Opinion Farmer-Goggin-Wade

• Thread starter Thread starter Vdubs

Will there ever be , and has there ever been, a more dynamic, exciting, successful effective trio?
One of the benefits of being in the older brigade is that we can recall the brilliance of exactly that combination. THe way footy is played now, we will probably never see a combo like that again.
It was literally a hit out or more likely a long handpass from FARMER , to a lightning fast running GOGGIN, who would stab pass to a leading WADE, who would goal. Invariably. And OFTEN.

I can't think of any team that has had this recipe, or like it, ever.

Not our most productive period as far as flags go,still one against Hawthorn is invaluable.
In my humble opinion that was the Golden Age of football,when men were men and allowed to be,Farmer Goggin and wade true legends of the game.
I feel privileged to have see them, although many times with the rocking boot on,there's more chance of getting the large Fosters and VB cans back at Kardinia park than see that dominant type combination again.
The game has truly changed.

If you're talking a ruck/rover/full forward combination, Farmer is considered by pretty much everyone to be the best or second best ruckman ever, Wade would be in the top ten full forwards ever (and that's being conservative) and I imagine Goggin would probably be in the top twenty or so pure rovers ever.

Other great ones that I'd nominate would be Scott/Matthews/Hudson, S. Coventry/H. Collier/G. Coventry

If it's more just a 'three great players' query, there'd be a fair few that would be up there, with probably Coleman, Reynolds and Hutchison (three HOF Legends) being at the top.

I can remember Dougie nailing goals from everywhere with Torps! -would be dragged these days;)
I have a feeling he was one of the first to use checkside or banana kicks as well. Saw him dob one from the boundary (I think? Memory plays tricks) I was only a kid. These days my parents would probably have been locked up for letting us go to games unacompanied by an adult.
Game changes, as does society in general

Will there ever be , and has there ever been, a more dynamic, exciting, successful effective trio?
One of the benefits of being in the older brigade is that we can recall the brilliance of exactly that combination. THe way footy is played now, we will probably never see a combo like that again.
It was literally a hit out or more likely a long handpass from FARMER , to a lightning fast running GOGGIN, who would stab pass to a leading WADE, who would goal. Invariably. And OFTEN.

I can't think of any other combination like it, or any other combination as consistently exhilarating, and I don't think we'll ever see one again, given how the game is now played.

Goggin: Saw him bowl over the odd unsuspecting newbie with a bullet-like stab pass. He seemed to enjoy the challenge, but eventually had to pull back after hitting a leading Wade on the chest from 30yds and flattening him (akin to stopping a locomotive with a pea-shooter).

Wade: Probably still has the lace embedded in his chest :D. Superb from long range, but also loved to run out from goal and bang one through over his head. Saw him boxed in one day at KP,.. so he took off from the goalsquare, ran to the boundary and without looking back, popped one through over his head from 20yds. Powerful man with Cat-like goal sense (npi).

Farmer: I was lucky enough as a young kid to spend a lot of after-match time chatting with Polly. What memories! Had the trainers scream at him a few times to get in for treatment as they wanted to go home. On a couple of ocassions we were halfway through a yarn at the time, he returned to finish the story, then walked me out to the car to make sure I was safely with the folks. It comes from a kid's perspective, but to me, he was as much a legend off-field as his well-deserved on-field title -- Oh, and somewhere within that period of time he managed to change the way our game was played, with skills beyond those of others - and he achieved this mostly on one good leg.

Farmer > Goggin > Wade......or......'Anyone' > Ablett Snr.

Wonderful memories!

If you're talking a ruck/rover/full forward combination, Farmer is considered by pretty much everyone to be the best or second best ruckman ever, Wade would be in the top ten full forwards ever (and that's being conservative) and I imagine Goggin would probably be in the top twenty or so pure rovers ever.

Other great ones that I'd nominate would be Scott/Matthews/Hudson, S. Coventry/H. Collier/G. Coventry

If it's more just a 'three great players' query, there'd be a fair few that would be up there, with probably Coleman, Reynolds and Hutchison (three HOF Legends) being at the top.
Good comments.
Really just the ruck to rover to ff or similar trio of exchange for the goal.
Sott Matthews Hudson -pretty good, but not as good of course.
It is difficult-no, impossible -I believe, to match or better Polly Billy Dougie.
Biut am I biased? I am patient. This should probably go to the main board.

Great combo, no doubt,

Arguments could be made for Couch, Stoneham, Ablett in 89, but I would have to say that Ottens, Ablett Jnr, Scarlett would take the cake....even though no full forward, that was a bloody dynamic and attacking spine.....if you want to talk pure forwards then add SJ to mix!

Good comments.
Really just the ruck to rover to ff or similar trio of exchange for the goal.
Sott Matthews Hudson -pretty good, but not as good of course.
It is difficult-no, impossible -I believe, to match or better Polly Billy Dougie.
Biut am I biased? I am patient. This should probably go to the main board.

That would be an absolute bloodbath. Personally, I think the neutrals would give Scott/Matthews/Hudson the nod.

Should I?
As a football purist, anybody who lived long enough to see those guys, Scott Matthews Hudson <<< Farmer Goggin Wade. In terms of chemistry, excitement, teamwork, the lot. Scott was a real trier, and very admirable, but he did not create the links to Lethal to set up Hudson. Are you basing your opinion on their status as footballers, or the actual point of the thread?

There should be an age limit for replies to this one, not that I'm ageist, but you would have to have seen footy in the 60's and 70's to make fair comments, not basing it on their individual glories and achievements.

89 Grand Final first few seconds, Bourke - Bews - Ablett. Brereton down.
And then Bourke went down and stayed down , as was his custom.

