Roast Fans getting Warnings and Booted for Being too Loud

Because everyone does is it

So by that logic, it's legal to speed and also to use drugs? There are heaps of laws people break because they THINK everyone else does it. The one that really grinds my gears is family violence. Mostly men, but also a lot of women, who feel like laws of violence and abuse don't apply when it comes to their own family.

World gone mad. How's the media? One minute they abhor the escalation of violence in the crowd. Next, they get pissy and whiny about the crackdown. And we, the lemmings we are, just follow what they say.

Do people really think the AFLs motive is to have people not coming to the footy? Do they really think they are a Nazi-not-for profit style dictatorship eager to alienate their fan base?

Where is the outrage for the security bag checks and bomb sweeps at the entrances? The people getting kicked out and warned, all 5 or 6 of them (out of thousands), what chance they are not complete and utter idiots?

Of course! And many will fall for it. It's almost as if nobody had ever been kicked out of the football prior to last week!! People often seem to get turfed out from the cricket, but I don't think there is ever any talk of boycotts/protests over that!

Having said all of that, it does look as if they have become rather heavy-handed with their approach all of a sudden, and getting the security people to tone it down a bit may well be necessary. In the meantime, I'll carry on enjoying the football. We've had another fantastic day with games won by 3, 4 and 21 points, and one of those games even saw both teams reach the 100 point mark (doesn't happen that often these days). Some will still prefer to shout "the sky is falling", but the competition looks to be in fine shape to me!

The media have an agenda of shameless attention-seeking, and anything to do with football is a winner, but I reckon we need to look beyond the sensationalism rather than dismiss the possible issues.

The overreaction of the media shouldn't blind us to the possibility that the AFL has itself overreacted. I went to the Queen's Birthday recently, and I didn't enjoy the presence of security walking up and down the aisles, occasionally standing there and eyeballing the crowd for no discernible reason. Other people reported a similar experience. And then we discovered later on that a Collingwood fan --albeit one with a questionable track record-- had been told to tone it down, even though his barracking (on this occasion) was nothing beyond what we've seen at the football for decades.

I've never been particularly uncomfortable at the footy, but the sudden appearance/visibility of security with a brief to check and to control the temperature of the crowd changes that. It is an unfortunate thing if Collingwood look like such winners on the scoreboard but the supporters in the stands need to temper the same sort of enthusiasm that they've shown since the late 19th century.

One of the main problems, in my view, is that the AFL have introduced the 'anti-social behaviour' reporting service. It is prominently advertised at the ground, and it seems that a portion of supporters have embraced the concept, but all of this ignores the fact that 'anti-social' is a glaringly subjective term, and it stands to reason that the people who are most likely to use the service are those with a rather expansive definition of what anti-social behaviour is. This thread is a case in point, where many people seem offended by the appearance or volume of some of their fellow footy-goers, as much --or more-- than they care about the substance of what might be said.

This is the issue for me: the AFL try to assure us that 'nothing has changed', and yet they've introduced an unprecedented system where security are responding to the easily offended sensibilities of a few.

Apologies for ranting. I should leave the issue alone!

AFL fan violence erupts during fan behaviour crackdown

Sunday, 16 June 2019 10:24 am

Footy fans are at war with the AFL over an apparent crackdown on crowd behaviour.

Violence marred yet another game on Saturday night with several Bulldogs and Carlton fans coming to blows after the siren.

While the AFL insists it hasn’t increased security at games, guards were seen walking up and down the aisles continuously during the Bulldogs’ victory over Carlton on Saturday night.

Two Carlton fans were seen getting evicted from Marvel Stadium by security, while numerous other fans were talked to and told to calm down.

So by that logic, it's legal to speed and also to use drugs? There are heaps of laws people break because they THINK everyone else does it. The one that really grinds my gears is family violence. Mostly men, but also a lot of women, who feel like laws of violence and abuse don't apply when it comes to their own family.

Massive Difference between saying F**k and Doing Drugs

Violence marred yet another game on Saturday night with several Bulldogs and Carlton fans coming to blows after the siren.

So their policing did nothing? I know, the AFL should double, no triple the security!

Sunday, 16 June 2019 10:24 am

Footy fans are at war with the AFL over an apparent crackdown on crowd behaviour.

While the AFL insists it hasn’t increased security at games, guards were seen walking up and down the aisles continuously during the Bulldogs’ victory over Carlton on Saturday night.

Two Carlton fans were seen getting evicted from Marvel Stadium by security, while numerous other fans were talked to and told to calm down.

That be people getting Pissed

The media have an agenda of shameless attention-seeking, and anything to do with football is a winner, but I reckon we need to look beyond the sensationalism rather than dismiss the possible issues.

