strengthwithin

West Perth, Reggina
Hey Guys,

A bit of a venture into enemy territory but i just wanted to express how impressed I am with how your team is coming along. I think you'll suprise a lot of people next year and make the 8. Paul Roos is a footy genious.

Good luck in 2010. Heres to meeting you in the finals once again. :thumbsu:

Hey Guys,

A bit of a venture into enemy territory but i just wanted to express how impressed I am with how your team is coming along. I think you'll suprise a lot of people next year and make the 8. Paul Roos is a footy genious.

Thankyou. I am looking forward to that Sydney v West Coast Grand Final in 2011. Should be a cracker of a game :)

Hey Guys,

I agree, we have recruited brilliantly, and will certainly be fighting to be in the 8 in 2010, with I believe a genuine chance to be in the top 4 in 2011, and a real chance at the flag.

Another WC V Swans grand final would be great, but its our turn to win!:thumbsu:

yeah well done swannies,great drafting,you guys are the winners in this draft i think.

By the way,Lewis Jetta=gun (you have a very good footballer there),is from my hometown and watched him coming up through the juniors,was always a class above.

Has been fantastic in the WAFL this year too.

Good luck this year,have a lot of respect for your club through our epic battles since 2005.

WA posters - any mail on Trent Dennis-Lane?

Been playing well in the WAFL this year and finished with 58 goals, pretty smooth mover and general a good reader of play but i'm not the one to ask.

swannies on our board is the best person to ask as he's got great WAFL knowledge :thumbsu:

yeah well done swannies,great drafting,you guys are the winners in this draft i think.

By the way,Lewis Jetta=gun (you have a very good footballer there),is from my hometown and watched him coming up through the juniors,was always a class above.

Has been fantastic in the WAFL this year too.

Good luck this year,have a lot of respect for your club through our epic battles since 2005.

You guys have really rejouvinated the list. Some good drafting and some great trading.
Pity you lost Jolley, but good luck for 2010:)
Regards
DTF

You guys have really rejouvinated the list. Some good drafting and some great trading.
Pity you lost Jolley, but good luck for 2010:)
Regards
DTF

Cheers:thumbsu:

Losing Jolly was a blow, but one we've been prepared for, so to have picked up Mumford and Seaby as replacements I think compensates well.

Stoked we got Jetta in the draft, as well as Rohan et al. The great thing about Jetta is, being 20, he may be a bit more AFL-ready than the others. If he could play this year in the firsts we have (by all reports) some serious speed coming into our side.

On top of this add McGlynn, Kennedy and Bradshaw (fingers crossed, but if Ball could make it through to the Pies, you'd have to think Bradshaw is a shoe-in for the PSD) and a fast developing White, and yep, I think we're looking REAL good for 2010.

Cheers:thumbsu:

Losing Jolly was a blow, but one we've been prepared for, so to have picked up Mumford and Seaby as replacements I think compensates well.

Stoked we got Jetta in the draft, as well as Rohan et al. The great thing about Jetta is, being 20, he may be a bit more AFL-ready than the others. If he could play this year in the firsts we have (by all reports) some serious speed coming into our side.

On top of this add McGlynn, Kennedy and Bradshaw (fingers crossed, but if Ball could make it through to the Pies, you'd have to think Bradshaw is a shoe-in for the PSD) and a fast developing White, and yep, I think we're looking REAL good for 2010.

Personally i think these two were the steals of the trade period, assuming Bradshaw comes your way, 2010 is looking really good.

Yep. I'm shocked we got them so cheaply. McGlynn is a solid player but Kennedy could really be something special.

I was one of the skeptics about Sydney who shared the common opinion that you'd be screwed, however looking at what you've done even just this off-season I can see I'm wrong.

Roos has set Longmire up with a more than decent list to build on.

Having Bradshaw up forward for even just one or two years will provide an enormous amount of experience for Jesse White and Lewis Johnston.

While losing Jolly will weaken you considerably now, long term Seaby and Mumford will provide at least a serviceable combination perhaps more than that.

The pace and X-Factor you've added with Lewis Jetta and Gary Rohan could prove devastating in tandem.

The return of Kennelly boosts the defence and adds more depth to it, something that is invaluable.

McGlynn and Kennedy were absolute steals, I watched some of these two this year and believe that they could be some of the best moves of the off-season.

You've also got another pre-season into the likes of Jack, Meredith, Bird, Grundy and Hanneberry.

A ripper off-season to date for the Swans.

I was one of the skeptics about Sydney who shared the common opinion that you'd be screwed, however looking at what you've done even just this off-season I can see I'm wrong.

Roos has set Longmire up with a more than decent list to build on.

Having Bradshaw up forward for even just one or two years will provide an enormous amount of experience for Jesse White and Lewis Johnston.

While losing Jolly will weaken you considerably now, long term Seaby and Mumford will provide at least a serviceable combination perhaps more than that.

The pace and X-Factor you've added with Lewis Jetta and Gary Rohan could prove devastating in tandem.

The return of Kennelly boosts the defence and adds more depth to it, something that is invaluable.

McGlynn and Kennedy were absolute steals, I watched some of these two this year and believe that they could be some of the best moves of the off-season.

You've also got another pre-season into the likes of Jack, Meredith, Bird, Grundy and Hanneberry.

