Roast Fans getting Warnings and Booted for Being too Loud

It all seems to be getting very Orwellian, 1984 in Australia these days. Very unsettling.

Orwell's vision looks more like a utopia to me, at least his Big Brother left the plebs to their own devices.

Here is an idea, get some sign writing company to make signs saying e.g. Goal/Ball/Boo/WTF/Cheer/Mark, etc and instead of yelling, the whole cheer squad just holds up the signs.

Would be a funny look and no noise.

Whilst the initial posts in this thread point to a couple of cases of overzealous crowd control I wonder if we slip too easily into outrage with predictions of an apocalypse of political correctness.
I have not felt intimidated by security when attending recent matches and can tolerate some over exuberance and the occasional expletive by fellow spectators.
The AFL introduced its policy regarding anti-social behaviour in 2014 with the support of all 18 clubs. Five years later we apparently have a massive problem.
I watched the channel 7 broadcast of the Bulldogs v Carlton match yesterday which featured Tom Browne with an update on the crowd control "crisis". They showed a couple of Carlton fans leaving their seats, facts unknown, a security guard chatting with supporters on the fence, facts unknown and a shot of two security guards walking up the aisles which they replayed several times. They also mentioned that some supporters were evicted for physical violence. There was probably about 2 minutes of vision and some speculative comments without any substantive facts.
We now have headlines suggesting "supporters at "WAR" with AFL over crowd behaviour control".
As is the norm nowadays there has been an explosion of outrage on social media and ridiculously exaggerated headlines and catch phrases from segments of the media. I haven't been able to find any actual statistics relating to the number of patrons warned or evicted for anti-social behaviour
on the AFL website to put the issue into perspective.
I hope those who are concerned about this issue take the opportunity to write to, phone or email the AFL stating their concerns or perhaps gather some signatures on a petition at the venues and submit them to the AFL. I find trial by social media uncomfortable.
I have often boasted to overseas visitors and non-AFL fans about how great the supporter experience is at our matches. I remember taking an English mate along to a match and he asked us "which gate do the Collingwood supporters have to enter through?" He assumed we would be segregated from the rival supporters. I assured him that Aussies enjoy some banter and humour with opposing supporters and don't beat each other up on the way home.
It may well be that the AFL complaints policy has empowered some over-sensitive people but surely we can put this into perspective and state our grievances in a constructive way.
Thankfully we don't have headlines such as "women and children banned from attending football matches", "Grand Final played in empty stadium due to security threats" or "family and friends segregated and forced to sit at opposite ends of the MCG due to supporter group violence."

"" See the barrackers are SHOUTING, as ALL barrackers SHOULD""

The AFL prides itself on the diversity of its fan base. In recent years, however, Gil from Admin has missed an opportunity to engage the fans who love a bit of crowd biff

Instead of having the Auskick-munchkins and their earnest helpers infest the ground at halftime, how about each team has 10 supporters biff it out in the centre square in an old-fashioned 'Battle Royale'

Each side loses a biffer if the biffer steps ouside the centre square (like Sumo), is knocked out or submits (like UFC), or displays no ticker (like Mark Murphy). Team with the most biffers standing at the end of half-time gets 4 points

Usual 22 rounds plus finals including the 'Biff GF' replacing the sprint (why run when you can stand and fight?)

AFLW has its own crew of female biffers

Because the attrition rate might be high, each team nominates 30 biffers at the start of the season and can replace 5 in a mid-season draft

The pre-season 'Biff Draft' would be held every year in Frankston

^

WalterBlaknWhte you Sir should work in the AFL admin centre or alternatively be the the call centre manager to engage the fan engagement awareness engagers.

Just ensure the call centre doesn’t have an engaged signal except engaged for engagement.

As an alternative the unengaged unaware fans can upon leaving the big brother stadium go direct into a repacharge and get engaged at first sight with their fellow disengaged. Osher, Gretel and Gil will engage then with roses and AFL endorsed chocolates.