The overreaction of the media shouldn't blind us to the possibility that the AFL has itself overreacted. I went to the Queen's Birthday recently, and I didn't enjoy the presence of security walking up and down the aisles, occasionally standing there and eyeballing the crowd for no discernible reason. Other people reported a similar experience. And then we discovered later on that a Collingwood fan --albeit one with a questionable track record-- had been told to tone it down, even though his barracking (on this occasion) was nothing beyond what we've seen at the football for decades.

I've never been particularly uncomfortable at the footy, but the sudden appearance/visibility of security with a brief to check and to control the temperature of the crowd changes that. It is an unfortunate thing if Collingwood look like such winners on the scoreboard but the supporters in the stands need to temper the same sort of enthusiasm that they've shown since the late 19th century.

One of the main problems, in my view, is that the AFL have introduced the 'anti-social behaviour' reporting service. It is prominently advertised at the ground, and it seems that a portion of supporters have embraced the concept, but all of this ignores the fact that 'anti-social' is a glaringly subjective term, and it stands to reason that the people who are most likely to use the service are those with a rather expansive definition of what anti-social behaviour is. This thread is a case in point, where many people seem offended by the appearance or volume of some of their fellow footy-goers, as much --or more-- than they care about the substance of what might be said.

This is the issue for me: the AFL try to assure us that 'nothing has changed', and yet they've introduced an unprecedented system where security are responding to the easily offended sensibilities of a few.

Apologies for ranting. I should leave the issue alone!
No don't leave the issue alone. Well said, the media is in a win win situation.

I think that some anger is towards Gil, seems to stand back and let these things evolve, like umpiring decisions, goal review, MRP results. Gil seems to be a hands off leader and delegates almost everything.

Think the buck stops with him, needs to come out and make a statement or at least an interview. Supporters are confused and now getting angry with all the non comments about issues.

I think that some anger is towards Gil, seems to stand back and let these things evolve, like umpiring decisions, goal review, MRP results. Gil seems to be a hands off leader and delegates almost everything.

Think the buck stops with him, needs to come out and make a statement or at least an interview. Supporters are confused and now getting angry with all the non comments about issues.

Gil is NOT a Leader

God I love political correctness. Just picked up the gemi I've lowered and that re.. from the mechanic.. told him to put a magenta colored carby to match my magenta rims.. the clown gets a f red one.. I felt like rolling my eyes but kept it all together well.. and just said to him.. 'no probs re.. you made the effort.. I'm proud of ya.. you're a great no matter what'.. and that re.. cause If i rolled my eyes.. it might have had a lasting effect on him sort of a thing re.

Felt really natural and quite refreshing.

Nah, it's just another one of those issues where people will interpret the facts to suit their own sensibilities and prejudices. Not worth it, especially because I'm the sort of long-winded moron who takes 20 sentences to say what others can wrap up in a haiku. Hopefully the whole thing will blow over in a few rounds.

Gil did give some sort of comment in a Fairfax article I saw, written by Jake Niall. He didn't say much, but enough to say (a) that the AFL wasn't doing anything differently, and (b) that 'the fans' should remain the arbiters acceptable barracking...both points ignoring the AFL's introduction of an 'anti-social behaviour' reporting service.

I think the journo that attended her regular AFL game, in her regular seat, sums it up.
People were being stared down just for calling “ball” or similar comments.
That makes for an uncomfortable experience at any event. And I expect if it remains that way attendances will suffer.

unfortunately this issue is a reflection of everyday life in general, it is now the norm. all will get used to it and life will go on.
we used to go to the footy and out to the pub with mates after a hard week at work and blow off a bit of steam, not so now. don't really know how to express it, but things have changed.

unfortunately this issue is a reflection of everyday life in general, it is now the norm. all will get used to it and life will go on.
we used to go to the footy and out to the pub with mates after a hard week at work and blow off a bit of steam, not so now. don't really know how to express it, but things have changed.

That has Come since the Internet has come a Thing. Lot easier to Spread Info

I no longer attend games due to various medical conditions but if I could . . . I wouldn't.

Over the top political correctness pandering to the soft c@cks who blush at the word sh . . . i . . .t . . . and such.

As far as I'm concerned they can shove it where the sun doesn't shine and moan as if they think it's the media boys back there.

I no longer attend games due to various medical conditions but if I could . . . I wouldn't.

Over the top political correctness pandering to the soft c@cks who blush at the word sh . . . i . . .t . . . and such.

As far as I'm concerned they can shove it where the sun doesn't shine and moan as if they think it's the media boys back there.

Spot on mate, even though i wouldn't throw profanities around women and children at any sporting venue myself,the odd f word when one is frustrated by inconsistent flogs should be tolerated.

Roast Fans getting Warnings and Booted for Being too Loud