bruce29

Jul 6, 2007
Miami Heat, Melb. Storm, Steelers
Unbelievable win! We did for Sheedy. The finals are still on now I reckon. Hawks are struggling, so we've got a chance. Post all match analysis/opinions here!

Thought he would of got a run closer to goal as well. I wouldn't drop him after 1 game.
I'm hoping he develops into a true CHF. Doesnt pack on heaps of muscle, spends most of his time around 30-70m from goal. I reckon he has the skill and the motor to turn into a good player like that.

Great win for you today.....:thumbsu:

Tough game all day - Peverill was fantastic, McPhee was given too much latitude and we got smashed at the stoppages.

I liked what I saw of Gill - but apart from that we struggled to stay in touch all day with many of our playmakers kept quiet or carrying injury.

Now that game is out the way - I'd like to wish you guys luck for the rest of the year - I hope Sheeds and the Club can pull something special out and create some havoc over the next couple of months.

Great win for you today.....:thumbsu:

Tough game all day - Peverill was fantastic, McPhee was given too much latitude and we got smashed at the stoppages.

I liked what I saw of Gill - but apart from that we struggled to stay in touch all day with many of our playmakers kept quiet or carrying injury.

Now that game is out the way - I'd like to wish you guys luck for the rest of the year - I hope Sheeds and the Club can pull something special out and create some havoc over the next couple of months.

Thanks mate.

Unbelievably some people on this board still don't rate Peverill.
He is our Brett Kirk.......

I liked the look of Gill as well - lucky for us today he didn't kick straight.

although im not a big fan of essendon. I am pleased as punch that you won this today because i hate adelaide and because sheeds deserves one last crack at finals with essendon. I was absolutely shocked you got rid of him. :eek:

Today I was really impressed with Peveril, and that last quarter from Johnson was "special" my only disappointment was we at times we allowed the Crows to sweep the ball from one end to the other without putting much pressure.

I was happy with Gumby, for a first gamer he got into the action, he looks well built I look forward to many games from Gumby

Gumby struggled IMO .....any thoughts?

On his Bendigo form he did about what i expected. Took a few marks got a couple of kicks and got to see the speed of senior footy. He is still too skinny to take pack marks in the seniors.
At least he managed to get a few kicks unlike a number of other talls in their debut games.

On his Bendigo form he did about what i expected. Took a few marks got a couple of kicks and got to see the speed of senior footy. He is still too skinny to take pack marks in the seniors.
At least he managed to get a few kicks unlike a number of other talls in their debut games.
*cough* Lachlan Hansen *Cough*

The second half was very good but we still play some dumb footy. Im going to single out a few things and im not having a go at the overall games the players i mention played but it is the stuff that lets us down a lot all the time and it is stuff that happens across the board and not always by the players im going to mention.

NLM in the first quarter watched Torney run into our forward line just before a secondary bounce in the center square. He then made a half an effort to run to him , he got about half way before changing direction and heading to the contest. Of course the ball comes out , goes over NLM head to Torney who is now streaming out of defence and the ball is run down the ground for a goal. NLM didnt need to be near the contest and he could have easily cut off the handball if he was closer to Torney.

A couple of Pevs efforts in the first half. A semi attempt to sheppherd McPhee. The fact that for a guy who used to tag he is now hopeless at finding a man when the opposition are going forward. He is often left standing around looking for someone to pick up and they are all 20 to 30 meters away from him.

Angus Monfries . David Hille takes a mark. Angus is around 15 meters away and by himself. Instead of running forward anothe 10 or so meters he stands still waving his arms for the pass and then runs towards a Crows player gving Hille no option but to kick to a contest. If he ran forward straight away Hille can pass it 25 meters to a player in space.

Yes i am the negative nelly in the face of a good win but we will never be a serious side if these type of incidents keep happening.

Can't believe we smashed them around he stoppages. They have a pretty strong senior core that excels in that area.

Watson was magnificent. How many times did he get the ball going from a pack in our favour. Hille was fantastic also. Pev was a tireless worker and McVeigh just keeps on gettng the job done.

How important is a fit Stanton and Winderlich to our side? We look so much better when these guys are running through the middle.

Stanton was great.

I was disappointed again with Monfries but he gave us something in the last when the game was there to be won.

Another poor game from Dyson.

All the guys that have copped flack recently MJ, McPhee, Laycock had pretty good games.

Good to see Nash and NLM getting a bit of continuity.

no idea why he was playing. saw Lonergan next to Hirdy in the crowd - played well yesterday could be a chance next week.

Good win but methinks Kepler Bradley (W.B.E.) has sealed his fate as far as current emplyment goes. Launny boy sam shoulda started but i spose they were covering fletch.

Inspiring stuff and hopefully the beginning of something more inspiring...

Do it for Sheeds? bah, if we were gunna do it for him, it would have been last week... or the week before...

Having said that, it was a fantastic win. Great to see McPhee getting a little more confidence with a good game.

It was a Shame to see Bradley brought in for Fletcher. Yes, they kinda look the same, but as I've read so many times on this board before, Kep plays his best up front, not up back... he had his best chance when Lloyd was suspended... not now... :(

What a great win though, Now, let's beat the "tanking" Carlton, Richmond, and the uninspired Fremantle to shore up at least a 12-10 record and a nice chance for the finals... based on percentage... :D

Go the DONS!

Essendon v Adelaide- All Post Match comments/analysis