I reckon the Ottoman would be great as a behaviorial expect consultant at the footy re.. he can walk around like those four'n'twenty pie kids.. with a box full of his mother in laws figs.. and launch em at folk who get out of line.. better still.. shove em in their mouths and shit like that re.

Dickhead.

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...our-place-leave-us-alone-20190616-p51y83.html

Not sure if this has been posted. Very cerebral article by Joffa, well written and on point. I have highlighted in bold the paragraph that I feel nails the issue.

"
A lot has been said in recent days about crowd behaviour, and it was needed. Now it's time to take a deep breath and argue the point more clearly, to get a simple message across to all football people - including many of those in the media who sit and watch from behind glass windows.

Football is a way of life. We love it, sometimes more than life itself - depending on whether our team is winning or losing, of course. In the terraces we release from the struggles of life: the overdue power bill, the rent that is due in four days' time, the anxiety due to work, family and general wellbeing.
We congregate among our own at the football, among people who won't point the finger and tell you what you should be thinking, what you should be saying and when you should be saying it. In today's world, there are not many places like that.

The terraces bring us together in victory and in defeat. We embrace football as we embrace life, with vigour and passion. Some are loud and some are quiet, some terrorise the terraces wearing a sequined jacket. Many stand to deliver a spine-tingling chant in the last quarter to acknowledge victory. That's what we do. That's who we are.

In recent times we have been getting this nervous feeling we are no longer required, and it would be best if we all went AWOL. We get the feeling the AFL industry now wants a theatre-type crowd, to marvel at the surroundings rather than the contest on the field.

If and when we complain about the better times in the terraces, we are somewhat strangely reminded that violence, racism and homophobic behaviour is no longer tolerated. This suggests that all passionate supporters once took part in this behaviour. I sadly shake my head to this way of thinking. Violence and/or threats of violence must never be tolerated; the people who participate in any kind of violence must be banished from the game, as with racists and homophobes. We all understand that.

After all that has been said during the last five days, I watched on television with a heavy heart as a security guy walked the boundary line, appearing to tell a supporter in the Hawthorn cheer squad to sit down. Apparently the Hawthorn supporter felt a need to stand up to vent some kind of passionate comment. He could not have been swearing, as he was not evicted. What a vile criminal he must be to think he could dare do such a thing.

To sit at the football not knowing when to stand and scream and yell and point the finger is something foreign to us all. For doing any of these things we are accused of being feral. The insinuation far outweighs the accusation. An accusation can be answered, but the insinuation leaves us confused and angry. Security have gone way overboard, way over the top. Yes, we need them, but not at a time during a game when the team on the field needs us.

We don't want to be eyeballed, stood over, intimidated, or threatened with eviction for being decent, honest, passionate supporters. I listen to talkback radio and feel sad that many of my fellow supporters of all other clubs feel the same way.
We are not at war with Gillon McLachlan. We are not at war with the AFL. We tend to self-regulate. So leave us alone! Let us be."

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...our-place-leave-us-alone-20190616-p51y83.html

Not sure if this has been posted. Very cerebral article by Joffa, well written and on point. I have highlighted in bold the paragraph that I feel nails the issue.

"
A lot has been said in recent days about crowd behaviour, and it was needed. Now it's time to take a deep breath and argue the point more clearly, to get a simple message across to all football people - including many of those in the media who sit and watch from behind glass windows.

Football is a way of life. We love it, sometimes more than life itself - depending on whether our team is winning or losing, of course. In the terraces we release from the struggles of life: the overdue power bill, the rent that is due in four days' time, the anxiety due to work, family and general wellbeing.
We congregate among our own at the football, among people who won't point the finger and tell you what you should be thinking, what you should be saying and when you should be saying it. In today's world, there are not many places like that.

The terraces bring us together in victory and in defeat. We embrace football as we embrace life, with vigour and passion. Some are loud and some are quiet, some terrorise the terraces wearing a sequined jacket. Many stand to deliver a spine-tingling chant in the last quarter to acknowledge victory. That's what we do. That's who we are.

In recent times we have been getting this nervous feeling we are no longer required, and it would be best if we all went AWOL. We get the feeling the AFL industry now wants a theatre-type crowd, to marvel at the surroundings rather than the contest on the field.