Farmer: I was lucky enough as a young kid to spend a lot of after-match time chatting with Polly. What memories! Had the trainers scream at him a few times to get in for treatment as they wanted to go home. On a couple of ocassions we were halfway through a yarn at the time, he returned to finish the story, then walked me out to the car to make sure I was safely with the folks.

how did you get the opportunity to talk with Polly?
In those days, was it easy to approach players etc?

I walked into the Cats change rooms back in 95 at the old Western Oval and met Snr and a couple of others.
Snr had headphones on talking to a talkback radio station and he spot me then winked and called me over, I ended up getting his signature and I stood there listening to him talk about his game that particular day (kicked a lazy 9.7), awesome bloke and very nice to his fans he was, no matter their age.

I walked into the Cats change rooms back in 95 at the old Western Oval and met Snr and a couple of others.
Snr had headphones on talking to a talkback radio station and he spot me then winked and called me over, I ended up getting his signature and I stood there listening to him talk about his game that particular day (kicked a lazy 9.7), awesome bloke and very nice to his fans he was, no matter their age.
They are the moments you never forget.
When we were really young kids, Bobby Davis got our family tickets to World of Sport, via my dad through his work, looked after us there with pies and coke, and Polly Farmer scored his one of many perfect handball wins.
Bobby got us into the rooms to meet Billy and Polly, and of course , completely starstruck.
Strangely, my son has never had the fascination or desire to meet our current players, despite easier access.

One day a mate of mine, a 195 cm tall very sensible, boring Accountant, met Snr in the medical rooms, shook his hand, and then told me he wasn't going to wash that hand for a month!

Should I?
As a football purist, anybody who lived long enough to see those guys, Scott Matthews Hudson <<< Farmer Goggin Wade. In terms of chemistry, excitement, teamwork, the lot. Scott was a real trier, and very admirable, but he did not create the links to Lethal to set up Hudson. Are you basing your opinion on their status as footballers, or the actual point of the thread?

There should be an age limit for replies to this one, not that I'm ageist, but you would have to have seen footy in the 60's and 70's to make fair comments, not basing it on their individual glories and achievements.

Up to you. They were all well and truly retired by the time I was old enough to start watching footy, so what would I know? But I'd put big money on the people on the man board giving the nod to the Hawthorn trio.

Like you I didn't get to see P, B & D but I did catch the end of the Hawk 3 & I while I don't think it's warranted I reckon the position that Matthews has in the game would get them over the line. You would also need to remember that our boys were playing down the highway (which wasn't a trip that most away supporters made) every second week so they weren't as "visible" as they might be nowadays...
Having said that my old man would still give me a clip behind the ear if I compared Scott with Polly!!!

awesome!
What was Polly like?

Can you remember and did you have a chat with him and if so, can you recall what he may have said?
No, I was a pretty star-struck 7-8 yo, probably I said zilch. This being nearly 50 years ago now, I can't recall what THE BIG CAT said, but he had a great smile and was not unfriendly.
But Polly also came to our school and held a few clinics on the art of handballing etc. Quite a few kids from our school have since gone on to big things, like Nick Maxwell.

And, Matty Scarlett, John Scarlett, Damian Bourke, his cousin Barry Stoneham, Cameron Ling, Jimmy Bartel!

Should I?

Actually, the more I think about it, the only combination I can recall that was at all similar on a consistent basis would have been Thompson-Price/Richardson-McKenna.

I should begin with an explanation. My profile birth date is the '63 GF date. In reality I am a few years older (sorry mods - security issue with placing accurate personal details online :D) - Now, I'll answer your second question, first....

Approachability: Due to family connections I followed North up to one month out from the '63 finals series. Back then I often enjoyed a post-game lemonade at Arden St. with the North boys, opposition players and the umpires. Yep, all three groups would have an ale together at the bar in the old days, and casually chat about the game. Everyone was friendly, easily approachable,.. and even the ump would buy a kid a lemon squash in the 60's. Hope this gives you some idea of how times have changed. In those days blokes worked for a living and played footy for the love of it, plus a few extra bucks. As a kid I found no difference at Geelong. We generally got in accompanied by an adult, until you were known. After that, I only ever had trouble if a new 'Sgt. Schultz' was on the changeroom door - but there was always a player or official to walk or wave you in.

Polly: A family friend who had swayed me over to the Cats, took me into the rooms in '64 to meet Polly for the first time. By then the family had accepted me as a traitor and decked me out in Geelong gear. As with VEEDUBS, I was also star-struck. I DO remember Polly commenting that I needed a number on my guernsey. So a few weeks later I rolled up proudly displaying No.10 :oops:. Polly had a broad smile and said something like, "I thought it would have been number 5", then called John Sharrock over to introduce him (big "Woohoo!" time). The Geelong people (officials and players) were all giving of their time back then, but to me, Polly was by far the standout - Always humble, happy, quietly spoken, and genuinely showed interest in the person he was talking to.

Enjoyed your Snr story! You should start a 'Past-Present Players You Have Met' thread, before we derail this one ;)

Actually, the more I think about it, the only combination I can recall that was at all similar on a consistent basis would have been Thompson-Price/Richardson-McKenna.
Totally agree. One of the reasons I enjoyed watching Collingwood while living as a student near AFL Park, where they often seemed to play. I didn't want to mention them yet as wan't sure which of their mids was it, but Price was a brilliant exponent of the pass to Mc Kenna, and McKenna was a perfect kick for goal. Thommo was one , if not, the best long teem rucks I've seen. Same reason Pies would be my #2 team, if had to have one, along with John Greening.
Farmer, Thompson, Nicholls, Dempsey, S. Madden, Cox , Moss, Moore would have to get into a top 10.
Madden, Watson, Salmon- fairly potent combo for a while?