Farewell Benny McGlynn

• Thread starter Thread starter Dangas

Benny was a real game turner at his best, especially when the odds were against us. Tragic that he couldn't play in the 2012 premiership when he was in career best form. Sad to see him go.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk

Was it Tadhg that joked he popped up out of nowhere like a sprinkler?

That will be my lasting memory of Benny, that game at Footy Park against the Crows when he just kept bobbing up out of nowhere, 10m from goal without an opponent. Prompted the 'popped up out of a sprinkler' comment. Gold.

:( & :mad:

Those bloody umpires ruined the fairytale end to dangermouses career!!

It's goimg to be pretty sad not seeing Benny kit up next year. What a bloody warrior he is & has been. If anyone deserved a premiership it was Benny Mac. They wanna beat up Bob's knee... How about missing out on a chance x3 times (12, 14 & 16)??

Hard as bloody nails & gives everything everytime. The games better for having you in it Ben. Thankyou for your sacrifices & dedication. I know I won't forget it.

Enjoy life after footy mate!

All the best Benny. Always enjoyed the mongrel in you. I remember when he, when playing for the Hawks, tore Didak a new one back in 2009 when there was a thread on bigfooty suggesting Didak was elite. Ben put a hard tag on Didak and he couldn't handle it.

I was at AAMI Stadium when he did his hammy in 2012. I think I and all the Sydney fans around me were about to cry when we saw him crying :-(

All the best Benny. Always enjoyed the mongrel in you. I remember when he, when playing for the Hawks, tore Didak a new one back in 2009 when there was a thread on bigfooty suggesting Didak was elite. Ben put a hard tag on Didak and he couldn't handle it.

I was at AAMI Stadium when he did his hammy in 2012. I think I and all the Sydney fans around me were about to cry when we saw him crying :-(
Same. I remember the filthy crows supporter sitting behind us (in the swans cheersquad bay no less) saying "good" when his stuck up b*tch of a wife told him about it. They ended up with beer all over them by the end of the game so I'm happy we managed to completely ruin that experience for them before they could run off back to their swanky million dollar unit in Norwood...

I can't help but think that Josh Kennedy's post GF tears were mostly for the realisation that he will no longer play again with his good mate Benny McGlynn who made the big move to the Swans in that same trade from Hawthorn, but unfortunately couldn't help Benny achieve the p'ship dream, though he nearly single handedly delivered him one!

How about 4 times? 2008 - knee injury.

Handy servant at best but won't be missed.
Everyone is entitled to an opinion - but that sentence, from a Hawks poster, on our board, in Dangermouses farewell thread. Seriously showing all kinds of class (or lack thereof) IMO.

Sydney will be a better side next season was my point. McGlynn's form this year was bellow his best.
As for class, would it matter if I was a GWS, Freo, Richmond or a poster of any other team? Would you also take offence if I am the opposite sex or if my skin colour, sexual preference, religious beliefs are not to your liking?
Seriously 'from a Hawks poster'.

I'll see myself out.

Sydney will be a better side next season was my point. McGlynn's form this year was bellow his best.
As for class, would it matter if I was a GWS, Freo, Richmond or a poster of any other team? Would you also take offence if I am the opposite sex or if my skin colour, sexual preference, religious beliefs are not to your liking?
Seriously 'from a Hawks poster'.

I'll see myself out.
What the heck are you on about?! Sex? Skin colour?! Give it a rest.

Pretty bad look coming onto another teams board to post such a disrespectful comment into a thread dedicated to farewelling a retiring player from that club I reckon. Don't try & turn it around or make it into anything else. You're just digging yourself into a greater hole IMO.

I know for a fact that the little non performer had this role nearly sown up halfway through the season. Goodbye and thank for your pathetic Grand Final performances.
Jeezus bedders. Seriously mate. Would it kill you to show a bit more respect & tact? I don't know how many AFL grand finals you've played but I'm sure Benny put in enough to deserve to be there & tried his guts out to bring a flag to our club. Put that crap in the GF thread if you feel the need to pot our players for GF performance. No need to post that shit in their retirement "thanks for your dedication & hard work" farewell thread IMO. Bloody hell.

Please leave the lord Jesus out of it !

Agree with this, a farewell thread isn't the place.

Why is that , i put up a fact and then gave my thoughts on his performances in 2 grand finals. Farewell Ben, really nice guy, but didn't perform when we needed him.

I didn't say you couldn't post what you did, it's not my job to tell people what they can and can't post, I was just agreeing with him that it was probably more suited to the grand final thread. Having said that I thank Ben for his service to the club.