Essendon v Adelaide- All Post Match comments/analysis

Do it for Sheeds? bah, if we were gunna do it for him, it would have been last week... or the week before...

Having said that, it was a fantastic win. Great to see McPhee getting a little more confidence with a good game.

It was a Shame to see Bradley brought in for Fletcher. Yes, they kinda look the same, but as I've read so many times on this board before, Kep plays his best up front, not up back... he had his best chance when Lloyd was suspended... not now... :(

What a great win though, Now, let's beat the "tanking" Carlton, Richmond, and the uninspired Fremantle to shore up at least a 12-10 record and a nice chance for the finals... based on percentage... :D

Go the DONS!

Love this club, love sheeds.

stuff the rest. lets pump em all

Thanks mate.

Unbelievably some people on this board still don't rate Peverill.
He is our Brett Kirk.......

I liked the look of Gill as well - lucky for us today he didn't kick straight.

Until Peverill can consistently hit a moving target whilst in transit, he will always be a target.

He was good today, mainly becuase he wasn't trying hit targets inside 50.

I liked the look of Gill as well - lucky for us today he didn't kick straight.

I think you'll find that's because he genuinely can't kick.

Moves well though.

Can't believe we smashed them around he stoppages. They have a pretty strong senior core that excels in that area.

I can, we were much more balanced at stoppages.
Hille winning hitouts meant we had set plays that came off too.

Felt a bit strange today. I got a bit frustrated at times but even when they'd get level or sneak ahead I always thought we were going to win. Didn't feel tense like a normal close game.

Was our best midfield performance for the season. We actually got some meaningful clearances for a change. Hille played a massive role obviously.

I was happy with Gumby - obviously not expecting much but he moves well and made some good decisions when he got the footy.

Stanton played his best since the ankle injury he picked up a few weeks ago.

I'm a bit concerned we gave away some pretty soft goals but that's where we missed Fletcher who would normally kill the contest.

Also let them carry the footy to far under no pressure a few times. We can't let the hawks do that.

1 last gripe I had was that we're still not that smart when it comes to opening up space and too many players just jog around instead of demanding the footy. Lucas and Winderlich were fantastic in this regard though.

Felt a bit strange today. I got a bit frustrated at times but even when they'd get level or sneak ahead I always thought we were going to win. Didn't feel tense like a normal close game.

Was our best midfield performance for the season. We actually got some meaningful clearances for a change. Hille played a massive role obviously.

I was happy with Gumby - obviously not expecting much but he moves well and made some good decisions when he got the footy.

Stanton played his best since the ankle injury he picked up a few weeks ago.

I'm a bit concerned we gave away some pretty soft goals but that's where we missed Fletcher who would normally kill the contest.

Also let them carry the footy to far under no pressure a few times. We can't let the hawks do that.

1 last gripe I had was that we're still not that smart when it comes to opening up space and too many players just jog around instead of demanding the footy. Lucas and Winderlich were fantastic in this regard though.

I totally agree, the game had a strange feel to it maybe the lack of Adelaide support was a factor, I felt we keeped them in it but apart from Two or Three times I was really pleased with the performance.

I notice a few times when Adelaide took the ball down the ground we didn't run at them, it was really in that last Quarter that we upped the pressure.

I was really happy with that last quarter from Johnson and while Lucus didn't get a goal, I admired his run.

I felt after the game the Bomber fans seemed a little flat, was this a reaction to Sheeds leaving, I heard some Adelaide supporter ask an Essendon mate that question and the bomber person felt it was more to do with Adelaide isn't a fierce rival and the fact they are an interstate side.

yea, it was a funny game yest. I wasnt all that impressed by us, IMO we should have beat that adelaide side by 6 goals, but having said that, there was the feeling all game that we were in 100% control and were never gonna lose it.

I didnt think our team balance was right, and we gave away too many cheap goals. Some good signs tho, and we are on the road to something. Dunno how big yet, but we are going in the right direction. Very pleased with many of the younger crew as well. Watson would nearly be elite?

Honestly don’t' know about Kepler Bradley’s credentials at this level!!
Gave away silly free kick to Macgregor in the goal square and genuinely look's like his struggles to read the play and is very slow thinker.. I know am use to watching Fletch but when the pressure is on in the backline he would be the last person I would want with the ball!!

Jobe Watson was top shelf, Dyson had an impact on the game which was great, and Stanton after some wayward kicking found plenty of the pill in the last quarter.. Laycock/Hille combo look's very promising for the future:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

I'm big raps for Laycock in general, I think he has massive potential. But it was when he went into the ruck late in the first quarter that the game changed and the Crows got a run on. Hille was just fantastic all night. As an Essendon supporter, seeing a win in the ruck seems pretty rare, and it was good to see it yesterday

yea, it was a funny game yest. I wasnt all that impressed by us, IMO we should have beat that adelaide side by 6 goals, but having said that, there was the feeling all game that we were in 100% control and were never gonna lose it.

I didnt think our team balance was right, and we gave away too many cheap goals. Some good signs tho, and we are on the road to something. Dunno how big yet, but we are going in the right direction. Very pleased with many of the younger crew as well. Watson would nearly be elite?
Enter Kepler Bradley, i would of preferred they picked Lee or put Lucas in the backline to replace fletcher.

is Stanton the most under-rated player in a bombers jumper? although his kicking today was shocking. In general i dont think he gets the praise he so clearly deserves...thoughts?

also why would we drop Mcphee to the magoos??? stupid idea.

This weeks game is massive! if we win this i really am confident we will make the 8, but we are playing at the M.C.G!!!! :mad::thumbsdown:

i don't think stanton is underated

i reckon other supporters vastly underate mcveigh. one of the most underated guys in the league

i reckon jobe is underated. he has the best hands in the league in tight situations.

i don't think stanton is underated

i reckon other supporters vastly underate mcveigh. one of the most underated guys in the league

i reckon jobe is underated. he has the best hands in the league in tight situations.

100% true.....I think he's one of best

Essendon v Adelaide- All Post Match comments/analysis