A ripper off-season to date for the Swans.

I jizzed in my pants.

Even if we don't make the finals, we won't bottom out and tank, which is why I'm so proud of this club. :thumbsu:

I think we have more depth this year, I couldn't fit a few players into the best 22 for next season like I wanted to.

Thanks for the kind words man.

we've done ridiculously well considering the number and quality of players that we have lost. I think we now only have 3 players on our list now who played senior footy in the 90's (J. Bolton, Kirk and Goodes). Now that's scary.

Surprised Jetta slipped to #14 and it's always tough for young kids moving interstate for the first time but I think you have to back the club to create the culture for them to settle in.

2010 will be interesting!

Well done on your recruiting and trading, again.

TDL had been in and out of the Subiaco league side for the past two years, but really set himself for a big one this year, and came runner up in the league's goal kicking. Played well all year, and although he had a relatively disapointing grandfinal, he should slot straight into your side next year.

Highly doubt that Playfair will be rookied now, as TDL will provide a strong third tall option in your forward line along side White and Bradshaw, although I dont believe he will ever be able to play as a true KPP, his size and agility will make him very hard for oposition teams to match up.

Also dont know if you guys over in Sydney get a lot of news on the new draftees, but theres been a few small articles over here on Dennis-Lane over the past few weeks, and the one thing that seems to be the trend with everyone of them is his hunger and desire to make it after failing to get drafted over the past three years, which would definately be an admirable trait

we've done ridiculously well considering the number and quality of players that we have lost. I think we now only have 3 players on our list now who played senior footy in the 90's (J. Bolton, Kirk and Goodes). Now that's scary.

Surprised Jetta slipped to #14 and it's always tough for young kids moving interstate for the first time but I think you have to back the club to create the culture for them to settle in.

2010 will be interesting!

I've no doubt Goodes and even Micky O'Laughlin (who is still based in Sydney) will do their best to help him settle in and adjust. The Club generally are also very good at that, thankfully they place a lot of importance on re-settling the new players, especially knowing most of our players need to come from interstate. :thumbsu:

heraldsun had sydney as the big winners from the draft, and when you consider who they picked up in the trade period and the players they still have. you would suggest that they have been the winners of the whole off season so kudos on a job well done.

i really thought the swans would bottom out for a while, but now i would suggest anything but top 8 would be disappointing.

on the jolly thing, he was pushing 30 wasnt he? i mean you have effectively picked up jetta, a 20 year old speedster with unbelievable skills for a ruckman who will be finished in a couple of years, thats good list management.... adn the players you picked up in mumford and seaby probably means that you have a more even ruck division than what you have had since ball retired. i reckon mumford will be a really good player with seaby as an adequate backup... so really your team has set itself up unbelievably well.

its amazing what a smart coach like paul roos can do for a side :thumbsu:

with jetta, he WILL have to be looked after carefully though, which im sure Mick O and goodesy will do. this is by no means a racist comment, but sometimes it can be a little harder for the indigenous boys to aclimatise and adjust too a new surroundings. but with your leadership group im sure that wont be a problem. says a lot about your club really

heraldsun had sydney as the big winners from the draft, and when you consider who they picked up in the trade period and the players they still have. you would suggest that they have been the winners of the whole off season so kudos on a job well done.

i really thought the swans would bottom out for a while, but now i would suggest anything but top 8 would be disappointing.

on the jolly thing, he was pushing 30 wasnt he? i mean you have effectively picked up jetta, a 20 year old speedster with unbelievable skills for a ruckman who will be finished in a couple of years, thats good list management.... adn the players you picked up in mumford and seaby probably means that you have a more even ruck division than what you have had since ball retired. i reckon mumford will be a really good player with seaby as an adequate backup... so really your team has set itself up unbelievably well.

its amazing what a smart coach like paul roos can do for a side :thumbsu:

with jetta, he WILL have to be looked after carefully though, which im sure Mick O and goodesy will do. this is by no means a racist comment, but sometimes it can be a little harder for the indigenous boys to aclimatise and adjust too a new surroundings. but with your leadership group im sure that wont be a problem. says a lot about your club really

Thanks for the comments. Most Swans fans are extremely happy with our trading and drafting this year as we have gone from one of the oldest sides in the competition to a much younger one and it may be premature to say but i think we will be a better team in 2010 than we were in 2009.

As for Jetta's home sickness Goodes and O'Loughlin have been iching for the Swans to draft some young aboriginals. Including Jetta we have drafted 3 this year (which is amazing considering we haven't drafted any aboriginals in nearly 10 years) so i would imagine Goodes and O'Loughlin will try and make him feel at home and having 2 other young aboriginals with him will only help matters.

Thanks for the comments. Most Swans fans are extremely happy with our trading and drafting this year as we have gone from one of the oldest sides in the competition to a much younger one and it may be premature to say but i think we will be a better team in 2010 than we were in 2009.

As for Jetta's home sickness Goodes and O'Loughlin have been iching for the Swans to draft some young aboriginals. Including Jetta we have drafted 3 this year (which is amazing considering we haven't drafted any aboriginals in nearly 10 years) so i would imagine Goodes and O'Loughlin will try and make him feel at home and having 2 other young aboriginals with him will only help matters.

Dennis-Lane has Burmese heritage, not Aboriginal.