Entering the AFL draft without TAC Cup experience?

• Thread starter Thread starter wri0013

wri0013

Arsenal
This does sound quite a bit unrealistic but I've made quite a late decision that I want to do it. I am going to play country football in the Riddell District Football League in the under-18's (I am turning 18 during June next year) and I want to know if I can enter the AFL draft next year? (not get picked but just entering it.)
I am currently about a 12 in a beep test, and the only ball skills I want to work on heavily is hand/contested marking and banana kicks. I have an attack plan to get clubs to notice me and I plan to do a lot more extra training next year.
That question again: Am I able to enter the AFL draft at all or should I just aim for the VFL for now?

From memory, you can nominate for the draft if you play senior footy.

Like your goals mate and if you could get picked up by an AFL or even a VFL side that would be great for you.
I think as long as you are the right age, play registered footy and pay the fee for entering the draft, I think you can enter it no problems!
Good luck mate!

Like your goals mate and if you could get picked up by an AFL or even a VFL side that would be great for you.
I think as long as you are the right age, play registered footy and pay the fee for entering the draft, I think you can enter it no problems!
Good luck mate!
Speaking of which, how much is the fee?

This does sound quite a bit unrealistic but I've made quite a late decision that I want to do it. I am going to play country football in the Riddell District Football League in the under-18's (I am turning 18 during June next year) and I want to know if I can enter the AFL draft next year? (not get picked but just entering it.)
I am currently about a 12 in a beep test, and the only ball skills I want to work on heavily is hand/contested marking and banana kicks. I have an attack plan to get clubs to notice me and I plan to do a lot more extra training next year.
That question again: Am I able to enter the AFL draft at all or should I just aim for the VFL for now?
Good luck to ya :thumbsu:

Always some insecure clown sitting behind a keyboard that wants to knock everyone and everything to make themselves feel better. Give the kid a bit of encouragement with his goal.

It's a rare player that gets picked up without going through TAC, but it is doable. James Gwilt got picked up playing for Noble Park in the EFL.

All I can do is try.
Better start now so all the clubs and notice u! You never know u could be a top 10 pick:rolleyes:
And to you, you say this is a stupid thread when all I want to do is try to aim high, I never said that I was definitely going to get picked or anything like that. If I aim high and if I'm serious about it I will be more likely to reach a major league. There's nothing wrong about asking if I can enter the draft without TAC cup experience and there's certainly nothing wrong with aiming to become a VFL or AFL player.

If you dont make it, contact every NEAFL side over the next 12 months.

If you can make it into one of those sides, you will play 6 games against AFL squads over the 12 months following.

As an example, Tungtalum has played for *and* against GWS' reserves this year. You can bet other squad's scouts have paid attention ... and for the record, when theres Giants jumpers on the field, he kicks goals, no matter which one he's wearing.

My advice would be to email someone from the AFL or VFL and let them know of your goals. They should be able to let you know the best way to go about it.

You should be able to play TAC Cup next year though, shouldn't you? If you're good enough to be drafted, I reckon you'd be taken on by a club. TAC Cup can be contact here - http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?c=1-3020-0-0-0&sID=59297

I've heard from a few friends who've gone for the big time that Shifter replies to every email he gets, so he'd definitely be one who could send you on the right path.

That said, there is no better way than just playing good footy! If you're really standing out in the comp you're playing in, people will take notice. Simple as that. Good luck with it!

If you can make it into one of those sides, you will play 6 games against AFL squads over the 12 months following.

As an example, Tungtalum has played for *and* against GWS' reserves this year. You can bet other squad's scouts have paid attention ... and for the record, when theres Giants jumpers on the field, he kicks goals, no matter which one he's wearing.

Definitely a good idea too. It would require moving, but is a very good way to get noticed. If you were in Brisbane, I'd suggest joining the Western Magpies as a possibility - they aren't in the NEAFL, but provide top up players to the Brisbane Lions reserves. If you got there, you'd have people from the Lions watching you every week, as well as quite a few other scouts.

question have u ever played football before???
Yes since early 2002, I've played 86 matches for the Broadford Junior Football club on the half forward and half back flanks. I think I've kicked about 40 goals along the way.

Thanks for the suggestion, it would require quite a move but there's been players who've moved further (all of those international recruits who'd never played Aussie rules footy in their lives.)

Tungtalum used to play for the Tiwi Islands and now plays for the Eagles, who are based in the Hills district in Sydney.

If you arent happy to do that, you arent prepared to do what it takes to be an AFL footballer.

Tungtalum used to play for the Tiwi Islands and now plays for the Eagles, who are based in the Hills district in Sydney.

If you arent happy to do that, you arent prepared to do what it takes to be an AFL footballer.
Nah I don't mind it, no doubt it's a fair change though.
And with Tungtalum are you talking about Ross Tungtalum who was on St. Kilda's rookie list a few years ago?

If I don't manage to get into the draft, I already have contacted the Bendigo Bombers in the VFL and they've already told me that if I contact them next year, I might be able to do pre-season training with them. I only just remembered that conversation that I had :)