will remain a mediocre team for years to come.

We cant just rely on the 'cycle' to get us back to the top in 5-7 years, cuts need to be made now to ensure it happens.

austinthedog said:
I cant do this all season, we get so close every game but cant close the deal. We fall apart whenever there is pressure, ie the last quarter. I wont be watching any more of our games this year.

JUST GO AND KILL YOURSELF! EVERY TEAM HAS BAD PATCHES, JSUT BE HPPY THAT WE ARE NOT GETTING BELTED EVERY WEEK, LIKE THE CARLTONS, KANGAROOS AND SAINTS OF THE 90'S
LIFT YOUR ACT AND SUPPORT THE TEAM, OTHERWISE WE WILL TURN INTO RICHMOND. A TEAM WITH NO REAL SUPPORTERS AND UGLY FANS WITH A HACK FOOTBALL TEAM!

austinthedog said:
i watch it on tv you clown, i live 6000km from melbourne, and luckily enough havent forked out to fly down this year to catch a couple of games, and wont be doing so.

I am a member of the bombers and have supported them since i was 3 yrs old. I disagree with alot of things at the club, we have recruited badly and unless drastic changes are made this year, along with some tough decisions, we will remain a mediocre team for years to come.

We cant just rely on the 'cycle' to get us back to the top in 5-7 years, cuts need to be made now to ensure it happens.

who do you propose we cut...from the 22 we pick every week

As much as we can be disappointed with being on the bottom, we all need to stick with the side when they are down, its what real supporters do.
I can tell you now that I reckon after playing the Eagles, we will be a far better side, as we've played some ordinary footy against ordinary sides in the first 6 rounds. We stood right up to them, so expect us to come out firing against Port, who've given us some troubles over the last few years.
If we can't make the 8, we may as well help shape it for the rest of the season.:thumbsu:

austinthedog said:
I cant do this all season, we get so close every game but cant close the deal. We fall apart whenever there is pressure, ie the last quarter. I wont be watching any more of our games this year.

:D:D:D:D off to Richmond then, you'll fit in just fine.

It annoys the crap out of me losing every week but it isnt going to stop me from going or watching. I hate band wagon supporters , you can whinge about the coach or players but being a true supporter means sticking through good and bad.
I must say that a lot of our supporters have had it too good by the sounds of it. The first time we look like being down for a prolonged period and they start jumping off. A bit of hardship never hurt anyone, we didnt win a final for the first ten years that i started going to the footy (in fact we hardly made the finals) but i can tell you know it made that 1984 GF win so sweet :thumbsu:

fact remains that Solomon should have been dropped by now, if even for just one week. i don't care who and how many is injured, sheedy said weeks ago we wouldn't carry passengers. even at the time, i took those words with a grain of salt.

santa claws said:
sheedys 600th game and only 29000 at a home game talk about fair weather supporters.
I was at the game. But you're right, Essendon supporters have obviously given up and are boozing it up.

Quiet at the Dome. Quiet on BigFooty.

red+black said:
I was at the game. But you're right, Essendon supporters have obviously given up and are boozing it up.

Quiet at the Dome. Quiet on BigFooty.

Quiet in here, "mm" that has surprised me somewhat, I really expected we would have gone to town on that effort.

Let's compare Carlton's effort next week v Port at the Dome to ours.

Wouldn't be surprised if Port win by less than 10 goals.

santa claws said:
how many melb clubs would survive after 24 yrs withot success. 2 finals series in 24 yrs, badly run off field gone broke twice

quite a few, it wouldn't be that hard really

santa claws said:
and mark my words the giant that is the rfc is slowly coming out of its slumber it may take another 3 or4 yrs but we will be challengeing for a flag.

so we keep hearing

santa claws said:
going by posts ive seen on here i wonder where youir membership will be at and your attendances after the 2 or 4 yrs you are going to spend near the bottom of the ladder.it will be interesting to see who has real supporters.

and you know this do you, despite everything that has happened with the team this year? did you not see what happened with Collingwood last year?

To rite us off as ladder dwellers for 2-4 years is both ignorant and naive

santa claws said:
sheedys 600th game and only 29000 at a home game talk about fair weather supporters.

lol there was probably 25,000 Bomber fans there ;)

DaSawx said:
To rite us off as ladder dwellers for 2-4 years is both ignorant and naive

2004 - 5W, 8L (from last 13 games)
2005 - 8W, 14L (13th place)
2006 - 1W, 8L (16th place, bottom 4 guaranteed, bottom 2 almost certain)
2007 - probably bottom 4, definitely no finals action

So, exactly where is Essendon placed then? If we lose the next four to Crows, Cats, Dees and Roos, we would have won 14 from our last 48, with Freo away and Saints to follow. We are much worse than most supporters think.

the problem as i see it is we have a substantial gap between our past superstarts that are still playing, hird, fletcher, lucas etc and the current 19, 20yr old players who will develop into great players.

in between, the say 23-26yr old bracket, where players are at their best, is where we have little. it conincides with the recruiting around 2000 when we won our past flag. we recruited the mediocre thinking we would stay on top for years.

it now means about 4- 5 years before we will see substantial success, and dare i say it, some september action

red+black said:
2004 - 5W, 8L (from last 13 games)
2005 - 8W, 14L (13th place)
2006 - 1W, 8L (16th place, bottom 4 guaranteed, bottom 2 almost certain)
2007 - probably bottom 4, definitely no finals action

So, exactly where is Essendon placed then? If we lose the next four to Crows, Cats, Dees and Roos, we would have won 13 from our last 50. We are much worse than most supporters think.

He did say 2-4 years and you have added one.

We actually have a very good best 22 if we add Lloyd, Hird, Campo and JJ with some confidence, we may very well add a Bryce Gibbs next year.

Most of the team are just really down on confiedence at the moment as 4 of our best leaders are not taking the field.

IMO we will not be selar dwelling past 2007, maybe even 2006, but it's just an opinion isn't it.

Enough is enough