If and when we complain about the better times in the terraces, we are somewhat strangely reminded that violence, racism and homophobic behaviour is no longer tolerated. This suggests that all passionate supporters once took part in this behaviour. I sadly shake my head to this way of thinking. Violence and/or threats of violence must never be tolerated; the people who participate in any kind of violence must be banished from the game, as with racists and homophobes. We all understand that.

After all that has been said during the last five days, I watched on television with a heavy heart as a security guy walked the boundary line, appearing to tell a supporter in the Hawthorn cheer squad to sit down. Apparently the Hawthorn supporter felt a need to stand up to vent some kind of passionate comment. He could not have been swearing, as he was not evicted. What a vile criminal he must be to think he could dare do such a thing.

To sit at the football not knowing when to stand and scream and yell and point the finger is something foreign to us all. For doing any of these things we are accused of being feral. The insinuation far outweighs the accusation. An accusation can be answered, but the insinuation leaves us confused and angry. Security have gone way overboard, way over the top. Yes, we need them, but not at a time during a game when the team on the field needs us.

We don't want to be eyeballed, stood over, intimidated, or threatened with eviction for being decent, honest, passionate supporters. I listen to talkback radio and feel sad that many of my fellow supporters of all other clubs feel the same way.
We are not at war with Gillon McLachlan. We are not at war with the AFL. We tend to self-regulate. So leave us alone! Let us be."
Indeed well written and thought out but my heart tells me it will fall on deaf ears.

The blue rinse set and the soft c@cks are riding this issue like the old crusaders - a holy war against runaway decency in the terraces.

God help us all should these pale excuses for human beings ever gain complete control of society.

Indeed well written and thought out but my heart tells me it will fall on deaf ears.

The blue rinse set and the soft c@cks are riding this issue like the old crusaders - a holy war against runaway decency in the terraces.

God help us all should these pale excuses for human beings ever gain complete control of society.

Since this has been published by The Age the MBAs running the AFL will sense a need to "engineer an appropriate response"; prepare yourself for a BS assault of the highest order. :)

Should we try to prevent violence at the Footy?
Should we try to prevent racial and homophobic abuse at the Footy?
Should we try to prevent people using the F word and C word around children at the footy?
Should we try to prevent public drunkenness at the footy?

In my opinion we should, I don't call it PC (because nuff nuffs use that term as an all purpose cop out), I call it Respect

Should we try to prevent people using the F word and C word around children at the footy?

In my opinion we should, I don't call it PC (because nuff nuffs use that term as an all purpose cop out), I call it Respect

I'd be surprised if any poster answered "No" to any of the above questions. What is objectionable in this case is the manner in which it appears the powers that be have approached this.

Footy in my experience has always been safe although parochial. You only have to attend a soccer game in Europe to see how "family friendly" the sport actually is, comparatively.

I'd be surprised if any poster answered "No" to any of the above questions. What is objectionable in this case is the manner in which it appears the powers that be have approached this.

Footy in my experience has always been safe although parochial. You only have to attend a soccer game in Europe to see how "family friendly" the sport actually is, comparatively.
So the only issue is how we do it, its not that we shouldn't do it?

Then that should be the discussion.....which to date has been lost in the "whoa's me" tears

So the only issue is how we do it, its not that we shouldn't do it?

Then that should be the discussion.....which to date has been lost in the "whoa's me" tears

It might be a bit more nuanced.

To what extent do we have a violence problem at the footy and what is the right response, if any? That might be the better question. Similar framing around drunkenness, swearing etc.

and I call what they are Doing as Way Over The Top.

How about stop Selling Alcohol Then?

It might be a bit more nuanced.

To what extent do we have a violence problem at the footy and what is the right response, if any? That might be the better question. Similar framing around drunkenness, swearing etc.
There have been several violent acts this year, with one as recent as the weekend.
Drunkenness is common at the footy, I see it almost every time I go

Again, the issues that need resolving are IMV not in question, it is how we resolve them that is

Roast Fans getting Warnings and Booted for Being too Loud